What's with the Zonal defending CRAP!!!

Why don't we put pressure on opponents until they are within shooting distance ????
Out strikers do not pressure defenders, our midfielders turn into escorts and this leaves our defence to deal with pressure on a constant basis. We give our opponents too much time to decide what they want to do with the ball.

Against Argentina, I thought it was a sign of respect and not trying to get sucked in. But against GREECE ????
Why weren't we applying pressure on them ?
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Re: What's with the Zonal defending CRAP!!!

I could've sworn someone promised that our oyinbo coach will make sure our boys hustle and close down spaces. All this for 1.5milla. we're a country of mugus.
Fendy

Post by Fendy »

i think its high time they dropped this zonal marking, "dont loose your shape" nonsense.
They need to press the opponnents and play a high tempo game.
"wise ones speak because they have something to say,fools speak because they have to say something".-Plato.
Eaglemaniac

Post by Eaglemaniac »

Speaking of high tempo game, isn't it interesting that merely a few weeks ago, our coach was promising that very style of play. I wonder what changed his mind.

Long Live King Obi!!
KB

Post by KB »

juventuss wrote:Why don't we put pressure on opponents until they are within shooting distance ????
Out strikers do not pressure defenders, our midfielders turn into escorts and this leaves our defence to deal with pressure on a constant basis.
We give our opponents too much time to decide what they want to do with the ball.

Against Argentina, I thought it was a sign of respect and not trying to get sucked in. But against GREECE ????
I noticed that too.
Defense should start immediately after the ball is lost. I am really tired of the nonchalance that most African teams show on the field. They lose the ball easily and behave like it is no big deal until... they collect it from the back of their net.
The more widely Christianity was diffused, and the greater the number of people unprepared for it who were brought under its sway, the less it was understood, the more absolutely was its infallibility insisted on, and the less possible it became to understand the true meaning of the doctrine. Leo Tolstoy, 'The Kingdom of God is within you', Chap 3

KwameBob wrote:
juventuss wrote:Why don't we put pressure on opponents until they are within shooting distance ????
Out strikers do not pressure defenders, our midfielders turn into escorts and this leaves our defence to deal with pressure on a constant basis.
We give our opponents too much time to decide what they want to do with the ball.

I noticed that too.
Defense should start immediately after the ball is lost. I am really tired of the nonchalance that most African teams show on the field. They lose the ball easily and behave like it is no big deal until... they collect it from the back of their net.
exactly...

Look at guys like Messi, Podolski, Tevez all hustling to win the ball back IN THE OPPONENTS half. We settle and allow them to come back at us. WhAT THE FAROCK!!!!!!!!!!!
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Amen

Post by Amen »

Lagerback cannot help us now...too late. It is down to the boys!

Juve
YOu be my padi but abeg you must quit while you are on top. Zonal marking does not stop you from pressing and putting the opposing team under pressure. Zonal marking is not the same thing as defending deep. Zonal marking means marking zones , defending in pack and attacking in pack. Every team i have seen in this tournament both the ones who have won and lost all do zonal marking. I am amused the way the word zonal marking is being bandied around. When you have old people who cannot run and cannot recover, zonal marking remains your best best.

Now if you mean playing deep, well there is nothing wrong playing deep if you have people to move the ball out of defence for you, sadly Nigeria put that weight on the shoulder of a young man, who never did anything at club level to justify such expectation in the first place. Once again every team play and defend from deep, if you press up you leave such a yawning gap at the rear, i thought we all saw that in Angola when Egypt took the ball all the way from the center and ran at our defence rounding up our keeper in the process.
Out strikers do not pressure defenders, our midfielders turn into escorts and this leaves our defence to deal with pressure on a constant basis. We give our opponents too much time to decide what they want to do with the ball.

oloye wrote:Juve
YOu be my padi but abeg you must quit while you are on top. Zonal marking does not stop you from pressing and putting the opposing team under pressure. Zonal marking is not the same thing as defending deep. Zonal marking means marking zones , defending in pack and attacking in pack. Every team i have seen in this tournament both the ones who have won and lost all do zonal marking. I am amused the way the word zonal marking is being bandied around. When you have old people who cannot run and cannot recover, zonal marking remains your best best.

Now if you mean playing deep, well there is nothing wrong playing deep if you have people to move the ball out of defence for you, sadly Nigeria put that weight on the shoulder of a young man, who never did anything at club level to justify such expectation in the first place. Once again every team play and defend from deep, if you press up you leave such a yawning gap at the rear, i thought we all saw that in Angola when Egypt took the ball all the way from the center and ran at our defence rounding up our keeper in the process.

Chief, my main gripe is that we do not pressure the opposing team ONE BIT. I think we as a team are giving zonal marking a bad rep. I see Haruna tracking a guy back and he suddenly stops so Etuhu can continue the escort. They apply no pressure. I do not like it. This is just sickening . :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: