Eagles striker wants to replace Saha at Fulham!

Bagayoko wants to replace Saha

Tuesday, 20 January 2004

Ajaccio attacker Mamadou Bagayoko is hoping Fulham decide he is the man to replace Louis Saha.

With top scorer Saha undergoing a medical ahead of his move to Manchester United, Chris Coleman is busy identifying potential replacements for the lively Frenchman.

Brian McBride is expected to join The Cottagers in the near future, but Coleman is also believed to be chasing a striker with pace and power with Bagayoko certainly fitting the bill.

The Malian marksman joined Ajaccio in the summer and has impressed in Corsica with six Ligue 1 goals for a struggling side.

"Fulham seem really interested," he admitted. "They follow me closely.

"My agent told me that the club have watched my matches since the third day.

"Fulham is prestigious! I love The Premiership.

"It is my dream to play one day in England. Of course, if Saha leaves for Manchester, that will free up a place.

"But, when a Fulham official calls me, I will really believe it."

The West Londoners are not the only club on the trail of the promising 24-year-old.

"Auxerre also keep an eye on me," he told France Football. "I am proud of that.

"Nantes, Nice and PSG have asked for information too.

"I still have one-and-a-half years remaining on my contract at Ajaccio and it won't trouble me to stay until the end."

West Ham were keen to sign Bagayoko during his days at Strasbourg, so he is hoping for a second chance to sample life in the English capital.

"In 2002, West Ham made a very honest proposition to Racing to sign me," he added.

"But the Alsace club refused it."
living

Post by living »

AYO did u read the article b4 you posted it
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln

Yes he did. Mali are also known as the Eagles. Still, it got me.
Ayo, how about some qualifying of that in the title?
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

living, whats wrong?

By the way, before it starts; can people please resist from starting Aghawonder cries. I'm sure its a jinx :mrgreen:.

waka-man wrote:Yes he did. Mali are also known as the Eagles. Still, it got me.
That is called headline writing. A headline is supposed to be catchy yet accurate. There is nothing inaccurate about it and it screams "read me."

Living, I think you need to work on your knowledge of African football my brother.
Mzekezeke

Post by Mzekezeke »

Waka-man the whole point of Ayo Akinfe's heading was to grab your attention. Evidently it worked. :D
Patrick Ntsoelengo,Nelson Dladla,Petros Nzimande, Abednigo Ngcobo,Doctor Khumalo,Vusi Lamola,Gerald Dlamini,Simom Lehoko,Silvester Kole,Lucas Radebe,Jan Lichaba, Leonard Likoebe,Edson Mguyo, Arie Khongoane,Marks Maponyanye,Donald Khuse, Jabu Pule, Mark Tovey, Zebulon Nhlapo,Gabriel Tikkie Khoza,Moran Khulu,Michael Dlamini,Johannes Mofokeng, Wellinton Manyathi,Jingles Perreira....... to be continued....Amhakhosi Kaizer Chiefs!!!!!!!

That is called headline writing. A headline is supposed to be catchy yet accurate. There is nothing inaccurate about it and it screams "read me."

Living, I think you need to work on your knowledge of African football my brother.
It is indeed headline writing - but of the cheap tabloid kind. I always thought of you as a guy who could capture attention without toying with your audience's perception. But, hey, yes, you got my attention. If that was all you wanted to do, well done.
Diabo

Post by Diabo »

To think that this Bagayoko couldnt even break into Mali's ANC squad, gives an idea of the their current depth of talent upfront. :shock:

Diabo wrote:To think that this Bagayoko couldnt even break into Mali's ANC squad, gives an idea of the their current depth of talent upfront. :shock:
Is Bakayogo not in the Mali squad? I will check it. If he is not there, it maybe because Kanoute displaced him.

Misleading catchy headline yes, good luck to the guy
Unisol

Post by Unisol »

living wrote:AYO did u read the article b4 you posted it

Go Super Eagles - We taught the world to play Soccer.

I cannot believe that Bagayogo is not in the Mali squad. The quartet of Sidibe, Traore, Kaniute and Bagayoko is one of the best strike forces any team would have been able to boast of.

Cameroon for instance certainly does not have that kind of firepower upfront.
old_obsession

Post by old_obsession »

agahowa should replace saha at Fulham.

Bagayoko is a good player with a lot of skill but he is not the most clinical finisher. However, skill is not appreciated in the English game. As such, Bagayoko will prolly be pilloried for not taking his chances by Fulham fans. Bagayoko would do well in La Liga where skill is much more appreciated by the fans!

I wonder why Stambouli chose not to pick the guy. He is a very good player!
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

old_obsession wrote:agahowa should replace saha at Fulham.
You just had to say it.
La Reussi

Post by La Reussi »

Ayo, when did you become a junk journalist?

LA Reussi
In all things and every situation, give thanks to God.

La Reussi wrote:Ayo, when did you become a junk journalist?

LA Reussi
Na you sabi. You wan tell me say Mali no be Eagles now?
Ziontrain

Post by Ziontrain »

Decepive headline - more useless tabloid journalism. What a waste of time.
"Jose Mourinho favoured directness and used to throw Robert Huth or John Terry up front when Chelsea were chasing the game, a ploy associated with the industrial era of English football management."
- The Guardian UK, November 26, 2007

Ziontrain wrote:Decepive headline - more useless tabloid journalism. What a waste of time.
When Bagayoko score hat trick against Man U and proves he is worth more than Saha, let us see if you call it useless then.
living

Post by living »

Ayo,I am sorry there, u got me though
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln

living wrote:Ayo,I am sorry there, u got me though
No sweat. It is all part of the fun.
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

Moderators, please delete this thread.

It's too deceptive.