FALCONS: Uche calls up 33 for Cameroon....

Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 4:41 pm
by Enugu II
Nigeria's Falcons squad named for Olympic qualifiers
Falcons call up 33 for Cameroon
Posted: 2011-09-28 13:40
Kickoff Online

Super Falcons coach Uche Eucharia has called up 27 players for next month's Olympic qualifying second leg match against Cameroon.

The squad has 27 players from the domestic league and six playing abroad.

Veteran forward Perpetua Nkwocha leads the list of six foreign-based professionals, while skipper Precious Dede is at the top of the domestic player pile.

The squad are expected to start the first instalment of a two-phased training camp on September 29 at Millenium Hotel, Abuja.

The second phase will hold at Abeokuta, Ogun State.

Nigeria travel to Cameroon with a slim 2-1 lead from the first leg, with the winner of the two-legged tie joining South Africa at next year's Olympic Games.

THE SQUAD:

DOMESTIC PLAYERS

GOALKEEPERS: Precious Dede (Rivers Angels), Tochukwu Oluehi(Sunshine Queens), White Ebubeleye (Rivers Angels), Ezinne Mbalisi(Delta Queens)
DEFENDERS: Josephine Chukwunonye(Rivers Angels), Gladys Akpa (Sunshine Queens), Blessing Edoho(Rivers Angels), Gloria Ofoegbu(Rivers Angels), Joy Jegede(Delta Queens), Rose Umeh(Nasarawa Amazons), Chinaza Nhetewesi(Sunshine Queens), Augusta Egwim(Delta Queens), Osinachi Ohale(Delta Queens)
MIDFIELDERS: Gloria Iroka (Rivers Angels), Ebere Orji(Rivers Angels), Martina Ohadugha(Rivers Angels), Francesca Ordega(Bayelsa Queens), Evelyn Nwabuoku(Rivers Angels), Rebecca Kalu(Rivers Angels), Stella Mbachu(Rivers Angels), Cecilia Nku(Bayelsa Queens), Vera Okolo(Delta Queens)
ATTACKERS: Desire Oparanozie (Delta Queens), Amenze Aighewi (Rivers Angels), Oshoala Asisat(FC Robo,Lagos), Chioma Nwagwu (Sunshine Queens), Esther Edem (Sunshine Queens)

EURO-BASED PLAYERS:
Perpetua Nkwocha (Sunnana SK –Sweden), Faith Ikidi(Pitea IF –Sweden), Onome Ebi(Atasehir Belediyesi Sports Club –Turkey), Rita Chikwelu(Umea IK – Sweden), Helen Ukaonu(Sunnana SK –Sweden), Uchechi Sunday(FC Neunkirch –Switzerland)

Re: FALCONS: Uche calls up 33 for Cameroon....

Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:24 pm
by Otitokoro
This is subtle evidence that her players seem to have little or no confidence in her as a coach.
Let's see how her disciples spin this...
Uche reads riot act to Falcons
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

by Sammy Wejinya 02 October 2011, 20:19
http://www.supersport.com/football/nige ... to_Falcons

Nigeria’s women’s football coach, Eucharia Uche has expressed anger at the failure of players to turn up in camp ahead of the decisive Olympic qualifier against Cameroon.

Only five players have turned up at the preparatory camp which opened on September 29 in Abuja leaving the gaffer furious.

“Any player that does not report to camp tomorrow (Monday, October 3) should do well to remain in her house,” Uche said.

“We all know how important this return leg is.

“If we don’t see them here tomorrow (Monday), we will invite fresh players,” she said.

The five players currently in camp are Precious Dede, Ezinne Mbalisi, Rose Umeh, Augusta and Asisat Oshaola.

Nigeria beat Cameroon 2-1 in the first leg of the final round of qualifying for the 2012 Olympic Women’s football event in Abuja in August.

A 1-0 victory for Cameroon’s Indomitable Lionesses in the return fixture on October 22 in Yaounde will see the Central Africans progress to the Olympic tournament.

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 2:43 am
by Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd
Yeah and how many people did Eguaveon drop for not showing up on time for the under 20 competition in Colombia or did Enyeama's uprising suggest players have no respect for Siasia? Your criticism now borders on the ridiculous, I know your problem is more of the names on the list than the action of the players. :(

Otitokoro wrote:This is subtle evidence that her players seem to have little or no confidence in her as a coach.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nigeria’s women’s football coach, Eucharia Uche has expressed anger at the failure of players to turn up in camp ahead of the decisive Olympic qualifier against Cameroon.

Only five players have turned up at the preparatory camp which opened on September 29 in Abuja leaving the gaffer furious.

“Any player that does not report to camp tomorrow (Monday, October 3) should do well to remain in her house,” Uche said.

“If we don’t see them here tomorrow (Monday), we will invite fresh players,” she said.

The five players currently in camp are Precious Dede, Ezinne Mbalisi, Rose Umeh, Augusta and Asisat Oshaola.

Nigeria beat Cameroon 2-1 in the first leg of the final round of qualifying for the 2012 Olympic Women’s football event in Abuja in August.

A 1-0 victory for Cameroon’s Indomitable Lionesses in the return fixture on October 22 in Yaounde will see the Central Africans progress to the Olympic tournament.

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 12:13 pm
by Eaglezbeak
I would think that most women footballers are home based in Nigeria so their excuses reasons for not turning up must be personal,I hope they dop qualify to the Olympics so as a Londoner I will enjoy my summer 2012 thoroughly but the likelyhood of that happening is very slim!

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 1:02 pm
by GUEST
Siddon and see what Happen Activated..

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 2:44 pm
by Otitokoro
I really don't have time for your infantile ramblings, dude.
Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd wrote:Yeah and how many people did Eguaveon drop for not showing up on time for the under 20 competition in Colombia or did Enyeama's uprising suggest players have no respect for Siasia? Your criticism now borders on the ridiculous, I know your problem is more of the names on the list than the action of the players. :(

Otitokoro wrote:This is subtle evidence that her players seem to have little or no confidence in her as a coach.

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:51 pm
by Otitokoro
The plot thickens...
Peters, Odeh defer on Dede
by Humphrey Njoku 03 October 2011, 16:57
http://www.supersport.com/football/nige ... er_on_Dede

Former Super Falcons coaches, James Peters and Rolandson Odeh hold different views on the invitation of off-form goalkeeper, Precious Dede to the senior national team camp.

Dede is among the 27 players invited to camp by coach Eucharia Uche for the must-win London 2012 Olympic Games qualifier against the Indomitable Lionesses of Cameroon in Yaounde on October 22.

Falcons won the first leg by 2-1 in Abuja.

At 31, Dede has been without a club and never featured in the 2011 women league preliminaries, the just-concluded final Super Six as well as the Challenge Cup won by her now adopted club, Rivers Angels.

Although both coaches admitted that her experience is needed in the team, they, however, told SuperSport.com that alternate keepers who are younger and fitter should be given a starting shirt against the Central African foes.

“You cannot remove the experience of Dede from the team. I think she is relevant for now until we get a good replacement for her.

“I know she was not fully fit in the first match against Cameroon in Abuja. I don’t know her fitness level now, but if she is not still fine then other goalkeepers should be given a starting shirt,” Peters told SuperSport.com.

“Dede on paper remains Nigeria’s number one and the best in the land. No one can question her experience but I doubt whether she is the best on current form at the moment. Her nagging ankle and knee injuries have made her susceptible to mistakes.

“Her deputy, Tochukwu Oluehi has come of age, and equally gathered experience. She should be allowed to keep,” Odeh enthused.

Both coaches disagreed on the drafting of the former Super Eagles' coach and member, NFF technical committee, Christian Chukwu to the team.

“Chukwu is not knowledgeable in that field, Coach Eucharia Uche needs a helper, and Chukwu is totally off it. NFF should second an experienced coach in women football to assist Uche,” Peters said.

“Chukwu is a misnomer, he can’t do it because that is not his area of competence. I am sure he cannot even name a single player,” Odeh said.

However, coach Peters is upbeat of a Falcons’ victory against Cameroon in Yaounde.

“Cameroon are not insurmountable, they are not fantastic because the Ghanaian team are more stronger than the Cameroonians.

“If we go there with the right tactics and a coach who can read the game, we will sure survive,” Peters told SuperSport.com.

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:57 pm
by Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd
Stop flattering yourself, some one had to remind you of the stupidity evident in your mind set.
Otitokoro wrote:I really don't have time for your infantile ramblings, dude.
Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd wrote:Yeah and how many people did Eguaveon drop for not showing up on time for the under 20 competition in Colombia or did Enyeama's uprising suggest players have no respect for Siasia? Your criticism now borders on the ridiculous, I know your problem is more of the names on the list than the action of the players. :(

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:41 pm
by MI5
A very confused coach... Just hope the Falcons make it to London...

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 5:14 pm
by Oguleftie
Do we have better players between 22 to 28 years of ages?

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 5:20 pm
by maceo4
Maybe the lesbians are just staying away from the team...

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:27 pm
by Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd
maceo4 wrote:Maybe the lesbians are just staying away from the team...
Didn't she already get rid of them or you can't seem to make up your mind about that one? :)

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:54 am
by GUEST
London Olympics race 17 Falcons in camp
By Our Reporter 8 hours 26 minutes ago
Font size:

Super Falcons’ Head Coach, Eucharia Uche looked somewhat brighter on Tuesday morning as she counted 17 players in the camp of the Senior Women’s Team, preparing for a London 2012 Olympic Games final qualifying leg against Cameroon in less than three weeks.

Uche, former international striker, had threatened to jettison the invited group should they continue to show lackadaisical attitude to invitation, with only five players in camp four days after the call. This appeared to have worked as 12 more players discountenanced the holiday period to show up at the team’s Millennium Hotel camp in Abuja.

Players in camp include Precious Dede, Tochukwu Oluehi, Ezinne Mbalisi, Blessing Edoho, Gloria Ofoegbu, Joy Jegede. Others are Rose Umeh, Chinaza Nhetewesi, Glory Iroka, Martina Ohadugha, Rebecca Kalu, Cecilia Nku, Asisat Oshoala, Osinachi Ohale, Esther Edem, Francesca Ordega and Augusta Egwim.

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:55 pm
by Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd
More lesbians dropped from the team, time for some people to start a human rights march... :D
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://234next.com/csp/cms/sites/Next/N ... layers.csp

Falcons’ trainers invite 3 new players to replace absent ones

October 5, 2011 05:22PM
print email

The Super Falcons’ technical crew has called up three new players to replace some of those who failed to report to camp for their October 22 game.

The team’s media officer, Gracious Akujobi, said on Tuesday in Abuja that the crew took the action after only 17 players trained that evening.

33 players, comprising 27 home-based and six foreign-based, had been invited to report to camp on October 2 with only five players beating the deadline.

The Falcons are billed to meet Cameroun’s Indomitable Lionesses in Yaounde in the second leg game of their final round African qualifying fixture for the 2012 Olympic Games.

“The team’s technical crew is not leaving anything to chance as the coaches prepare the players for the crucial away tie against Cameroun for the right to pick the sole ticket for the London 2012 Olympics.

“But because only 17 players are in camp and trained Tuesday evening at the training pitch of the Abuja National Stadium, the coaches felt they have to do something.

“Though, as training continues tomorrow evening, more players are expected, especially on Tuesday night, but there is the need to invite new ones,” she said.

Akujobi said that the players being replaced were those regarded as “unavoidably absent.”

“They are Janet David, who replaced Josephine Chukwunonye, Jennifer Osawaru in for Evelyn Nwabuoku, and Promise Sike for White Ebubeleye,” she said.

NAN reports that the players in camp by Tuesday evening included Precious Dede, Augustina Egwim, Rose Umeh, Chinaza Nhetewesi, Osinachi Ohale, Cecilia Nku, Asisat Oshoala, Esther Edem and Tochi Oluehi.

The rest are Francesca Ordega, Amenze Aighewi, Joy Jegede, Gloria Ofoegbu, Martina Ohadugha, Gloria Iroka and Blessing Edoho.

Back

Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 3:49 am
by GUEST
COACH UCHERIA SHOULD STOP FOOLING SELF...

Called up 3 players to Replace 3 players whom are just Trainee material in Camp..

So Which players are called up to Replace?

1. Stella Mbachu

2. Vera Okolo..

3. Oparanozie

4. Eberi Orji..

These 4 are not among the 17 listed as been in Camp but invited...

Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:24 pm
by Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd
GUEST wrote:COACH UCHERIA SHOULD STOP FOOLING SELF...

Called up 3 players to Replace 3 players whom are just Trainee material in Camp..

So Which players are called up to Replace?

1. Stella Mbachu

2. Vera Okolo..

3. Oparanozie

4. Eberi Orji..

These 4 are not among the 17 listed as been in Camp but invited...
Perhaps those 4 were not considered unavoidably absent absent are expected as stated in the article......duhhhh :???:

“Though, as training continues tomorrow evening, more players are expected, especially on Tuesday night, but there is the need to invite new ones,” she said.

Akujobi said that the players being replaced were those regarded as “unavoidably absent.”

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 2:37 pm
by Otitokoro
Another expose
The plot thickens...
Okolo shuns Falcons’ camp
http://www.supersport.com/football/nige ... lcons_camp
by Humphrey Njoku 07 October 2011, 09:50

Super Falcons attacking midfielder, Vera Okolo will not be a party to the team’s London 2012 Olympic Games qualifier against the Indomitable Lionesses of Cameroon in Yaoundé on October 22.

The kid dynamite who was pivotal to Delta Queens success stories at this year’s Super Six and Challenge Cup respectively is among the 27 players Coach Eucharia Uche invited to camp to prosecute the quadrennial football clash against Cameroon.

She did not play any role in the team’s slim 2-1 win over the Cameroonians in Abuja.

Okolo told SuperSport.com that she has matured in the game and will not allow anybody to use her as a training material.

“I won’t be honouring the invitation to camp, it makes no sense to me any longer to honour an invitation to camp and despite exhibiting good form one is kept on the bench or merely used as training material.

“I think I have paid my dues in the junior and senior teams. I play regularly for my team, Delta Queens. I played the women league preliminaries, Challenge Cup and the final Super Six which we won. So in terms of being competitive and match fit, I am.

“Since merit has taken flight in the Super Falcons, I have decided to take the back seat, at least, for now.

“National team assignment is a serious matter and should not be mixed up with sentiment or favouritism,” she said.

The coaches are likely to limit themselves with the 20 players in camp now in addition to the expected five foreign based players for the must win encounter.

Although, Stella Mbachu, one of the invited players is yet to report to camp, she told SuperSport.com that she is hospitalized at the moment but will join the camp once she is discharged.

“No, I have not reported to camp, I am in hospital right now in Owerri. I have typhoid fever, my coach is aware and I will rejoin my colleagues once I am fit,” she said.

Meanwhile, the team will no longer head to Ota, Ogun state for the final phase of their camping and will stay put in Abuja to finish with their preparations for the match before heading to Cameroon on October 19.

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 2:50 pm
by niyi
Otitokoro wrote:Another expose
The plot thickens...

Super Falcons attacking midfielder, Vera Okolo will not be a party to the team’s London 2012 Olympic Games qualifier against the Indomitable Lionesses of Cameroon in Yaoundé on October 22.

The kid dynamite who was pivotal to Delta Queens success stories at this year’s Super Six and Challenge Cup respectively is among the 27 players Coach Eucharia Uche invited to camp to prosecute the quadrennial football clash against Cameroon.

She did not play any role in the team’s slim 2-1 win over the Cameroonians in Abuja.

Okolo told SuperSport.com that she has matured in the game and will not allow anybody to use her as a training material.

“I won’t be honouring the invitation to camp, it makes no sense to me any longer to honour an invitation to camp and despite exhibiting good form one is kept on the bench or merely used as training material.

“I think I have paid my dues in the junior and senior teams. I play regularly for my team, Delta Queens. I played the women league preliminaries, Challenge Cup and the final Super Six which we won. So in terms of being competitive and match fit, I am.

“Since merit has taken flight in the Super Falcons, I have decided to take the back seat, at least, for now.

“National team assignment is a serious matter and should not be mixed up with sentiment or favouritism,” she said.

The coaches are likely to limit themselves with the 20 players in camp now in addition to the expected five foreign based players for the must win encounter.

Although, Stella Mbachu, one of the invited players is yet to report to camp, she told SuperSport.com that she is hospitalized at the moment but will join the camp once she is discharged.

“No, I have not reported to camp, I am in hospital right now in Owerri. I have typhoid fever, my coach is aware and I will rejoin my colleagues once I am fit,” she said.

Meanwhile, the team will no longer head to Ota, Ogun state for the final phase of their camping and will stay put in Abuja to finish with their preparations for the match before heading to Cameroon on October 19.
My brother I don't see any thickening plot, I only see a disgruntled player with an over-inflated sense of entitlement.

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:13 pm
by oloye
niyi wrote:
The plot thickens...

My brother I don't see any thickening plot, I only see a disgruntled player with an over-inflated sense of entitlement.
Otitokoro is just trying to cause trouble, that is why he is seeing plot thickening where there is none. A player that was never used decided to decamp herself and they say plot thickens. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 5:49 pm
by Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd
niyi wrote:
The plot thickens...

Otitokoro is just trying to cause trouble, that is why he is seeing plot thickening where there is none. A player that was never used decided to decamp herself and they say plot thickens. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Next line of the plot is "Vera is a Lesbian which is why Uche is not playing her". The dude Otitokoro is a small minded fellow, his problem is very obvious and he can't help himself.

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 10:29 pm
by Karina
It's unfortunate how the issue with the Super Falcons has been allowed to drag on. For those of us who watched them play against Cameroon in the 1st leg,it was obvious, the team lacked cohesion which was even worse against Ghana during the All Africa Games qualifier.

Why is nothing being done to rectify the problem ? If Nigeria fails to qualify for the Olympics that surely will be a travesty.

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 11:47 pm
by Otitokoro
Ah, Oloye, wetin consign Agbero wit ofaload?
I ham just a reporta jejelly reporting de news :lol:
niyi wrote:
The plot thickens...