Are you ready for some basketball?

chopeski

Post by chopeski »

I think it is a bit premature to start looking at LeBron’s star relative to Jordan’s. LeBron in my view is having a bigger impact on the NBA than Jordan had way back in 1984.

Jordan was drafted in at Number 3 and even at that time, there were still doubts about his game, so to folks, it was a bit of a surprise the kind of impact he had at the start. Lebron on the other hand has had a huge weight of expectation on his shoulders and boy, is he delivering on those expectations!

It is also pertinent to remember that LeBron is coming straight out of High School without any college experience that in my view is the single biggest factor in his development. That he is only 19(only 2 days ago!), coming straight out of HS, and coupled with all the other commercial and team pressures, he is doing well.

We need to salute this boy and let’s hope in 15 years time, he is still keeping both feet firmly rooted to the ground.
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)

All this 'Bron and Melo hype sef.. Has anyone seen Dwayne Wade of the Miami heat? That kid is the real deal.
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

I was just wondering if the Draft class of 2003 would not rival that extraordinary and spooky class of 1984.

Already in 2003, we have seen the ascendance of LeBron, Melo, Wade and I think there are a couple more making the waves, plus Milcic if and when he manages to make the cut at Detroit.

1984 gave us, Dream, Jordan, Barkeley, Karl Malone (???) and many others I can’t remember just now.
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)
RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

How can one say that this chap is potentially better than Jordan?? That's pretty laughable at this stage of the guys career!

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Among a people generally corrupt liberty cannot long exist - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Spastic: No let me send "Po-Po" to come drug test you for that yeye Steel city of yours.........Inner Star quality, Charisma is akin to sex appeal...You either got it or you don't.....

When I mean star quality, I am not just referring to the ra-ra guy or the big mouthed-guy because the quiet ones can radiate it as well....

Let's use boxing as an example, Sugar Ray leonard and Marvin Hagler were among the best fighters of their era, but Sugar Ray's personality helped get him all the contracts and endorsements because he possessed a certain aura that the other did not...

Smae thing in football between Jerry Rice and Joe Montana....Joe Cool had something that Rice didnt, and Steve Young as well, and that's why towards the end of their careers they grew bitter and angry....

LeBron is good, but he lacks the flair and charisma that elevates people into the rare air that the legends soar through.....Maybe down the line he might do so but for now, he needs a lot of work..

And it has nothing to do with age. When Kobe hit the scene you knew immediately that this boy was special....Same for Magic, Michael and Shaq...those are different breeds of cat and LeBron while very good for his age is just not there yet...........

And anyone who even dares to compare him to Michael is out of his mind....How many players have been the next MJ only to fall on their faces.....I think we should let LeBron be the best LeBron that he can be before comparing him to the Greatest

the rock

Post by the rock »

you guys should all relax no be all these reporters dey hype these two boys. man should just take siddon look for two more seasons then we go see who is still balling by then. yes they both got mad skills but time will tell all this hype is just stupid to me. but if i was a betting man my money is on carmelo cause lets face it he took his college team to a championship and won the dag on thing full stop. all this next mj or the king of bball is just stupidity and a waste of time tell me this in three years time and if both are kicking it even higher than now then I will believe the hype but for now na okpks be all this.