Page 1 of 3

''We are basically out of the tournament'' - JOSEPH YOBO

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:13 pm
by Zelex
South Korea play Nigeria in their final Group B match in the knowledge that a win would seal their berth in the last 16 stage of the World Cup.

So for the Koreans, it all hinges on their final group game against Nigeria, a fact not lost on coach Huh Jung-Moo.
“The Nigeria game is now extremely important and it will decide if we reach the round of 16,” Huh said.

“We will analyse things and we will be thoroughly prepared for the match.”

Remarkably for a side that has lost its two opening games, the Super Eagles could still also qualify in their first ever World Cup match against an Asian team — if it were to rack up a good win over South Korea and Argentina beat Greece.

Nigeria coach Lars Lagerback said: “The positive thing is that we still have a chance of qualifying, although we need a helping hand from Argentina. We need a fresh start, and we’ll do that by beating Korea Republic.”

But captain Joseph Yobo was downbeat about Nigeria’s chances of qualifying.

“We’ve lost both matches and it looks like we won’t make it to the next round, even if we win our last game. We’re basically out of the tournament.”

Nigeria’s defeat continues a miserable run for the Super Eagles in which they have gone seven games without a win at World Cup finals — including six defeats — since their last victory in France 1998.

South Korea, who are unbeaten against Nigeria — winning twice and drawing once, will be captained and led from the front by Manchester United’s Park Ji-Sung.

http://allnigeriasoccer.com/read_news.php?nid=1418

Re: ''We are basically out of the tournament'' - JOSEPH YOBO

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:15 pm
by bret- hart
when are we going to do the right thing for once???? Decamp YOBO.

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:15 pm
by Player
Very nice coming from the captain.... :boo:

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:16 pm
by The Notorious B!GGESTMAN
Edited by CMS . Brother man, I'm one of yobo biggest critics here, but I still respect him as a human being. So please lets desist from this type of name calling. Thank you.

STOP THE ROT!!! DON'T LET THIS guy BE NIGERIA'S MOST CAPPED PLAYER OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:17 pm
by mcal
....like say truth hurt sooooooooooo bad :sad:

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:22 pm
by spastic
Edited by CMS
TOWER OF STRENGTH wrote:STOP THE ROT!!! DON'T LET THIS guy BE NIGERIA'S MOST CAPPED PLAYER OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!
Easy son :idea:

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:26 pm
by bret- hart
mcal wrote:....like say truth hurt sooooooooooo bad :sad:

ma friend sharrrap. ur captain should be an inspirational figure something Yobo has no clue abt

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:27 pm
by Abbey
Defeatist attitude! No wonder he plays like a loser sometimes.

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:28 pm
by blueangel
Zelex wrote:South Korea play Nigeria in their final Group B match in the knowledge that a win would seal their berth in the last 16 stage of the World Cup.

So for the Koreans, it all hinges on their final group game against Nigeria, a fact not lost on coach Huh Jung-Moo.
“The Nigeria game is now extremely important and it will decide if we reach the round of 16,” Huh said.

“We will analyse things and we will be thoroughly prepared for the match.”

Remarkably for a side that has lost its two opening games, the Super Eagles could still also qualify in their first ever World Cup match against an Asian team — if it were to rack up a good win over South Korea and Argentina beat Greece.

Nigeria coach Lars Lagerback said: “The positive thing is that we still have a chance of qualifying, although we need a helping hand from Argentina. We need a fresh start, and we’ll do that by beating Korea Republic.”

But captain Joseph Yobo was downbeat about Nigeria’s chances of qualifying.

“We’ve lost both matches and it looks like we won’t make it to the next round, even if we win our last game. We’re basically out of the tournament.”

Nigeria’s defeat continues a miserable run for the Super Eagles in which they have gone seven games without a win at World Cup finals — including six defeats — since their last victory in France 1998.

South Korea, who are unbeaten against Nigeria — winning twice and drawing once, will be captained and led from the front by Manchester United’s Park Ji-Sung.

http://allnigeriasoccer.com/read_news.php?nid=1418

This article is NOT TRUE.
A Captain would never say those Words.

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:31 pm
by mcal
bret- hart wrote:

ma friend sharrrap. ur captain should be an inspirational figure something Yobo has no clue abt
....and yet u keep putting him on the field, numerous dreamland line ups here always show YOBO so the bobo has every right vent...in Nigeria oga means oga go ask the theives.

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:32 pm
by anaedo1
Edited by CMS
TOWER OF STRENGTH wrote:STOP THE ROT!!! DON'T LET THIS guy BE NIGERIA'S MOST CAPPED PLAYER OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!
The man is being sincere albeit in the same breathe revealing his inner fears and bankrupt emotional fortitude.He is the leader on the pitch and must make his confidence rub off on other players.
What his statement implies is that Lagerback has failed woefully in instilling a sense of steely determination,never say die attitude and positive self confidence in his wards.

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:40 pm
by bret- hart
bret- hart wrote:

....and yet u keep putting him on the field, numerous dreamland line ups here always show YOBO so the bobo has every right vent...in Nigeria oga means oga go ask the theives.

left to me i would never invite Yobo again...and where did i include him in my team? yeye :roll:

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:43 pm
by smartbrother
Edited by CMS
o boy which one be *kindperson*? I agree Yobo is the weak link in the team and the sooner we bench him the better but lets calm down a bit

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:23 pm
by CMS
Now you understand why I criticize the man sometimes.
Player wrote:Very nice coming from the captain.... :boo:

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:24 pm
by niyi
It's very insincere to use someone's quote out of context. This quote by Yobo was right after the match before the calculations when most of the players thought we were out of the competition.

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:28 pm
by CMS
How can we calculate as such. Argentina played before us. We knew the results before our game. Its not difficult to per-mutate.
niyi wrote:It's very insincere to use someone's quote out of context. This quote by Yobo was right after the match before the calculations when most of the players thought we were out of the competition.

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:33 pm
by niyi
The players are not mathematicians. LOL. You saw the way some of them cried after the game, many thought we were out.

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:38 pm
by yaya
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

by CMS
Yeah I saw them..I was like.. :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: WTF? No wonder people say they have low IQ.
niyi wrote:The players are not mathematicians. LOL. You saw the way some of them cried after the game, many thought we were out.

by Tunde84
:boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :veryangry:

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:45 pm
by yaya
CMS wrote:Yeah I saw them..I was like.. :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: WTF? No wonder people say they have low IQ.
niyi wrote:The players are not mathematicians. LOL. You saw the way some of them cried after the game, many thought we were out.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: i couldnt believe my eyes.

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:48 pm
by Altobelli
Disappointing comments from Yobo. It's not going to be easy Nigeria on Tuesday at all.

Posted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:53 pm
by yaya
Yobo is Yobo. An average footballer with less than average intelligence. There is a reason he is being benched by crap like Jagielka and Distin.