[ANCQ] Nigeria 2 - 3 Congo: FT (Efe and Salami for Nigeria)

Catalyst
[ANCQ] Nigeria 2 - 3 Congo: FT (Efe and Salami for Nigeria)

Post by Catalyst »

Image -vs- Image

Match: 2015 Orange African Cup of Nations Qualifiers>>>
>>>
Venue: U. J. Esuene Stadium, Calabar, Nigeria

Capacity: 35,000.

Altitude: 94 meters (311 feet) above sea level

Weather Forecast: http://www.weather24.com/Calabar-NG2346229.html | http://www.weather-forecast.com/locatio ... sts/latest (in Fahrenheit)

Date: Saturday, September 6 2014
Kick-off: 16:00 GMT / 12:00 EST / 11:00 CST / 09:00 PST
Live Coverage:| BEIN Sports TV | viewtopic.php?f=1&t=252936&start=23
Nigeria vs Congo beIN SPORTS CONNECT, …

Assistant Referee 1:
Assistant Referee 2:
Assistant Referee 3:
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
Catalyst
Re: [ANCQ] Nigeria vs. Congo: 16:00 GMT / 12:00 EST / 11:00

Post by Catalyst »

PREVIEW

http://www.cafonline.com/competition/af ... congo.html
Keshi hits landmark 52 games against Congo
09-05-2014

Nigeria coach Stephen Keshi, marked his 52nd birthday anniversary only on January 23 but on Saturday, September 6, he would be leading out his country’s national team for the 52nd time for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against the Diables Rouges (Red Devils) of Congo at the U.J Esuene Stadium in Calabar.

Keshi’s reign as his country’s trainer precisely began on November 11, 2011 with a goalless draw in an international friendly match against Botswana at the Ogbemudia Sports Stadium in Benin. Since then, he has played a total of 51 matches winning 23; drawing 19 and losing 9 while the team scored an impressive 80 goals and conceded 47.

Under Keshi, Nigeria equally won the 2013 AFCON in South Africa for the first time since their last success at the Tunisia 1994 edition where incidentally, Keshi was the captain, earning him the honour of the second person to win the completion as a player and coach besides Egyptian Mahmoud El-Gohary.

Nigeria also reached a milestone of playing at the Second Round for the first time since 1998 at the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil but lost 2-0 to France in the ill-fated match which was Keshi’s 51st with the Super Eagles.

Speaking exclusively to Cafonline.com, Keshi admitted that the game against Congo which would be his 52nd as Super Eagles is symbolic and he wants nothing than victory.

You clocked 52 in January and on Saturday, you will be playing your 52nd game in charge as the manager of the Super Eagles, what do you make of the number and coincidence?
It is you that is just telling me this (broad smiles) because I don’t really have an idea about this until now. What will the figures do? I just want to win the game against Congo on Saturday and makes Nigerian proud and that is all.

You were the captain in the 1990s when Nigeria beat Congo in Point Noire and Lagos in the qualifiers for the 1994 World Cup, can the present squad achieve similar feat starting with the game on Saturday?
Of course, they can do it. If they have the desire to do it, they can do it. Since we started intensive training on Saturday, I have seen a high level of concentration and the willingness to play a good game. Frankly, I feel everybody can do anything that he set up his mind to do and since they have the courage and the determination, we would be ready to play good football against Congo on Saturday.

After the game against Congo on Saturday, the team would be off for the second game in a space of five days against South Africa in Cape Town, how challenging is this for the team?
We don’t have any problem with that since that is also applicable to South Africa and every other team in the qualifying series. We just need to organise ourselves because we already have our game plans; we just need to be focussed on the game against Congo first.

You have achieved so much with the Super Eagles by winning the Africa Cup of Nations for the first time since 1994 and reaching the second round of the World Cup for the first time since 1998. What else are you aspiring to achieve with the Super Eagles?
I still feel that this team can be much stronger than we have. This team is not yet at the level that I want because we are still building; adding and subtracting and looking at the players that can help. There is nothing wrong for Nigeria to have a very solid team in the next; a strong team that can compete against the elite teams in the world and this was actually part of my dreams: to have a very strong team for Nigeria.

There have been a lot of distractions around Nigerian football since after the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, has this not affected the team in anyway?
We don’t want to get involved with that because that is just administrative problems and it has nothing to do with what we do on the pitch. My job is on the pitch and we have told the players the need for us to be focussed on our jobs squarely on the pitch. Our own job is to make Nigerians proud and happy and our focus now is Saturday’s game against Congo.

Yes, you are right to say its administrative problem but it has partly affected you since you don’t have a formal contract going into the games against Congo and South Africa, why did you take the gamble?
Initially, I didn’t want to do it because I was done with Nigerian football having coached the team for over two and half years but I got a lot of calls from respectable Nigerians who wanted me to continue with the work; and sometimes when people talk to you, you have to listen.

Brazil 2014 World Cup has gone, but are there some things you would have done differently?
Differently? Maybe I would have loved that anything that has to do with finance (money) had long been sorted out before we got to the World Cup because it is always a delicate matter when you are in a tournament. This could take away the concentration of the players and since we had the money issue, their concentration level was not the same but we kept pushing them. This is what I told them that anything financial should be sorted long before we got to Brazil but the players and the NFF could not settle all of this. But what a shame that it came out that way at the World Cup but all that is in the past now.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.

Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

STARTING 11s
NIGERIA / National Anthem - CLICK HERE

Ejide
Efe
Elderson
Onazi
Oboabona
Omeruo
Musa
Azeez
Mikel
Nwofor
Oduamadi

Pictures are clear...

Jos showing di stadium...

Catalyst, good job once again with the prematch info... :thumbs:

Stadium not full, maybe late arrivals.

BTW when will Nigeria learn.

Why not build a stadium in Lagos or Port harcourt, places with more commercial viability. And the idiots that run our football, wonder why they don't make a lot of money from investors and etc.
Last edited by ohenhen1 on Sat Sep 06, 2014 4:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

ohenhen1 wrote:Stadium not full, maybe late arrivals.
Provide link my fren :roll:

I jos saw an Aba made version of awa jersey...

E be like say Suya and Dr. Sabi don hammer o...

damekadon

Post by damekadon »

This stadium and the whole atmosphere is not it at all
Last edited by damekadon on Sat Sep 06, 2014 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Musician wey go sing for deaf and dumb reunion don miss road.

Picture is unusually clear.

pm me the login info my fren :roll:

:taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Chei i don die o. God will punish comcast forever :curse: :curse: :curse:

Grass does not look good.

How come dem dey shake hands... :D :taunt: :taunt:

Good luck to the boys. But I must say I am disgusted with the administrative side of our football. That pitch is rubbish, half full crowd. And this is for a whole National team. Our people no get shame.

Thank you Lyle Imoke and the good people of Cross Rivers for hosting awa Eagus yet again...

So Claude le Roy still dey Africa eh?

lets go Super Eagles

balo wrote:Picture is unusually clear.
...for now. I have been watching some other African qualifiers since yesterday and they all looked good thru the match, hope this one follow suit.

ohenhen1 wrote:Good luck to the boys. But I must say I am disgusted with the administrative side of our football. That pitch is rubbish, half full crowd. And this is for a whole National team. Our people no get shame.

You should have flown to Calabar and add your support.

... the game announcer called them Congo Brazzaville :laugh:

ohenhen1 wrote:Good luck to the boys. But I must say I am disgusted with the administrative side of our football. That pitch is rubbish, half full crowd. And this is for a whole National team. Our people no get shame.
...na today u see am?

Who is that dude beside Emenike on the bench?