Whatever happened to Ajax, used to be an elite club.

Re: Whatever happened to Ajax, used to be an elite club.

okokobioko wrote:What happened to Ajax indeed! well, I can answer that, 6 months ago, they b`tch slapped United and today, they womanhandled Woman City, the champions of your useless EPL! Since you claim EPL is the best leauge, Ajax just made ur champion call them daddy! What happened to Ajax?? please go and siddon somewhere before i land u better back hand!

Again, the worse thing about football fans is that they KNOW NOTHING ABOUT FOOTBALL! and 99.98% of cybereagles members fall in that category.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Woman City ke??? O'boy you dey craze!

kolinzo wrote:
okokobioko wrote:
Gudo wrote:Just because an Arsenal fan asked it does not mean its not a valid question? :roll:
They used to be a force in the Champions league. So again what happened to ajax?
Some of you just like to be flogged mercilessly. When last did Madrid or Bayern win the CL? How many clubs can win the CL. Ajax is doing what clubs must do, which is compete and win your domestic league. Arsenal ahs not even been able to win one thing in the last 8 years and you are questioning Ajax that is winning league titles and cups?

What happened to Ajax? Why didnt you ask that question when Ajax went to Old Trafford and gave united a good old beating early this year? (February 23, 2012)?
Perhaps today is a good day to ask this question again? :roll:
Okokobioko, Ajax is not what it used to be when it comes to household names. I don't think the starter of the thread is talking about their productivity. Half of Dutch team back in the 90's used to be Ajax players and they were feared around the world. This current Ajax team are being underestimated hence the rude awakening. Trust me on this when I say Ajax will not beat Man U again, not in this CL. In fact they will not beat Arsenal (and I hate Arsenal). Watch this space.
Thanks bro for the Highlighted.
okokobioko

Post by okokobioko »

cito us wrote:
kolinzo wrote:
okokobioko wrote:
Gudo wrote:Just because an Arsenal fan asked it does not mean its not a valid question? :roll:
They used to be a force in the Champions league. So again what happened to ajax?
Some of you just like to be flogged mercilessly. When last did Madrid or Bayern win the CL? How many clubs can win the CL. Ajax is doing what clubs must do, which is compete and win your domestic league. Arsenal ahs not even been able to win one thing in the last 8 years and you are questioning Ajax that is winning league titles and cups?

What happened to Ajax? Why didnt you ask that question when Ajax went to Old Trafford and gave united a good old beating early this year? (February 23, 2012)?
Perhaps today is a good day to ask this question again? :roll:
Okokobioko, Ajax is not what it used to be when it comes to household names. I don't think the starter of the thread is talking about their productivity. Half of Dutch team back in the 90's used to be Ajax players and they were feared around the world. This current Ajax team are being underestimated hence the rude awakening. Trust me on this when I say Ajax will not beat Man U again, not in this CL. In fact they will not beat Arsenal (and I hate Arsenal). Watch this space.
Thanks bro for the Highlighted.
As long as they continue to beat the crap out of English so called household names and make sir alex's wrinkles fold like a roten ham sandwich, i am content. :wink:
"the black man is his own worst enemy; he is jealous of himself,envious and covetous" ---marcus garvey

cito us wrote:
okokobioko wrote:What happened to Ajax indeed! well, I can answer that, 6 months ago, they b`tch slapped United and today, they womanhandled Woman City, the champions of your useless EPL! Since you claim EPL is the best leauge, Ajax just made ur champion call them daddy! What happened to Ajax?? please go and siddon somewhere before i land u better back hand!

Again, the worse thing about football fans is that they KNOW NOTHING ABOUT FOOTBALL! and 99.98% of cybereagles members fall in that category.
I still stand by my question. Yes Ajax won today but this is not the Ajax of the years past. They are a selling team now and are fluctuating more than the Naija Nepa power supply. They are not a top 10 team in Europe irrespective of the result today.
And Arsenal :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:

Ajax last won the Champions League in 1995. That season, this was their team:

Van der Sar
Michael Reiziger
Frank Rijkaard
Frank de Boer
Danny Blind
Edgar Davids
Clarence Seedorf
Ronald de Boer
Mark Overmars
Jari Litmanen
Finidi George
Nwankwo Kanu
Patrick Kluivert

Several members of that team subsequently went on to win several more Champions League titles at other clubs, and most of the team ended up playing for Barcelona, Real Madrid, AC Milan, Juventus, Man Utd, and Inter Milan. That was a top team.
okokobioko

Post by okokobioko »

wiseone wrote:Ajax last won the Champions League in 1995. That season, this was their team:

Van der Sar
Michael Reiziger
Frank Rijkaard
Frank de Boer
Danny Blind
Edgar Davids
Clarence Seedorf
Ronald de Boer
Mark Overmars
Jari Litmanen
Finidi George
Nwankwo Kanu
Patrick Kluivert

Several members of that team subsequently went on to win several more Champions League titles at other clubs, and most of the team ended up playing for Barcelona, Real Madrid, AC Milan, Juventus, Man Utd, and Inter Milan. That was a top team.

Did you speak of that team, then, with the same breath of awe u do today? 17 years from now, who knows what people will say about their current players? :wink:
"the black man is his own worst enemy; he is jealous of himself,envious and covetous" ---marcus garvey
okokobioko

Post by okokobioko »

The biggest problem with this thread is the ignorance and arrogance. Ajax beat the crap out of united and made Sir Alex scream like a b1tch. They did the same to City. Both games were won with ease.. I saw the City game and it was Ajax was playing against a kindergarten 11. They toyed with, b1tch slapped and humiliated City before the world, WITH EASE! 6 monts ago, they did the same thing to United in front of United Fans who couldnt belive their eyes. Ajax, the champions of Ajax, toyed with and dismantled first and second of the EPL. That tells u a lot. keep underestimating ajax because madrid beat them.

Yes I did (as did most of the footballing world). A bunch of kids and teenagers, defeated the grizzled, world class veterans of AC Milan THREE TIMES in one season! (with Baresi, Gullit, Maldini, Savicevic, Boban, Costacurta, Donadoni etc). Of the Ajax team, only Blind, Rijkaard and Litmanen were over 23 years old.

okokobioko wrote: Did you speak of that team, then, with the same breath of awe u do today? 17 years from now, who knows what people will say about their current players? :wink:
okokobioko

Post by okokobioko »

wiseone wrote:Yes I did (as did most of the footballing world). A bunch of kids and teenagers, defeated the grizzled, world class veterans of AC Milan THREE TIMES in one season! (with Baresi, Gullit, Maldini, Savicevic, Boban, Costacurta, Donadoni etc). Of the Ajax team, only Blind, Rijkaard and Litmanen were over 23 years old.

okokobioko wrote: Did you speak of that team, then, with the same breath of awe u do today? 17 years from now, who knows what people will say about their current players? :wink:
then you are filled with wisdom. :thumb:

wiseone wrote:Ajax last won the Champions League in 1995. That season, this was their team:

Van der Sar
Michael Reiziger
Frank Rijkaard
Frank de Boer
Danny Blind
Edgar Davids
Clarence Seedorf
Ronald de Boer
Mark Overmars
Jari Litmanen
Finidi George
Nwankwo Kanu
Patrick Kluivert

That was some team!!! Maybe except for Frank Rijkaard (and the two Naija players) all of those guys were in the Dutch Squad of that period! They were good!

okokobioko

Post by okokobioko »

kolinzo wrote:

Van der Sar
Michael Reiziger
Frank Rijkaard
Frank de Boer
Danny Blind
Edgar Davids
Clarence Seedorf
Ronald de Boer
Mark Overmars
Jari Litmanen
Finidi George
Nwankwo Kanu
Patrick Kluivert

That was some team!!! Maybe except for Frank Rijkaard (and the two Naija players) all of those guys were in the Dutch Squad of that period! They were good!
jari couldnt have been

Even then - Rijkaard was a member of the great AC Milan squad which many regard as the greatest club side of all time (with Gullit, Van Basten, Baresi, Maldini etc). Some say even better than the current Barca team. Kanu and George were members of Nigeria's greatest ever team.
kolinzo wrote: That was some team!!! Maybe except for Frank Rijkaard (and the two Naija players) all of those guys were in the Dutch Squad of that period! They were good!

okokobioko wrote:The biggest problem with this thread is the ignorance and arrogance. Ajax beat the crap out of united and made Sir Alex scream like a b1tch. They did the same to City. Both games were won with ease.. I saw the City game and it was Ajax was playing against a kindergarten 11. They toyed with, b1tch slapped and humiliated City before the world, WITH EASE! 6 monts ago, they did the same thing to United in front of United Fans who couldnt belive their eyes. Ajax, the champions of Ajax, toyed with and dismantled first and second of the EPL. That tells u a lot. keep underestimating ajax because madrid beat them.
You hijacked this thread with one thing in mind,'Ajax is a great team and there is no two ways about it'. Your point may be valid but you never tried getting the initial point of the thread. Ajax's status today compared to say mid to late 90s is the main point of discussion.

Ajax is good now no doubt but they are no where near the awe inspiring team they used to be. Yes they did beat ManU at oldtrafford. When did ManU become a barometer for a good team's ability? ManCity win, go and lookup their away record in the Euro leagues. They are a terrible travelling team.

wale1974 wrote:
cito us wrote:

I still stand by my question. Yes Ajax won today but this is not the Ajax of the years past. They are a selling team now and are fluctuating more than the Naija Nepa power supply. They are not a top 10 team in Europe irrespective of the result today.
And Arsenal :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:
Una no de tire for the tired and worn joke that only you seem to be laffin after you tell am? :roll:
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

There isnt as much money in the Dutch league as some of the other leagues so they have not been able to retain their best players who inevitably look for bigger contracts.

Anyways, the 'Ajax' model remains very prevalent in modern times...Arsenal, Lyon, Porto, etc.

Top African players now heading to England and Spain. That is where the money is..

Ajax have improved over the last couple of seasons.

okokobioko

Post by okokobioko »

cito us wrote:
okokobioko wrote:The biggest problem with this thread is the ignorance and arrogance. Ajax beat the crap out of united and made Sir Alex scream like a b1tch. They did the same to City. Both games were won with ease.. I saw the City game and it was Ajax was playing against a kindergarten 11. They toyed with, b1tch slapped and humiliated City before the world, WITH EASE! 6 monts ago, they did the same thing to United in front of United Fans who couldnt belive their eyes. Ajax, the champions of Ajax, toyed with and dismantled first and second of the EPL. That tells u a lot. keep underestimating ajax because madrid beat them.
You hijacked this thread with one thing in mind,'Ajax is a great team and there is no two ways about it'. Your point may be valid but you never tried getting the initial point of the thread. Ajax's status today compared to say mid to late 90s is the main point of discussion.

Ajax is good now no doubt but they are no where near the awe inspiring team they used to be. Yes they did beat ManU at oldtrafford. When did ManU become a barometer for a good team's ability? ManCity win, go and lookup their away record in the Euro leagues. They are a terrible travelling team.

But they are still better than Man U and Man City. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
okokobioko

Post by okokobioko »

What happened to Ajax? Your league campions, Man City (the team that destroyed the EPL last season) could not get a win against Ajax. What happened to Ajax? i think the appropriate question is "what happened to football knowlege?"

They are back. Some of the one touch movement and passing by Ziyech, Neres, Van De Beek and Tadic last night was spell-binding. It was reminiscent of the great Ajax side that LVG put together in the mid-1990s. Funny enough many of the current board members, leadership and coaching staff, were members of that great 1990s team: Van der Sar, Overmars, Winter. Witschge etc.

Some of us have always known football. :D