Page 2 of 2

Re: Embed a tweet or an Instagram in your post

Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 9:05 pm
by juventuss
AreaDaddy wrote:The twitter insert code has stopped working!
AreaDaddy,
here is the code I used

Tweet Link:

BBCode:[tweet ]679751223281582080[ /tweet] :- with no Spaces

Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 12:29 pm
by AreaDaddy
Juve thanks for responding. It turns out it is a browser problem. When I use Firefox the embedded tweet doesn't show, but it works for chrome.

Posted: Sat Feb 06, 2016 8:02 pm
by Cristao II
Funny on my chrome, I can see instagram but cant see tweets. I still cant see tweets. Could my board view selection be the problem?

Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 10:54 pm
by Toxicarrow
AreaDaddy wrote:Juve thanks for responding. It turns out it is a browser problem. When I use Firefox the embedded tweet doesn't show, but it works for chrome.
I am having the same problem. With Firefox on mac, the tweet does not show. But on PC, everything is fine.

Posted: Sat May 13, 2017 4:03 am
by Man Ataye
This is still on?????

Posted: Thu May 10, 2018 10:02 pm
by 1naija
I see health care workers are trying hard to change the subject. I think they are the ones to blame for our poor hospitals.

Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:50 pm
by DIMKA76

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:43 pm
by maceo4
[instagram]https://www.instagram.com/p/BsLGe8LFZXy[/instagram]

Embedding Instagram posts doesn’t work anymore.

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2019 10:05 pm
by cchinukw
maceo4 wrote:[instagram]https://www.instagram.com/p/BsLGe8LFZXy[/instagram]

Embedding Instagram posts doesn’t work anymore.
Same here.

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:42 pm
by Enugu II
It did not work for me as well. What are options for posting a tweet?

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 7:16 pm
by cchinukw
Embedded tweets do not appear to be working.

When they do at all there is a bit of latency before they appear.

Not sure if anyone else has the same issue viewing tweets that they posted.

Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2020 4:11 pm
by ohsee
cchinukw wrote:Embedded tweets do not appear to be working.

When they do at all there is a bit of latency before they appear.

Not sure if anyone else has the same issue viewing tweets that they posted.
I have a problem viewing tweets on Chrome. I don't have a problem on explorer, but whenever I click on explorer, I get a warning that CE is full of malicious urls (no surprise there :lol: ) How can I get to see tweets on Chrome?

Re: Embed a tweet in your post

Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 11:50 pm
by Kabalega
juventuss wrote:

For instagram,
Step 1: Click on 3 dots
Step 2: select view photo page and copy url
Step 3: click instagram tag
Step 4: Paste url
Step 5: gloat
This is not working. Looks like they changed the menu options.
But even copying link, or going to post and copying the URL do not work.

Embedding additional media content

Posted: Sat Jun 19, 2021 6:57 pm
by juventuss
For the most part, you can now directly embed videos in your post by pasting the link to the video. You can do this across multiple media sources from Youtube, Spotify, BBC, Vimeo, Vevo, TED, Wall Street Journal, NBCSN, etc. There might be limitations applied from the video source such as regional or account access limitations. If you have a prior video post that isn't displaying properly, go ahead and edit the post and remove the video tags.

Re: Embedding additional media content

Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2021 9:06 am
by Damunk
Absolutely brilliant!
Well done technical team!
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Any progress with Instagram?

Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2021 1:13 pm
by sinequanon
Good stuff! Good Admin!

The [media] tag is not working in signatures, however. You get..

Edit signature
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 500 character limit.

You cannot use certain BBCodes: [media].

(Which is odd, since it doesn't give a similar message for [tweet] or [instagram])

Posted: Sun Jun 27, 2021 3:01 pm
by camex
For the youtube videos. There are no longer links otpions ? To post I had to write the script.

Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2021 11:52 am
by sinequanon
camex wrote: Sun Jun 27, 2021 3:01 pm For the youtube videos. There are no longer links otpions ? To post I had to write the script.
Use the media embed button (left of instagram).

Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2022 7:46 am
by Kabalega
sinequanon wrote: Mon Jun 28, 2021 11:52 am
camex wrote: Sun Jun 27, 2021 3:01 pm For the youtube videos. There are no longer links otpions ? To post I had to write the script.
There is no need for tags for YouTube. Posting a plain link, works fine.
The media tag seems to do some tracking.

Copying tweets often adds a space at the beginning which doesn't work with the tweet tag.
Instagram doesn't seem to work. But I'll keep trying.

Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2022 2:32 pm
by sinequanon
Kabalega wrote: Sun Feb 27, 2022 7:46 am

Copying tweets often adds a space at the beginning which doesn't work with the tweet tag.
I think that this is why it is better to use tags. Leaving it to auto-detect is obviously open to more possible problems. If the auto-detect algorithm changes, it can potentially break all your links that are not tagged.

Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2022 2:56 pm
by Kabalega
sinequanon wrote: Sun Feb 27, 2022 2:32 pm
Kabalega wrote: Sun Feb 27, 2022 7:46 am

I think that this is why it is better to use tags. Leaving it to auto-detect is obviously open to more possible problems. If the auto-detect algorithm changes, it can potentially break all your links that are not tagged.
Good point.
I didn't consider that.

Re: Embed a tweet or an Instagram in your post - 2021 update!

Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2023 2:06 am
by The YeyeMan
If you're posting Twitter posts just change the "x.com" part of the URL to "twitter.com" in order for the post to be displayed.