Page 3 of 3

Re: MIKEL IS A PUNK

Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:07 pm
by sabb
kolinzo wrote:
toyin133 wrote:
RudeBoy wrote:Anyone who thinks a young guy would not want to play in the world cup is a complete dunce! It's obvious the guy couldn't play!
With respect, he turned down the chance to play in the Olympics because he wanted to impress his new coach at Chelsea so it's not that implausible.
This is what you guys don't understand, Mikel has morals! Remember he wasn' the only one who turned down the Olympics, TnT did the same thing.

A doctor can declare you injury free but that does not mean you are fit to play. The earlier you guys get this the better. A doctor can declare you injury free but cannot know exactly what you are feeling in your body. The earlier you guys get this the better. The Mikel we saw jubilating with teamates three weeks ago can not be fit. No way!!
a lot of peeps on CE said dude cant be ready 4 d world cup wen dey saw him on dat fateful day chelsea won d cup, now bobo pulls out saying he aint ready n he's called names. it dont matter neway cos if he was tryna pull a fast one na him go suffer am not naija so dont know what d fuss is abt, naija is bigger dan any player.
i say big ups 2 those representing

Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:23 pm
by maceo4
sabb wrote:
kolinzo wrote:
toyin133 wrote:
RudeBoy wrote:Anyone who thinks a young guy would not want to play in the world cup is a complete dunce! It's obvious the guy couldn't play!
With respect, he turned down the chance to play in the Olympics because he wanted to impress his new coach at Chelsea so it's not that implausible.
This is what you guys don't understand, Mikel has morals! Remember he wasn' the only one who turned down the Olympics, TnT did the same thing.

A doctor can declare you injury free but that does not mean you are fit to play. The earlier you guys get this the better. A doctor can declare you injury free but cannot know exactly what you are feeling in your body. The earlier you guys get this the better. The Mikel we saw jubilating with teamates three weeks ago can not be fit. No way!!
a lot of peeps on CE said dude cant be ready 4 d world cup wen dey saw him on dat fateful day chelsea won d cup, now bobo pulls out saying he aint ready n he's called names. it dont matter neway cos if he was tryna pull a fast one na him go suffer am not naija so dont know what d fuss is abt, naija is bigger dan any player.
i say big ups 2 those representing
Agreed, na em loss so lets move on sha.

Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:16 pm
by Spicyee
Only the player knows how his body feels, in spite of the so-called doctors' verdicts. Besides, it takes a lot to return to match sharpness after a knee injury.
People describing Mikel as "Punk" need to exercise restraint; no sane player would give up a WC shirt without a genuine reason. If anything, Mikel should be applauded for being patriotic. The last time some big Naija players went to tourneys through pain, their careers ended prematurely...ask Amokachi, Amunike... :idea:

Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:17 pm
by goke313
Chxta wrote:
Molue Conductor wrote:All i know is that if Martins had done this, there would be more people screaming Blue murder
Precisely.
kpom...and G4L would have been the leader of that movement

Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:21 pm
by goke313
2drama wrote:
Its a Goal wrote:
[color=brown]Riversboy[/color] wrote: Shebi you never hear sey we no suppose insult players again?

REWRITE: Mikel's decision was punkish.

SUYA: It's repetitive stress injury from kicking the ball in an unnaturally backward direction.
:scared: choi Ce na wicked place :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:06 am
by green4life
goke313 wrote:
Chxta wrote:
Molue Conductor wrote:All i know is that if Martins had done this, there would be more people screaming Blue murder
Precisely.
kpom...and G4L would have been the leader of that movement

That's a damn lie. I rarely start threads talkless of these sort of hatorade threads against our players. Pull up one thread that I started dissing a SE or Nigerian player. Just one.

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:13 am
by Ekorian
Chineke ooo. Vancity Eagle and Bigpokey agreeing on something. This is like Osama Bin laden and George Bush (jnr.) having supper together. :shock: :shock: :shock:

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:55 am
by ohenhen1
Mikel made the right choice, he is not 100 percent fit. Mikel is just one player, the team will be fine.

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:13 am
by Ghanaba
I'll never understand grown men tearing at a 21 year old for making his own decision about his future health and career. :( :( :(

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:32 am
make una leave my boy alone

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:40 am
by cchinukw
For the umpteenth time the guy has a knee injury. If it is prolonged or worsened in anyway thats the end of football as a career. I trust you guys will be there to pick the bill for his early retirement from the game if it comes to that (God forbid).

Even for non players a knee injury can change your life. :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse:

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:47 am
by nemi2002
Just hope he doesn't regret this decision. Wish him the best.

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:50 am
by grandverve
Riversboy wrote:Shebi you never hear sey we no suppose insult players again?

REWRITE: Mikel's decision was punkish.

SUYA: It's repetitive stress injury from kicking the ball in an unnaturally backward direction.

We have to coin a word for the phrase in bold....

Veron is suffering from JOMititis :woot:

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 11:02 am
by Bubus
John Obi Mikel is an overrated punk.

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 11:15 am
by anaedo1
What hypocrisy for folks to question a young man's injury?Not too long ago in a different coaching era same folk was miffed that a few players recovering from injuries were even called up for the ANC.

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 11:40 am
by Kenovski
Guys. Mikel had knee ligament surgery. Recoup time is on average 6 to 8 weeks. Even then he would still need a few games to become match fit. It was always 50/50. I think he should have stayed but he decided to step aside. Consciously or otherwise he has given another of our youngsters a chance.....

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:13 pm
by Player
The guy is injured let him be.....

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:27 pm
by hurricaneeddy
don't know what to think about him so i will just let it go...and enjoy the WC

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:31 pm
by pajimoh
As much as we might hate what Mikel did, it's the best thing for him and the team. If he did not recover in time, we would have wasted a valuable spot.

If he did play and play below par, we would crucify him.

Please leave the boy alone. He was part of the team during qualification and I don't think he would have thrown his chance to participate away that easily.

His decision to excuse himself might be selfless act, something we are not quite used to

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:44 pm
by Chxta
Let's get one thing straight...

I don't doubt that Mikel is injured. It is his commitment I doubt. It was almost like he could not wait to get out of SA. For crying out loud, Rio Ferdinand has remained with his team!