Oh Messi Me!

Re: Oh Messi Me!

David Beckham adds his two cents
David Beckham wrote:Paris Saint-Germain star David Beckham said that while Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are both better than the rest, Ronaldo "doesn't reach the level of Messi," according to a report.

"They can have similarities in their technical skills and talent, and it is hallucinating for football to have them both present, but Messi is simply the best player in the world," Beckham told Telam.

"He [Messi] is alone in his class as a player, it is impossible that there is another like him," the 37-year-old midfielder told Telam. "He, like Cristiano Ronaldo, who is not at his level, are both above the rest."

The former England captain won Champions League in 1999 with Manchester United. He joined PSG at the end of January after five years with the L.A. Galaxy in the MLS.

"We were leading before Messi came in, and once he came in, Barcelona scored," Beckham said.

Messi came off the bench to help Barcelona fight back for a 1-1 draw with Paris Saint-Germain on Wednesday and reach the Champions League semifinals for a sixth year in a row. Barcelona will face Bayern Munich in the semifinals.

"Although I enjoy playing at this level at my age, I do not like to lose," Beckham told Telam. "Our team played well. In both matches we did things we should be proud of. We didn't lose against Barcelona, and that is something that should motivate us for the next season."

Barcelona advanced on the away-goals rule after its 2-2 draw in Paris last week meant the contest finished 3-3 on aggregate, but not without showing just how much it depends on Messi against major opponents.

Messi, who had injured his hamstring a week earlier, was cleared to play only an hour before kickoff. He went on in the 62nd minute with his team losing 1-0 after Javier Pastore's opener.

It took him nine minutes to start the decisive move that Pedro Rodriguez finished off to keep Barcelona in the hunt for its fourth Champions League title in eight seasons.
Sauce

Post by Catalyst »

felarey wrote: What can Messi achieve with world class Argentina players? He's only that great when he's playing with the best players in the world not just world class players. I'm talking top 4 players in the whole wide world. Players he's been with for almost 15 yrs. Let him carry Fletcher and Carrick to 3 back to back league titles and back to back CL finals then we're talking. Even a decent showing with Argentina would be nice. They even had the tourney right there in his backyard at home and the result was a huge mess!
Many things wrong here.

1. Messi is just 25, arguably arriving at his peak. Diego and Zizou won WCs at 26. You sound like you expect Messi to carry a team when he hadn't reached his peak. He has only recently been made captain of his national team. He has grown in the role and it has reflected in performances.
It sounds like you are saying we should give messi time to make his make at the national team level.

That is fair.

So what if he does not make any mark there? I mean take his Argentine teams to the summit?
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif

Catalyst wrote:
felarey wrote: What can Messi achieve with world class Argentina players? He's only that great when he's playing with the best players in the world not just world class players. I'm talking top 4 players in the whole wide world. Players he's been with for almost 15 yrs. Let him carry Fletcher and Carrick to 3 back to back league titles and back to back CL finals then we're talking. Even a decent showing with Argentina would be nice. They even had the tourney right there in his backyard at home and the result was a huge mess!
Many things wrong here.

1. Messi is just 25, arguably arriving at his peak. Diego and Zizou won WCs at 26. You sound like you expect Messi to carry a team when he hadn't reached his peak. He has only recently been made captain of his national team. He has grown in the role and it has reflected in performances.
It sounds like you are saying we should give messi time to make his make at the national team level.

That is fair.

So what if he does not make any mark there? I mean take his Argentine teams to the summit?
Then he is to be blame for been a Club legend not National team legend.
With that said the bobo is just too good.

Catalyst wrote: It sounds like you are saying we should give messi time to make his make at the national team level.

That is fair.

As Ke$hi would say, let's see how it goes.

spastic wrote:Perhaps the greatest player of all time has done the unthinkable again :o :

cic old boy wrote:Fact: He will be 26 in WC 2014. 26 = when El Diego and Zizou won their WCs.
:clap:

see you next year.

spastic wrote:Perhaps the greatest player of all time has done the unthinkable again :o :
Chei you wicked sha,wow

cic old boy wrote:Fact: He will be 26 in WC 2014. 26 = when El Diego and Zizou won their WCs.

see you next year.

soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

I can't stop laughing... Meanwhile congratulations Sanchez!

see you next year.

how old is he now?

Kai! Messi fanboys don suffer! :lol: :lol:

This TFCO is someone to avoid :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Another trophy for The Swede

cic old boy wrote:2006
What I saw in the Barca/Chelsea game re Lionel Messi has made me a believer.

The guy has so much game it's a delight towatch
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=56235&start=69

What he saw Messi do against Manure made him stop believing and start hating.
You don't know what some people "believe". They "believe" in Messi and then they don't "believe". They "believe" they went to Brazil for the WC and then they did not.

Happy Birthday to The Swede...still aging

cic old boy wrote: Fact: An awful amount of football is played b/w WCs. So believers should be delighted to watch Messi from now to next year. :lol:

YemiBrazil wrote:This TFCO is someone to avoid :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I tell you. If there's Messi yabbis on the Net, he'll find it.The guy can just be on you like those midgets in professional wrestling. Of course, it's not shocking cos he's a midget himself. I will be surprised if Messi hasn't heard of him by now. When next you see tfco with a facial bump, you can be sure it's headbutt from you know who.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Midgets believing in fellow midgets

anointed wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:This TFCO is someone to avoid :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I tell you. If there's Messi yabbis on the Net, he'll find it.The guy can just be on you like those midgets in professional wrestling. Of course, it's not shocking cos he's a midget himself. I will be surprised if Messi hasn't heard of him by now. When next you see tfco with a facial bump, you can be sure it's headbutt from you know who.
:boo:

Shame on you guys. I am actually protecting him. He has game and I enjoy watching him.

Just shocked that he's the GOAT but not in his country

Let's revisit this thread on June 24, 2016. By then the GOAT will be 29 y/o, maybe he would have won the WC

"I believe in Messi" :lol: :lol: :lol: "Sexy football" - "a delight to watch" :lol: :lol: :lol:

June 26, 2016

Chile wins the COPA. Messi's penalty is...

(he is a baller, and the PK was a delight to watch...lol)

see you next year.

even common COPA sef

That boy has no luck with the international team.