Page 2 of 3

Re: Soccernet - Why Is The Prem Failing In Europe?

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 1:09 am
by txj
Its the result of a lack of tactical substance in the EPL, a point i have made here for years.

I'm a Liverpool fan, but it was obvious going back to last season that as exciting as its football was, it lacked sustainability. There is no top league in europe that you can finish in the top four displaying the kind of tactical imbalance Liverpool paraded the entire season.

U can only get away with such falacy in the PL. Today Chelsea is being hailed as the next best thing since sliced bread, based on a recycled footballing model...

There is more tactical substance in a Getafe v Sevilla than a top four game in the PL.

Those who doubt me should watch the performance of Eibar in Spain or Munchenglabach in Germany...

Arnold Schwaznegger at his prime was a box office monster. But nobody in his right mind would discuss Arnold wrt the Oscars! Heck, he wont even be invited to see others recieve awards :rotf:

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:16 am
by Globero
txj that is not fair, Chuck Norris & Van Damme sef no dey win awards nau ! :sneaky:

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:24 am
by anointed
YUJAM wrote:
anointed wrote:So what about Serie A, La Ligue etc clubs?
Read the article :-)
Answer the question.

Serie A clubs used to dominate Europe. So why is the article not about Serie A clubs?

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 3:57 am
by The real deal
A certain tfco used to mock LaLiga as No defence league....makes me laugh...... The fraud of a coach, mourinho caused so much disruption in that league he took the Spanish national team down with him by setting Madrid players against Barca..... He then hired Simeone Atleti Madrid players who headbutted him in Champ league to his next project........Diego costa can't stop scoring in the same yeye league...2 hattricks within 8 wks.....wonder where tfco is now......
The BIGGEST stars of your yeye EPL were brought from NDL of last year
Fabregas that most Blaugranas sees as second rate is the best thing in EPL now.....makes me laugh

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 4:21 am
Espn is just mad cos they lost the contract to nbc

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 4:28 am
by YUJAM
anointed wrote:
YUJAM wrote:
Answer the question.

Serie A clubs used to dominate Europe. So why is the article not about Serie A clubs?
What kind of yeye question is that? C'mon now you can do better.

Anyway I didn't write the article. I just shared it

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 6:31 am
by anointed
YUJAM wrote:
anointed wrote:
YUJAM wrote:
Answer the question.

What kind of yeye question is that? C'mon now you can do better.

Anyway I didn't write the article. I just shared it
What kind of flip flopping is this? You first tongue lashed me only to come and disclaim the article?

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 8:28 am
by Coach
@Tx, Liverpool hunted in packs last season which gave them the facade of being a skilled predator. This season, those very fangs have proven blunt thus far, largely a consequence of the peg's squaring.

In respect to the EPL, t'is a lack of variation that underpins their failure. Arsenal play every team like every team, City the same. Chelsea embrace a culture of caution irrespective of the opposition and though perhaps the most likely to cover the most yardage of the English sides, may come acropper against sides that play the Chelsea way better or simply bishbosh their rearguard to smithereens. Ironically, none of the teams play the stereotypically English way and thus this cannot be blames on the cultures of the land rather a bootleg continentalism, shoddy, cheap and made im Taiwan.

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:13 pm
by wale1974
Bigpokey24 wrote:Espn is just mad cos they lost the contract to nbc
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:16 pm
by wale1974
The real deal wrote:A certain tfco used to mock LaLiga as No defence league....makes me laugh...... The fraud of a coach, mourinho caused so much disruption in that league he took the Spanish national team down with him by setting Madrid players against Barca..... He then hired Simeone Atleti Madrid players who headbutted him in Champ league to his next project........Diego costa can't stop scoring in the same yeye league...2 hattricks within 8 wks.....wonder where tfco is now......
Fabregas that most Blaugranas sees as second rate is the best thing in EPL now.....makes me laugh
What about Moreno and Manquillo :roll: :roll: :roll:

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:42 pm
by Coach
^and the biggest stars of La Liga were brought from Onitsha main market.

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:49 pm
by oloye
It is amazing how people always jump on some hysteria and start typing away on their keyboard. Strange people are saying EPL teams are not tactical enough, wao...i guess Pellegrini is a tactical muppet, so also the so called acclaimed tactical genius called Le Prof Wenger. Perhaps a thorough analysis of the clubs representing the EPL will help rather than the lazy analysis being peddled as the gospel truth.

Someone was shouting that Roma was the real deal even when i was saying that Serie A now lags behind in Europe, the same Roma has been shown not to belong, SerieA clubs have been shown not to be up to par so far a trend that has been in place for almost 4 seasons now. It has taken La Liga how many years to get the third club to join them at the top of Europe, while Serie A has become the grounds for tactical genius wannabee who get trashed silly in Europe.

There are many reasons why the EPL is failing in Europe, and we have to look at each season and each club carefully to arrive at any meaningful conclusion. As far as this season is concerned Liverpool is not ready for europe, the results of last season was deceiving , and all that deceipt should have become obvious with the departure of Suarez and the mass purchase of poor players by a team that is still trying to build. They are struggling on home front due to many reasons, it would be pure magic for them not to struggle in Europe.

Trying to explain why Man City is struggling in Europe is an attempt at trying to throw solution at something just for the sake of it. Are we saying they do not have the players or the Manager to do the job? Even the likes of Olympiacos are faring better. There is something fundamentally wrong with Man City, with the manner of players they have and the manager, they should be able to win matches at least on their home ground.

As for Arsenal , ok...someone tell me they are coming short because of tactics...please do and help make my day. Arsenal's problem resides with one man Wenger, it is not that they are tactically inferior to other teams in Europe, the truth is , the team set up is flawed structurally...the same mentality that has plagued them from winning the league is the same affecting them in Europe. They have been consistent in europe, but they do not have any impressive or intimidating record in europe, so what is the fuss about. They do just enough to represent their league and they do it well enough taking important scalps along the way.

That leaves Chelsea..strange some comedian tried to rubbish Jose's time at Madrid, conveniently forgetting that it was when he got to Real that they made the semi of Champions league after an unhealthy pause. Of all the EPL teams in Europe this year, Chelsea is the only team got it's house in order with a view of doing something in Europe. But for some reason they still do not look the part, not because of any technical frailty as people are quick to chorus.

There is the need to look more closely at the nature of each league and their domestic competitions more closely, it will tell some more stories.

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 3:27 pm
by Coach
@Oloye, vs. CSKA par exemple, Man City used a 4-4-2, with Jovetic supposedly dropping deep, Milner and Navas providing the width, with Toure breaking from deep. Tactically, it was as balanced as the fat tart on the seesaw. Navas never tracked back, Jovetic was positionally inept. Milner came inside all too often, Clichy crossed pathetically from deep and Zabaleta was caught between overlapping and staying put. The backline had no shape, the frontline pretty much the same. Who was supposed to create the space for Toure to run into, other than himself. It made no sense playing Jovetic in such a framework. Dzeko would've helped push the centrebacks deep allowing more space for Toure. Twas all too easy for CSKA to defend against and they countered well due to the porosity of the midfield, Jovetic in that instance, not dropping deep enough. City were a mess, a tactical mess, wrong player choices, wrong tactical allignment, absolute garbage.

On to Arsenal, Beloved, pouring forward three goals to the good, no thought for defensive shape, tactical naivety.

Agreed certain teams are trying to cut mustard with teaspoons, but, again, when theres precious little thought at repelling the opposition and overemphasis on one's own game, theres a who sea of tactical thought uncharted.

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 3:40 pm
by oloye
Coach wrote:@Oloye, vs. CSKA par exemple, Man City used a 4-4-2, with Jovetic supposedly dropping deep, Milner and Navas providing the width, with Toure breaking from deep. Tactically, it was as balanced as the fat tart on the seesaw. Navas never tracked back, Jovetic was positionally inept. Milner came inside all too often, Clichy crossed pathetically from deep and Zabaleta was caught between overlapping and staying put. The backline had no shape, the frontline pretty much the same. Who was supposed to create the space for Toure to run into, other than himself. It made no sense playing Jovetic in such a framework. Dzeko would've helped push the centrebacks deep allowing more space for Toure. Twas all too easy for CSKA to defend against and they countered well due to the porosity of the midfield, Jovetic in that instance, not dropping deep enough. City were a mess, a tactical mess, wrong player choices, wrong tactical allignment, absolute garbage.

On to Arsenal, Beloved, pouring forward three goals to the good, no thought for defensive shape, tactical naivety.

Agreed certain teams are trying to cut mustard with teaspoons, but, again, when theres precious little thought at repelling the opposition and overemphasis on one's own game, theres a who sea of tactical thought uncharted.
So i ask the question were the duo of Wenger and Pellegrini tactically inept? It can be said in the case of Arsenal that their lack of right players to close shop has been their downfall since Osuofia came to London and returned home. As for Man City, the points you highlighted has more to do with the indicipline of the players than the tactical application.

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 3:46 pm
by Coach
Both managers, when the time came for tactical consideration, choked more than those pigeons fed agege bread at Trafalgar Square by Mazi Osuofia!

Posted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:49 am
by benteke
There is a big possibility that the Champions League & Europa will be won by English Premier League teams, thereby blowing all these theories into a dustbin :taunt: :thumbs:

Posted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:07 am
by kofi86
benteke wrote:There is a big possibility that the Champions League & Europa will be won by English Premier League teams, thereby blowing all these theories into a dustbin :taunt: :thumbs:
I would not call it big, but the worst could be behind the EPL. I really want to see Pool next year, Klopp might force the other teams to wake up from their slumber in order compete (as Bayern had to do).

Posted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:14 pm
by kajifu
The real deal wrote:A certain tfco used to mock LaLiga as No defence league....makes me laugh...... The fraud of a coach, mourinho caused so much disruption in that league he took the Spanish national team down with him by setting Madrid players against Barca..... He then hired Simeone Atleti Madrid players who headbutted him in Champ league to his next project........Diego costa can't stop scoring in the same yeye league...2 hattricks within 8 wks.....wonder where tfco is now......
So how is the biggest stars from NDL doing this year,i mean Fabregas is playing in mid table team,he has soend more time this season fighting in the bottom of the league.How is big stars Pedro doing?How many goals Costa has this season?
Was any of them listed in the EPL player of the year?Stars my yash

Posted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 11:12 pm
This thread has failed :rotf: oh my egg on face

Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 12:38 am
by tfco
So how is the biggest stars from NDL doing this year,i mean Fabregas is playing in mid table team,he has soend more time this season fighting in the bottom of the league.How is big stars Pedro doing?How many goals Costa has this season?

why do you even bother

When Espana won the WC, the NDL groupies were all praising the league
When 5PA1N was getting spanked silly in WC2014 these jokers were quiet.

The best league is showing this season that if you (City, Arse, United, Chelsea) do not get your act together, another team (Leicester, Spurs) will overtake you

Next season will be a very very tough season to predict the Top 4
City, Arse, United, Chelsea, Spurs, Leicester, WHU, Pool will all be Top 8

AFCON 2017 go sweet o
DNQ no good o

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:31 pm
by nemi2002

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:38 pm

why do you even bother

When Espana won the WC, the NDL groupies were all praising the league
When 5PA1N was getting spanked silly in WC2014 these jokers were quiet.

The best league is showing this season that if you (City, Arse, United, Chelsea) do not get your act together, another team (Leicester, Spurs) will overtake you

Next season will be a very very tough season to predict the Top 4
City, Arse, United, Chelsea, Spurs, Leicester, WHU, Pool will all be Top 8

AFCON 2017 go sweet o
DNQ no good o
the league will be very difficult next season, but i pick City as the favorites, You are going to have Klop, Pep, Conte, Wenger, Poche, Ranieri, Bilic, (LVG or Jose) and maybe Rafa.... oh my e go hard no be small

Posted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 11:06 pm
by benteke
kofi86 wrote:
I would not call it big, but the worst could be behind the EPL. I really want to see Pool next year, Klopp might force the other teams to wake up from their slumber in order compete (as Bayern had to do).
With 5 EPL teams in Champions League this time and all doing decently in their groups, i think we might be seeing a couple of them in the latter stages of the competition this season.
EPL might be clawing it's way back.