[ANCQ] Nigeria 2 - 3 Congo: FT (Efe and Salami for Nigeria)

Re: [ANCQ] Nigeria 2 - 3 Congo: FT

amafolas wrote:
Robbynice wrote:Well I guess you can't win it all...On to the next game. Once South Africa hear wen guys will calm down again...
wow you are really the eternal optimist, aren't you?
does anything every disappoint or bother you?
My guy, I always look on the bright side in everything I do. What good does it do me to dwell on the negatives with everyone and their mama already doing that? I am disappointed in the result but it is not the end of the world. I believe it is a wake up call and I will rather it comes sometime in the first quarter than for it to get us in the fourth quarter. Again if you guys want to vent and dwell on the negatives its all good but as for me and my house we will look on the bright side. The truth still remains that we can't win it all and a good showing and result against South Africa on the road and all of a sudden we are back on track.

Re: [ANCQ] Nigeria 2 - 3 Congo: FT (Efe and Salami for Niger

paj wrote: ...olboy havent we won on the same pitch before?No be the same pitch Congo created MORE chances than Nigeria?
We won in the same stadium...

Put that pitch was Baddd even bifor dem kick ball...

Abeg lets not make dis game about di pitch but a team like Naijaria knows the kind of pitch that they play at their optimal level...

We don't have the luxury of being that good to not pay attention to little things that gives us the edge or reduces us to being a below average team.
Cell,

To be frank, I think the Congolese unsettled us with high pressure on our defenders very early in the game and made our usual build up from the defense very difficult. It was a very difficult game and I think the Congolese deserved the win. It was just a bad bad day at the office.

If u lack an established structure for playing out of defence, an elementary pressure will unsettle you...
When your midfielders hardly present themselves for balls. I mean, you should have multiple options to bring the ball out... it has been a constant flaw... they hardly show for ball.

It a basic thing that could be coached at this level... what are so many of them doing hiding behind the Congolese players...

The game needed Mikel.

amafolas wrote:
Robbynice wrote:Well I guess you can't win it all...On to the next game. Once South Africa hear wen guys will calm down again...
My guy, I always look on the bright side in everything I do. What good does it do me to dwell on the negatives with everyone and their mama already doing that? I am disappointed in the result but it is not the end of the world. I believe it is a wake up call and I will rather it comes sometime in the first quarter than for it to get us in the fourth quarter. Again if you guys want to vent and dwell on the negatives its all good but as for me and my house we will look on the bright side. The truth still remains that we can't win it all and a good showing and result against South Africa on the road and all of a sudden we are back on track.
Robbybabs, you are my guy but we can't just move on to the next one...

You have to do a Root Cause Analysis so as not to repeat history...

We are simply not good enough to leave ANYTHING to chance/luck.

green4life wrote:Terrible display all around by our boys. With that performance it'll have been cruel to get anything from the game. This hurts but all isn't lost given we have 5 more games to play. Back to the drawing board. Hopefully we get back on track with a win at SA. No time to cry over spilt milk. What's done is done.
Administrative issues aside...

Keshi needs to sort out his team ASAP. The personnel deployed was not right... the way they lined up (formation) wasn't right... and then you have your entire backline playing like some Akrija FC...

Gaping holes in between the midfield and defense, and the midfield and attack. So much isolation you'd think they were auditioning for 'castaways'.

Igiebor came in and helped link the attack phase somewhat but in defense, nothing. Add in the lack of leadership from mikel, i.e. getting his troops to tighten up and well....bad day in the office.

P.S. even with the looseness of the side, this loss came down to excellent defending from congo and elementary school errors from us.

When have we not played like that in the last 3-4yrs?

There are too many things wrong with our football that Keshi's obvious mistakes are almost irrelevant...

We have serious problems...and it appears the element of luck (a legitimate variable in football) we had going for us is disappearing.

It's been over a year but in the ANC win, we had a tight team after the first few games. A lot of that can be attributed to Moses and Mikel playing out of their minds and being the link men for attack and defense but it was tight and not this open free-for-all.

I don't know where to begin but the structure of the FA has to be right first. They can't keep acting like amateurs and expect the teams they guide to be of any kind of quality. Then again, look at the country that's supposed to guide the FA. It's one big joke.

amafolas wrote:

You have a point but we are not ready to do that. Many will blame the coach and some the players and that IMO will be a waste of time. The blame rest squarely on the shoulders of the football house, the NFF. When the top is not settled, you have a trickle down effect. But it is easy to blame to coaches and the players so I guess we can go ahead and do that...Me I have moved on to the next game...

Firing Keshi right now will be a big mistake. We will just create another Eguavoen/Siasia situation. I think this match was lost mostly due to distractions that occurred b4 the 90 minutes namely:

1. NFF's organizational saga
2. Keshi's contractual issues
3. Ebola
4. The pitch
5. Insufficient training time
6. The WC gave opponents clear clues about how to beat us (hence why CIV, GHA struggled too)
7. Absence of some key players (Vince, Osaze, Vic, Babatunde, Obasi)
8. Congo was very prepared and focused

#5 especially is very key to Keshi because his teams always start slow. It takes them at least 3-4 matches to settle into a rhythm. If left alone, I'm positive Keshi will fix the mess. In the past, he has delivered when given another crack at the same opponent. So I won't be surprised if Congo is defeated in Brazzaville.

Spicyee wrote:
oloye wrote: I don't think it is because we don't have a good team, it has been about the balance, something is just not right with this team , it has to do with the balance and how they are set up for matches. One minute the team looks unplayable the next it just looks totally flat as if they are a pub club. Sometimes i want to ask if they really know what they should be doing on the field.
Oloye, even you?
Abeg educate me my good friend what i have said that is wrong, we may not have a world class players, but we definitely do not have a bad team. I hope you understand what i mean by unplayable, because that should not be too hard to accept with this team, they have played some matches that make you go wow, and then the next they go limp like a man in need of heavy dose of viagra.
Oloye, you're my friend, but I disagree with you on this one: The past three years, this team has always played disjointed football, relying on the individual dexterity of a handful of players. We have always struggled each time we face any team with a decent ability to keep possession. Are those weaknesses not a pointer to a coaching and selection problem?
That is why i asked you to clarify things, because the issues you raised i have addressed by saying the team is not balanced. You have only expanded on what i had in my mind , that is why i was suprised and asked you to educate me. Perhaps you want me to break it down to that level.

yannick wrote:Just realized the referee was Ghanaian,this match was never going to go well with us from the onset :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Could you not tell by the shape of his head from the onset?

greg wrote:Firing Keshi right now will be a big mistake. We will just create another Eguavoen/Siasia situation. I think this match was lost mostly due to distractions that occurred b4 the 90 minutes namely:

3. Ebola
4. The pitch
6. The WC gave opponents clear clues about how to beat us (hence why CIV, GHA struggled too)

#5 especially is very key to Keshi because his teams always start slow. It takes them at least 3-4 matches to settle into a rhythm. If left alone, I'm positive Keshi will fix the mess. In the past, he has delivered when given another crack at the same opponent. So I won't be surprised if Congo is defeated in Brazzaville.
Asking Keshi to be fired now is assinine, but if he does not show improvement he would have to leave eventually, that is the nature of the game. All the issues you raised are spot on, expecting anything decent in the midst of chaos all the time is a recipe for disaster in itself. Ehem when did Babs become a key player or am i missing something, greg nor fall for my hand oh :D

Spicyee

Post by Spicyee »

Spicyee wrote:
oloye wrote: I don't think it is because we don't have a good team, it has been about the balance, something is just not right with this team , it has to do with the balance and how they are set up for matches. One minute the team looks unplayable the next it just looks totally flat as if they are a pub club. Sometimes i want to ask if they really know what they should be doing on the field.
Oloye, even you?
Abeg educate me my good friend what i have said that is wrong, we may not have a world class players, but we definitely do not have a bad team. I hope you understand what i mean by unplayable, because that should not be too hard to accept with this team, they have played some matches that make you go wow, and then the next they go limp like a man in need of heavy dose of viagra.
Oloye, you're my friend, but I disagree with you on this one: The past three years, this team has always played disjointed football, relying on the individual dexterity of a handful of players. We have always struggled each time we face any team with a decent ability to keep possession. Are those weaknesses not a pointer to a coaching and selection problem?
That is why i asked you to clarify things, because the issues you raised i have addressed by saying the team is not balanced. You have only expanded on what i had in my mind , that is why i was suprised and asked you to educate me. Perhaps you want me to break it down to that level.
Ok, Oloye, since we are on the same page, do you agree that we need a better coach, one who can make better selections and actually coach the team? 8-)
Globero

Post by Globero »

amafolas wrote:

You have a point but we are not ready to do that. Many will blame the coach and some the players and that IMO will be a waste of time. The blame rest squarely on the shoulders of the football house, the NFF. When the top is not settled, you have a trickle down effect. But it is easy to blame to coaches and the players so I guess we can go ahead and do that...Me I have moved on to the next game...
Robbymean, you disappoint me o. Na only you dey move to the next game, your house nko ? :taunt:
From this day forth, I stand by the entity that is ARSENAL.
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero

greg wrote:Firing Keshi right now will be a big mistake. We will just create another Eguavoen/Siasia situation. I think this match was lost mostly due to distractions that occurred b4 the 90 minutes namely:

3. Ebola
4. The pitch

Asking Keshi to be fired now is assinine, but if he does not show improvement he would have to leave eventually, that is the nature of the game. All the issues you raised are spot on, expecting anything decent in the midst of chaos all the time is a recipe for disaster in itself. Ehem when did Babs become a key player or am i missing something, greg nor fall for my hand oh :D

KPOM. He's delivered so far, if it stops then he'll be sacked like others before him. Since we don't believe in building longterm, at least we can be consistent in sackings.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

The YeyeMan wrote:The better team and the better coach won.

Ref was poor.

Nigeria looked clueless too often.

PS: Salami? :lol: Nigeria's Hulk.
I was like does this ref know which side is the home team. With all the fight going on with NFA, I won't be surprised if they failed to pay this ref's "tactical" allowance. or is that sports ministry's job?
Last edited by amafolas on Sat Sep 06, 2014 8:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
Globero

Post by Globero »

amafolas wrote:

Ref was poor.

I was like does this ref know which side is the home team. With all the fight going on with NFA, I won't be surprised if they failed to pay this ref's "tactical" allowance.
From this day forth, I stand by the entity that is ARSENAL.
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero

Spicyee wrote:
Oloye, even you?
Ok, Oloye, since we are on the same page, do you agree that we need a better coach, one who can make better selections and actually coach the team? 8-)
Better coach is a loose term, better coach by what criteria, keshi won the Anc and has equalled the nations standing in the WC, he has earned the right to continue with the job. If he now fails , then he can be replaced, but not because he lost the first match in a qualifier. He has so far earned the right to be on the seat, when you talk of a better coach , how do we measure that? I ask because it has to be relative to SE otherwise we would be talking of a better coach ala Berti stash

amafolas wrote:

Ref was poor.

I was like does this ref know which side is the home team. With all the fight going on with NFA, I won't be surprised if they failed to pay this ref's "tactical" allowance.

Those 6mins of ET should wipe away any talk of the ref favoring congo :laugh:
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

amafolas wrote:

Ref was poor.

Those 6mins of ET should wipe away any talk of the ref favoring congo :laugh:
maybe they finally delivered it, but like everything in Naija, it was delivered late.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

Spicyee wrote:
Oloye, even you?
Na fans like you dey make NFF continue to do as like dis...

You seem to think if dem hire Low or any world class coach that he will fix our problems?

Our problems is beyond coaching and personnel...

And until we all collectively focus on addressing the main problem, any coach you put into that setup will look incompetent as heck.

paj wrote: ...olboy havent we won on the same pitch before?No be the same pitch Congo created MORE chances than Nigeria?

Abeg lets not make dis game about di pitch but a team like Naijaria knows the kind of pitch that they play at their optimal level...

We don't have the luxury of being that good to not pay attention to little things that gives us the edge or reduces us to being a below average team.
Cell,

To be frank, I think the Congolese unsettled us with high pressure on our defenders very early in the game and made our usual build up from the defense very difficult. It was a very difficult game and I think the Congolese deserved the win. It was just a bad bad day at the office.

If u lack an established structure for playing out of defence, an elementary pressure will unsettle you...
When your midfielders hardly present themselves for balls. I mean, you should have multiple options to bring the ball out... it has been a constant flaw... they hardly show for ball.

It a basic thing that could be coached at this level... what are so many of them doing hiding behind the Congolese players...

Its not the midfielders, or strikers. ITS THE COACH!

And I don't mean to get into blaming Keshi and all....but every serious manager develops a structure for playing out from the back, if that is ur game.

It is even redeveloped as the nature of the opponent decrees.

Go look at my discussion with coach on the Spurs v. Liverpool game.

Its not simply about 'showing for the ball'...That is elementary.

Its about who shows for the ball, where, when, and what and where do the others do...

Its not an individual thing, but a team play...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Spicyee wrote:
Oloye, even you?
Na fans like you dey make NFF continue to do as like dis...

You seem to think if dem hire Low or any world class coach that he will fix our problems?

Our problems is beyond coaching and personnel...

And until we all collectively focus on addressing the main problem, any coach you put into that setup will look incompetent as heck.

You now see why I didn't bother dwelling on this game...Na to blame the coaches and players get some people...Anyway as for me and my house we have moved on to the next game...

asabatex

Post by asabatex »

:( :( :(

Cell,

Its not the midfielders, or strikers. ITS THE COACH!

And I don't mean to get into blaming Keshi and all....but every serious manager develops a structure for playing out from the back, if that is ur game.

It is even redeveloped as the nature of the opponent decrees.

Go look at my discussion with coach on the Spurs v. Liverpool game.

Its not simply about 'showing for the ball'...That is elementary.

Its about who shows for the ball, where, when, and what and where do the others do...

Its not an individual thing, but a team play...
I agree with you...

I was pointing out that it manifests itself in the (in)ability to show for the ball...

You did see where i said it could be coached?