Messi: I am not a ´true great´ like Maradona

camex
Re: Messi: I am not a ´true great´ like Maradona

Post by camex »

Nipsy wrote:Guys, guys, please just stop this nonsense. Being a great player is not about statistics. You watch Zidane trap the ball and glide past players, and you don't need his stats to decide he's a great player at the highest level. You watch Maradona and Messi on the ball, and there's no way in hell Messi even comes close. Look, he can score 100 goals in this world cup, and win the another 4 world cups, scoring 500 goals in all, but no way will he be a better player than Maradona. When you are talking about players at this level, you're talking about a level where sports meets art, and please, don't demean it by dragging some kind of statistics into the mix of the stuff of peoples' souls.

I'm pretty sure Ronaldo will smash all Pele's records (OK, maybe outside winning the world cup). Would you then place them at the same level? Same level of artistry, and magic? I'd like to know.

So just stop all this nonsense, abeg.

Nipsy wrote:Guys, guys, please just stop this nonsense. Being a great player is not about statistics. You watch Zidane trap the ball and glide past players, and you don't need his stats to decide he's a great player at the highest level. You watch Maradona and Messi on the ball, and there's no way in hell Messi even comes close. Look, he can score 100 goals in this world cup, and win the another 4 world cups, scoring 500 goals in all, but no way will he be a better player than Maradona. When you are talking about players at this level, you're talking about a level where sports meets art, and please, don't demean it by dragging some kind of statistics into the mix of the stuff of peoples' souls.

I'm pretty sure Ronaldo will smash all Pele's records (OK, maybe outside winning the world cup). Would you then place them at the same level? Same level of artistry, and magic? I'd like to know.

You have the likes of ohsee showing up every 4 years and claiming that Messi who single handedly qualified Argentina, didn't do anything for the team. :lol: :lol:
Jokers all around.

Kabalega wrote:

You have the likes of ohsee showing up every 4 years and claiming that Messi who single handedly qualified Argentina, didn't do anything for the team. :lol: :lol:
Jokers all around.
Psst, reread the post you responded to. :sneaky:
camex

Post by camex »

Kabalega wrote:

Jokers all around.
While Messi single handedly qualified Argentina for the world cup, Maradona single handedly won the world cup for Argentina.

When has Argentina not qualified for the WC? It's not as if Argentina is Togo and never qualified untill Adebayor came on the scene.

What's with this single handedly qualified Argentina and since when was that a sign of greatest of all time?

I don't think any player can be considered a true great until they have won the World Cup

The real one agrees

Kabalega wrote:

Jokers all around.