Kanu warns detractors

CMS
Kanu warns detractors

Post by CMS »

From The Times June 12, 2010

Do not make mistake of writing off Nigeria, warns KanuOwen Slot, Chief Sports Correspondent, Johannesburg Recommend? Nigeria go into their opening match, against Argentina on Saturday afternoon, telling themselves that although they are up against the likes of Lionel Messi and Carlos Tévez, they have nothing to fear. They are merely some of the best players in the world — but ignore it.

This, at least, has been the gospel according to Lars Lagerbäck, their coach, who has been parachuted in to do a quick-heal job similar to the one that Sven-Göran Eriksson, his fellow Swede, has been asked to pull off with Ivory Coast.

It is a tall order for both of them. Eriksson may have to do without Didier Drogba, the talismanic striker, and Lagerbäck has lost John Obi Mikel, Drogba’s Chelsea team-mate, to injury. Yet they have been asked to raise the spirits of their teams without the leading player there to show the way.

Although Nigeria finished third in the Africa Cup of Nations, their performance was sufficiently disappointing for them to sack their coach, Shaibu Amodu, in February and ask Lagerbäck to do better.

This is classic African management: give the new man next to no time to work a miracle. And it is not as if there was a raft of new and better players for him to bring into the side.

So the Lagerbäck regime is one of common sense, good organisation and, crucially against Argentina today, self-belief. “Names do not play games in most cases,” Lagerbäck said. “What matters is the confidence and approach you have for the game. We will not be under pressure. Argentina will be the ones under pressure to win this match.”

He has at least one believer, it seems, in Kanu. “Argentina have the big-name players and everyone respects them,” the Portsmouth striker said.

“We also acknowledge that they are good and great players. But Argentina also have the same respect for us because they know the quality of our team and know that there is plenty that we can come up with at any time. Yes, it will be tough, but I believe we can overcome on the day.”
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html

Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.
Re: Kanu warns detractors

Kanu is somehow managing to keep my high blood pressure down better than any tablets ever would.
King Kanu, God go bless you yanfu-yanfu! :) 8-) 8-) 8-)
bouncino

Post by bouncino »

It is time to gag our players. Let them concentrate and let their play speak for them. Maybe Kanu is being used to sheild the younger players from pressure. They should avoid press for now.

bouncino wrote:It is time to gag our players. Let them concentrate and let their play speak for them. Maybe Kanu is being used to sheild the younger players from pressure. They should avoid press for now.
Becos you read all this stuff from the players doesnt mean they are attending press conferences and media events instead of concentrating on their game. Sometimes these quotes are completely made up, and often they are obtained 'on the run' ....like on their way to lunch, to the team bus, on the training pitch, even on the way to the toilet for a crap sef.

Moreover, psy-ops is part of the modern game and it pays us for the Argentines to know we are not shaking. Finally, talking sometimes helps some people to relieve tension.
So chillax. Like u say, he's probably doing a specific job. Notice how he seems to be the only one talking recently. Even basketmouth Osaze sef don zip up.
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

Damunk wrote: So chillax. Like u say, he's probably doing a specific job. Notice how he seems to be the only one talking recently. Even basketmouth Osaze sef don zip up.
Thank heavens for that. He's a loose cannon if I ever saw one. :dream:
Imagination is more important than knowledge

- Albert Einstein