Are you ready for some basketball?

If Carmelo Anthony doesn't win the rookie of the year award, it would be a travesty. He has clearly outshined LeBron...so far.

What was Detroit thinking when they passed up on him for Darko Milic?...That was a cosmic goof.

..And we, the defending Eastern conference cahmpions thank them for that goof. Carmelo is the real deal...just wait till he hits the weight room, LeBron will be yesterday's news.
At this rate Darko had better be the second coming of Hakeem or else Detriot will blame themselves for a looooong time.
scholl

Post by scholl »

For Shizzle Yemester but shey no be the 22 pts in the 3rd quarter make you start to dey shrine am?
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

Stat wise LeBron is better than Melo and Melo's star has shone just as bright simply because the Nuggets are a better team than the Cavs.

I have seen James twice and for an 18 year old kid, the hype around him is very justfiable.
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

nanijoe wrote:..And we, the defending Eastern conference cahmpions thank them for that goof. Carmelo is the real deal...just wait till he hits the weight room, LeBron will be yesterday's news.
At this rate Darko had better be the second coming of Hakeem or else Detriot will blame themselves for a looooong time.

What is the deal with this Darko bobo. Is he injured or is he not good enough to get any playing time?

chopeski wrote:

What is the deal with this Darko bobo. Is he injured or is he not good enough to get any playing time?
The guy is not injured..na that useless Larry Brown no wan play am.
Anyway, did anyone notice the nets pounding the Pistons and Pacers on bac-to-back nights..and away too?
No doubt the NBA championship will be decided at the Meadowlands !!
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

nanijoe wrote:
chopeski wrote:

The guy is not injured..na that useless Larry Brown no wan play am.
Anyway, did anyone notice the nets pounding the Pistons and Pacers on bac-to-back nights..and away too?
No doubt the NBA championship will be decided at the Meadowlands !!
I saw the Pistons-Nets game yesterday morning (UK Skysports) and was that an ugly game or what!

What is it with Eastern conference basketball and ugliness?
the rock

Post by the rock »

as far as I am concerned, the championship is going to be between my lakers and the kings both healthy at least. the rest are just side shows

Both 'Melo and LeBron are over-hyped....They are over-paid and their game and personalities lack the excitement that accompanies all the hype that surrounded them.....They were supposed to tbe the next Bird and Magic but so far they are nothing more than a passing thought

scholl

Post by scholl »

the rock wrote:as far as I am concerned, the championship is going to be between my lakers and the kings both healthy at least. the rest are just side shows
Hey, I love the Kings but I doubt their consistency during the playoffs. As for the Lakers, I hope they lose in the first round of playoffs.
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Anikulapo: the next Bird & magicman ke? you know the drill - writers get excited & advertisers need to move gear - Can't believe the hype.
After the big"O" Oscar Robertson & "Clutch" Jerry West's rivalry - many have been looking for another rivalry. I wouldn't be too quick to judge these rookies - yes serious $benjamins are now in the mix but the pressure and talent you face is off a different planet. Remember a young Kobe and playoff airballs - let's watch them catch their grooves.
I remember a young "Air" in maybe his rookie year or there about at the All-star game: the likes of Isiah Thomas & the rest of the Eastern conference players were tired of his hotdogging so they refused to help him out defensively: he was left to guard San Antonio's George "iceman" Gervin and boy Jordan was fried.It was a bad look - search for the video. It was a harsh lesson and boy the redemption of Jordan like we all know's legend.
Scholl -How dare you hate my beloved Lakers? I wouldn't doubt the Kings for one minute - like the Lakers in the "80s and later on you learn from tough playoff losses. The kings without a shadow of doubt are for real. Relying less on Webber is "phat". Hoops's definitely West coast.
the rock

Post by the rock »

scholl sorry o but your wish aint gonna smell daylight. Do not overlook my lakers at all remember- fox aint playing yet and we have a much deeper bench than I even expected-fisher, grant, medvedenko, rusell, rush, fox, and that luke walton boy (boy fit play o). and them kings do not push them aside at all- to me they should just forget webber cause come crunch time the bobo go choke like he always does.
Rogermilla

Post by Rogermilla »

Anikulapo, these guys are still young. But as rookies, I believe they have done a wonderful job with their various teams. You need to see the atmosphere here at the Pepsi center when we are playing at home. Carmelo is great. Lebron the way he has matured in the league has really caught my admiration. He assists well, rebounds and scores double figures.
Give them time and you will see their emergance. But I believe they have both justified their hypes already.
"History shows that this club has had very few strikers like him. I do not know if there has ever been anyone like him before. What I do know is that Barcelona should erect a statue for him. Samuel was a fundamental player here in recent years and was key to all of the titles that the team won."

Andres Iniesta, August 2009
original skeepolah

Post by original skeepolah »

the clippers are the best team on earth :shock:
BabaNaija
No doubt

Post by BabaNaija »

original skeepolah wrote:the clippers are the best team IN MARS:shock:
True :D
BabaNaija

Post by BabaNaija »

1. I hope they get even better with time. Thats good stuff for the NBA.
2. Lebron's maturity cannot be questioned but I think too much is put on his shoulder already. Can he carry the weight a la Jordan or Vince Carter?
3. I like 'Melo more for his calm approach to everything. Apparently his game is speaking for him.
4. On the hype machine, comparing them to Bird and Magic is just dumb to me. Its too early.
5. As for the rookie of the year deal, take it to the bank, Lebron is taking it. If not the boy go vomit that $million Nike deal. he's the poster boy for the season.

I hear what some of you are saying but these two guys were given so much hype that "some" actually believed that they would be the next saviors of the league......

Nevertheless, Carmelo is nothing more than a Shareef Abdul Rahim....A good player but never a superstar......LeBron has a some umpf to his game but that inner star quality that you see in the Magic's, Michael's and even Kobe and Shaq are just missing....And those personality traits have nothing to do with age......

From the moment all four burst on the NBA scene you knew they were different...and that's all I am saying

RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

I think Hakeem the Dream will do better than Jordan this year!

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Among a people generally corrupt liberty cannot long exist - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)
scholl

Post by scholl »

RudeBoy wrote:I think Hakeem the Dream will do better than Jordan this year!
You need to leave that weed alone. :(
spastic

Post by spastic »

Anikulapo, wetin you done dey yarn since, whay inner star quality type opaks be this. Lebron James is barring any injury is going to be the biggesst star in the NBA. actually he already is the biggest star, and I can assure you his game would catch up sooner than later, I mean did you watch the Lebron/Mcgrady show down. This boy at his age has done way better than Kobe, Mcgrady, and Garnett, did in their first year out of high school.

One thing you are right on is that this might not become a Bird/Magic rivalry btween 'Bron/'Melo more like a Jordan/Drexler. Melo is going to be a great scorer, but lebron would rule this game. I guarantee it.

And as for those Doubting Darko, it took the German Kid three years to fully get his groove, Darko was a perfect fit for Detroit, why pick Melo when they had 2 or 3 small fowards/ scoring wingmen already Darko is a center with range. That in my opinion is a no brainer. Unless I have proof that Melo would become the Next Mike, I am taking Darko 10 out of 10 times.
you would see time would prove me right. And even if it doesn't hey you can always get the Next 'Melo they come every year, but a center with range that my friend isn't so easy to find.
MCTID... We don't play that weak stuff.
spastic

Post by spastic »

oh and by the way Lebron would win the rookie of the year award by a landslide, Melo is second but not even close.
living

Post by living »

spastic agreed Lebron would win that award hands down he's being brilliant to say the least
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln
spastic

Post by spastic »

for real, Before the guy got to the NBA I was one of those who kept saying, the hype was too much and the boy would be another Kwame Brown. Boy was i wrong, this boy is for real and he is potentially better than Micheal Jordan, that My friend is a scary thought