Nedved pips Henry to European Footballer of the year award

Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 8:56 pm
by ikwerreman
http://www.premierleague.com/fapl.rac?c ... s.NewsItem&

NEDVED PIPS HENRY TO BALLON D'OR
Juventus midfielder Pavel Nedved has beaten Arsenal striker Thierry Henry to the European Footballer of the Year award.

The Czech Republic star is the winner of the ‘Ballon d’or’ award organised by France Football magazine, who polled journalists from across Europe to come up with the result.

Nedved revealed he would have cast his vote for runner-up Henry who also finished second last week to fellow Frenchman Zinedine Zidane in the standings for the FIFA World Player of the Year award.

Nedved said: “For me, Thierry Henry is the best forward in the world now.

“I am very happy. I did not think I would beat Thierry Henry, Paolo Maldini or Zinedine Zidane and if I had voted I would have voted for Thierry and for the other players on the podium.

“I am very happy for myself, my wife, my children and country but I don’t know how I beat Thierry Henry or Zinedine Zidane.”

The news will make amends for Nedved finishing only fourth in polling of national coaches for FIFA's World Player of the Year award, which was won by Zidane.

Nedved won the award on the back of superb form for both club and country.

Juventus won their second successive Serie A title in 2003, and Nedved produced a series of outstanding performances in the Champions League as the Bianconeri reached the final.

To his great regret, he was suspended for the final which Juve lost on penalties to Milan, but Nedved again shone in Euro 2004 qualification matches as the Czech Republic finished top of their group, above Holland.

Meanwhile, French football queued up to heap tributes on Henry who has had another outstanding year with Arsenal and France.

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger said: “Thierry Henry will go a very long way and everything will depend on him. He is a phenomenal player.”

Former France coach Aime Jacquet, who coached the 1998 World Cup winning team in which the young Henry was a surprise squad selection, stated: “He is the most efficient player in world football at the moment.”

Nedved was the first Czech to win the award since Josef Masopust who won it in 1962 when the Dukla Prague midfielder played in the Czechoslovakia side that reached the World Cup final in Chile where they lost to Brazil.

Re: Nedved pips Henry to European Footballer of the year awa

Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 9:55 pm
by KoC
And rightly so.

Too much hype about Henry.

what

Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 10:14 pm
by omey2k4
How did Henry come 2nd sef?Why was Wenger allowed to count the votes?

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 8:54 am
by nemi2002
I don't understand this.

Pray, on which continent does Zidane ply his trade?

How come he is the World Footballer of the Year?
Coaches from all countries apart from Nigeria :shock: picked him, while European coaches alone picked Nedved.

Are they privy to information that we know nothing about?
Can somebody help me out.

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 9:05 pm
by sunshinestar
Good decision!

Re: Nedved pips Henry to European Footballer of the year awa

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 9:22 pm
by Waffiman
KickOff Chief wrote:And rightly so.

Too much hype about Henry.
Bad bellus nor goo oh. :D :D :D :D :D :D :D How can a Manure man talk about hype. Remember Ronaldo and all the hype for the beginning. Where he dey now?

Whereas Arsenal's fans player of the season - KOLO TOURE just keeps on amazing all the cynical football pundits in England. The English press are vexed because Upson was sent packing because of this young African talent.

If he was a Manure player man nor go hear word today. Also, remember how una hype O'Shea, where he dey today? He has been so bad this season, I cannot believe he is fit.

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 10:49 pm
by AreaStarr
All you Manure fans shaaaaarrrrrrrrp! :x Leave my boy TH14 alone.
TH14 has been stitched up again. No doubt his time will come of this I am sure.

Posted: Wed Dec 24, 2003 11:28 am
by Ijapa
AreaStarr wrote:All you Manure fans shaaaaarrrrrrrrp! :x Leave my boy TH14 alone.
TH14 has been stitched up again. No doubt his time will come of this I am sure.
I 2nd that