African Footballer of the Year decision postponed

Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

By Mark Gleeson

TUNIS, Jan 23 (Reuters) - The list of candidates for the 2003 African Footballer of the Year award has been cut to three but the Confederation of African Football has reversed its decision to name the winner on Friday.

Cameroon's Samuel Eto'o, the Ivorian striker Didier Drogba and Nigerian midfielder Jay-Jay Okocha are the three finalists, but the winner will not now be named until April 30 in Yaounde.

CAF officials blamed "technical hitches" but organisers of the annual African awards gala said it was because the event sponsor wanted the winner to be unveiled in Cameroon.

Last month, the CAF named five finalists but Obafemi Martins of Inter Milan and Tunisian international Hatem Trabelsi failed to make the last three.

However, Nigerian sensation Martins has been named as one of the three candidates for the Young Player of the Year title despite his shunning the African Nations Cup finals, which start in Tunis on Saturday.

The other finalists are Kolo Toure of Arsenal and Ajax Amsterdam midfielder Steven Pienaar.

Organisers said the award was for players aged under 21 but then changed their statement when it was pointed out at Friday's media conference that Toure will turn 23 in March.

Eto'o is among the senior finalists for the third successive year and is the favourite after helping Cameroon to the final of the Confederations Cup in France.

Okocha's inclusion is a surprise as is that of Drogba, who has only burst into the limelight since signing for French club Marseille in August.

The title has been won for the last two years by Liverpool and Senegalese striker El Hadji Diouf.
senator

Post by senator »

which one be this again?
''Watching United today was like watching your woman with another man. They were where we should have been, doing exactly what we should have been doing, and deep inside you know they were doing it better than we ever have.'' __Arsenal Fan after watching Man Utd defeat Roma 7-1 10/04/07

mouko wrote:
''Going by this list Nigeria would survive if they can score more than they would concede.''

Can you smell a cameroon conspiracy??? ... first, this hayatou character gets reelected as CAF presido... now, he decides that this thing be postponed for 4 MONTHS to allow them to release the result in his village... now what's the chance that anyone but Eto will win this thing now?
Oba

Post by Oba »

Yeye CAF. So they want me to wait till summer before knowing the African footballer of last year!!! Dem dey craze. Anyways, Jay Jay had better keep the magic as that would give him a chance to outshine Etoo
Baii

Post by Baii »

If this news is true then indeed they don't have shame.
What kind of thing is that. April is far too long Hayoutou might just forget it cause now we all know for sure his intensions.
“A fanatic is one who entrenches himself in invincible ignorance.”

― OSWALD CHAMBERS, Baffled to Fight Better
senator

Post by senator »

The guy is hoping that Cameroon win the ANC so one of his boys can outshine JAY JAY.
''Watching United today was like watching your woman with another man. They were where we should have been, doing exactly what we should have been doing, and deep inside you know they were doing it better than we ever have.'' __Arsenal Fan after watching Man Utd defeat Roma 7-1 10/04/07

mouko wrote:
''Going by this list Nigeria would survive if they can score more than they would concede.''
Oba

Post by Oba »

Ya know, I saw something like that on the CAF website, they said they were calling a press conference this afternoon to announce categories and nominees for the CAF Awards. I thought it was a big joke or maybe they meant they would be announcing winners.
ugly boy

Post by ugly boy »

Hayatou believes Cameroon are getting a third title and wants to bless them with the son of the soil award... :mrgreen: ..he will be in for a rude shock :shock: :mrgreen:

what a bunch of horsesh1t. CAF can take that award and shove it. How can it take 4 months to anounce the APOY ? Even presidential elections are decided in 1 day. They are making a ridicule of the award.

CAF = bunch of thieves
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

what a bunch of horsesh1t. CAF can take that award and shove it. How can it take 4 months to anounce the APOY ? Even presidential elections are decided in 1 day. They are making a ridicule of the award.

CAF = bunch of thieves
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

oluwaseye the 1st.

Post by oluwaseye the 1st. »

This looks very fishy to me, are they still voting on it or have they voted already and awaiting the results, also if the headquaters of CAF is in cairo, why announce the result in Yaounde. Guys, i suspect a stich up.
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!

COYS
ugly boy

Post by ugly boy »

oluwaseye the 1st. wrote:This looks very fishy to me, are they still voting on it or have they voted already and awaiting the results, also if the headquaters of CAF is in cairo, why announce the result in Yaounde. Guys, i suspect a stich up.
you know this hayatou is out of his mind..his home town...buhahahahaahaha ...someone needs to flog the sense into Cameroon ...the corkyness of an above average team can be very nauseating :?

green4life wrote:Can you smell a cameroon conspiracy??? ... first, this hayatou character gets reelected as CAF presido... now, he decides that this thing be postponed for 4 MONTHS to allow them to release the result in his village... now what's the chance that anyone but Eto will win this thing now?
Ol'boy I can smell it. Not only can I smell it, I can see it too. It is written all ovet it. :x
ugly boy

Post by ugly boy »

THIS IS BUSH AFRICAN BEHAVIOUR AT IT'S BEST
Dombraye

Post by Dombraye »

This is totally ridiculous.......CAF is such a joke!
Eagles Will Rise Again

Nonsense.... African soccer is doomed and with Hayatou why doesn't he just hand over the the affair of African futbol to his masters at UEFA or the guys at FIFA at least they will do a better job with it...
bigtruth

Post by bigtruth »

Hayatou and Cameroon are going to rig it, and they will get away with it again....What a shame.
It Is Well.

LMAO!Funny thang is that U wont find those homless Cameroonians on threads like this. :lol: :P

Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

Let's just wait and see.

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]
shaq

Post by shaq »

Disgusting

As usual the morons who call themselves Nigeria's representatives at CAF as usual will be blind to all of this shame..... :evil: :evil:
VINDAVE

Post by VINDAVE »

This is absolute RUBISH. HAYATUO is planning something, I think Adamu and Nigerians better watch out for this 16YEARS CAF THIEF. And look at the way this useless cospirator - Mark Gleeson is reporting the story (last two para). You can see that they are already planning to give it out to their own Etoo. God forbid, why postponing it, they knew Jay Jay recent form will make other voters to vote him overwelmingly. ANYWAY, GOD IS WATCHING!!!
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Wow!
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."