Who has the most fearsome nick name?

Block Buster - Alloy Atuegbu

Agbon(coconut) or Headmaster - Mutiu Adepoju

Re: Who has the most fearsome nick name?

Daddyrich,

You mixed up the nicknames of the players you mentioned here. Ajibade Babalade was called Kunde and not barbed wire. Collins Ebitimi from Stationery Stores owned that nickname...

I don't know what Sunday Eboigbe nickname was but he wasn't
10-10 Bright Omokaro was after that vicious tackle he made in Maroc'88 against Algeria..

Cheii players don come and go ohh kaii... :wink:

daddyrich wrote:Which is the most fearsome nick name for a Nigerian player at club or international level?

"Barbed-wire" (Ajibade Babalade)

"10-10" (Sunday Eboigbe)

"Thunder" (Teslim Balogun)

...are some that come to mind
senator

Post by senator »

The YAK
''Watching United today was like watching your woman with another man. They were where we should have been, doing exactly what we should have been doing, and deep inside you know they were doing it better than we ever have.'' __Arsenal Fan after watching Man Utd defeat Roma 7-1 10/04/07

mouko wrote:
''Going by this list Nigeria would survive if they can score more than they would concede.''
mufu baba iyabo
Location: Never mind what u've left behind,keep in mind what u're yet to find"

Post by mufu baba iyabo »

Slow Poison (Idowu Otubushin-sootin stars)
Gambus (Folorunsho Gambari-sootin stars)
C20 (Dauda) :lol:
Oko Asewo (Tony Edwards)-Onighinde's son
"Heineken refreshes the parts other beers cannot reach". "Nos nihil effisere non possimus"- "To us Nothing is impossible"
shaq

Post by shaq »

Ma yan (sp) I think that was also 10-10

papillo - Kanu
Bird-Killer, Oga, JJ - Augustine Okocha
Baba Eleran (Butcher of Boston) - Augustine Eguavoen

monkeypost

Post by monkeypost »

Daddyrich,

"1010" is Bright Omokaro and not Sunday Eboigbe whose nickname is "Sunday new benin"
If you give me Cole and I give you Gallas, surely, SURELY, you owe me money? waka man on the Cole Gallas transfer saga
shaq

Post by shaq »

monday "nke dilim" (sp) Odiaka

Ogbunigwe,

Eguavoen was known as 'cerezo'.
Iroha- 'Salinsa'
bigtola

Post by bigtola »

shola4la wrote:"Gangling" Rashidi Yekini (Sooooting Stars)
Yekini - Goal father
Kanu - Papillo
Okocha - Jay Jay
Shorunmu - Ike Anabi
Muyiwa lawal - Kokoro
Life is beautiful
La Reussi

Post by La Reussi »

'Chief Justice' Adokiye Amiesiamaka, who went on to become the Attorney General and Commisioner of Justice in Rivers state.

I kind of like 'Agbako' though.

La Reussi
In all things and every situation, give thanks to God.

THE BuLL...how una forget that one

Post by Akamoke »

If I happen to be a striker in a game against anyone known as "Baba Eleran", I will be nervous
denilson

Post by denilson »

"prince of Monaco" - Victor Ikpeba
"Danish dynamite" - Uche Okechukwu
"baby faced assasin" - Oliver Ndigwe
"Pastor" - Taribo West

Last man Odiye[ Godwin Odiye]
Idowu slow poison Otubusen
Chief justice Adokie Amesiameka

jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

hahahah, my favorite- Agbonibasket, who knows who that is?..hahahaha
daddyrich

Post by daddyrich »

I'm having fun with all the people correcting me after the correction was pointed out on the first page ....una no dey read other people post :mrgreen:
Baxter Onigbinde's second coming is the most disingenious stint ever in Nigerian coaching history.
daddyrich

Post by daddyrich »

Winifred Agbonavbare was labelled Agbonibasket at Chile '87 I think
Baxter Onigbinde's second coming is the most disingenious stint ever in Nigerian coaching history.
shaq

Post by shaq »

Willy Opkara "the cat?" was in goal in Chile not Agbonibasket
torontoeagle

Post by torontoeagle »

How can you all forget Samson Ozogula ............a.k.a. ZION TRAIN
T-Dot

oloye wrote:Surugede egedege (Benedict Ugwu). You need to see him to know why he is called Surugede.

QuickSilver - (Silvanus Okpalla) .
Gentle Giant (Uche Okechukwu) - Is he really gentle ?
Mature - (Kingsley Onye) - Injury did not allow him to mature fully
Anobi Yisa(pronounced Esaaw by debajo die hards) - Yisa Alabi, a classic example of how fan power can turn an average player into a superstar.

Ajibade's nickname is KUNDE not Barbwire , compare Ajibade and the real Emammuel Kunde you will see why he is names. Those guys have iroko trees for legs.

Uwe Seeler - Andrew Uwe
The Bull - Amokachi, cant think of any better name .

Chairman - CCC, this guy was truly a chairman in his playing days, he was the Tony Adams of Rangers and SE combined. He oozes leadership all over.

Flying cat - Peter Fregene , yet to see a goalkeeper who can dive or should change this word since it has been badly abused by certain liverpool (Diouf) and Bolton (Campo) players, to fly.

Dodo Mayana - Dont get me wrong there is a guy parading himself around this forum as Dodo, he is a fake Dodo, the real Dodo Mayana is Peter Rufai.

The Boss - well who else bossed the SE the way Stephen Keshi did, forget all those ones after him , they only tried to live up to the real boss himself

I will rest my case i belive there are some more names
So Oloye, if someone calls himself Shaq here does that mean he is Shaquille O'Neal or does it mean that Eagle Winged has wings of an eagle. I have never said i was peter, sometimes i do jest, write like i am him but its all for fun

Agbonivbare became Agbonibasket after he conceded 5 goals against...wait for it ...Togo after the Green Eagles had led 2-0. I think it was during an ECOWAS tour(not sure) in 1983 or thereabout. But he redeemed himself with some sterling performances during the 1994 WCQ most especially CIV in Lagos.

Other names:

Eguavoen--Ogun Efon

Chidi Nwanu---Chidi Waranwaran
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe