Nigerian MPs' African Nations Cup trip sparks anger

Vincent.
Nigerian MPs' African Nations Cup trip sparks anger

Post by Vincent. »

Nigeria MPs' African Nations Cup trip sparks anger

LAGOS, Jan 23 (Reuters) - The Nigerian government is facing angry protests over plans to send 20 politicians on an expenses-paid trip to the African Nations Cup in Tunisia.

A radio phone-in programme was inundated by demands that the trip be shelved.

"They're going there to waste Nigeria's taxpayers money when many of us are swimming in poverty," said fan Jones Afebi on the Lagos-based programme Brila FM.

Government sources estimate the trip will cost around $20,000 per head. The average national wage in Nigeria is around $50 a month.

Another supporter feared the politicians would also try to meddle in team affairs.

"They should watch the matches on television at home and not go and cause distractions in the camp like (they did) in Mali," fan Jim Maduka said.

Internal wranglings among players, politicians and officials dogged the Nigerian squad during the 2002 tournament in Mali.

The Nations Cup begins on Saturday. Nigeria open their campaign on Tuesday against Morocco.
Bubus

Post by Bubus »

We don't want any fat bellied politiefs in that camp o... not with tax payers money. Even Orji Uzor Kalu should not be allowed in camp. We know he loves soccer... we also do. :roll: :roll:
JJ Okocha will take this freekick... curls it in! Oh! ...curls it right in!! What a goal?!! What a moment of magic from JJ Okocha?!! And its 1-1!!

here we go again.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

ruff'n'tuff

Post by ruff'n'tuff »

When are we going to learn?
who no know go know.
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

Can't they pay their way?
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?

Dem wan go give dem MORAL support :mrgreen:

they can give them moral support from their TV's
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

ruff'n'tuff

Post by ruff'n'tuff »

Politics at it's lowest level.
who no know go know.

juventuss wrote:they can give them moral support from their TV's
Dat one no go do dem u know :wink: dem want take girl friends, claim estacodes and the whole enchilida :roll:

ruff'n'tuff

Post by ruff'n'tuff »

Dis na big shame, wen country dey in turmoil.
who no know go know.

naija sef

Post by ruff'n'tuff »

Wahala tie wrapper.
who no know go know.
somebody

Post by somebody »

Is that what they were elected to do?

These ppl sha
Why do we struggle to live when we are still going to die anyway?
ruff'n'tuff

Post by ruff'n'tuff »

somebody wrote:Is that what they were elected to do?

These ppl sha
e get as e be oo
who no know go know.

This is OBJ trying to buy support for the now disgraced fuel tax.
marloski

Post by marloski »

Damn it.Lagos dey hot,people dey die for PH and these buffons are using government money to go and do nothing in Tunisia.
This is very sad :x :evil: :(
ruff'n'tuff

Post by ruff'n'tuff »

marloski wrote:Damn it.Lagos dey hot,people dey die for PH and these buffons are using government money to go and do nothing in Tunisia.
This is very sad :x :evil: :(
dis one don pass be careful.
who no know go know.
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

This trip, if it does indeed proceed, will constitute a most inappropriate use of public funds.

This is why I maintain that we need to change the political system to reflect more our culture, so that we can create the sort of grassroots-based checks on power that will eliminate these ludicrous occurences.
Imagination is more important than knowledge

- Albert Einstein

Nobleman

Post by Nobleman »

As government dey pay for people to go to Mecca and Jerusalem, na so some people think say government must pay for them to watch soccer in Tunis.

Na wha for my beloved country !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

NIGERIA WE HAIL THEE !
Egunje

Post by Egunje »

Not to talk of their mistresses as extra baggage.