Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Re: Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

:boo: :boo: :boo: :boo:

United fans: "let's recruit from the academy...t worked 20 years ago"

Frankie de Jong

man united what are we wating for? i hear PSG are in the forefront to sign this talented player, he reminds me of Iniesta, so easy on the ball and his skills, transfer fee easily in the region of 80-100M, especially coming from the Ajax school of total football!

Good replacement for matic

Re: Frankie de Jong

marko wrote:

man united what are we wating for? i hear PSG are in the forefront to sign this talented player, he reminds me of Iniesta, so easy on the ball and his skills, transfer fee easily in the region of 80-100M, especially coming from the Ajax school of total football!

Watched him play for Holland against France (I think) and immediately noticed his quality. He makes the game look so easy for one so young.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

marko wrote:

I dont think you have ever watched Frankie.

marko wrote:

i don't think we will sign anyone this window.

OGS said he's happy with the squad.

marko wrote:

Even worse he is just hearing of him. Can United compete financially vs PSG?

Cristao II wrote:
marko wrote:

Man utd can never compete with any club owned by a country! Qatar sovereign funds! they have unlimited state funds, with the amounts they have spent, PSG need to be winning champions league!

marko wrote: Man utd can never compete with any club owned by a country! Qatar sovereign funds! they have unlimited state funds, with the amounts they have spent, PSG need to be winning champions league!
yes we can.
United can spend 200MM this January window and not blink. We are underspending and being cheap.

Woodward is there to make the Glazers money and broaden the fanbase/brand
that is what you do not understand

winning trophies is not a priority as long as the brand attracts sponsors and makes the Glazers money

We have spent some money but on the pitch and poor coaching, returns on investment visibly poor!
400M is certainly a lot of money by football standards

marko wrote:We have spent some money but on the pitch and poor coaching, returns on investment visibly poor!
400M is certainly a lot of money by football standards
it is not!!!

gosh, is it your money? The Glazers are underspending.
22% of revenue is spent, THE AVERAGE IS 30%

smh, what part of that is flying over your head????????????????

marko wrote:
Cristao II wrote:
marko wrote:

Man utd can never compete with any club owned by a country! Qatar sovereign funds! they have unlimited state funds, with the amounts they have spent, PSG need to be winning champions league!
I thought Ed Woodward said "We can do what other teams can only dream of?" :D

marko wrote: Man utd can never compete with any club owned by a country! Qatar sovereign funds! they have unlimited state funds, with the amounts they have spent, PSG need to be winning champions league!
I thought Ed Woodward said "We can do what other teams can only dream of?" :D
no mind am

he gets his news from metro.co.uk.
This is MAN F/G UNITED, not West Ham

We should be looking at spending 100M on a WC target...look how much Liverpool spent on VVD, 12 months ago

:agree: :agree: :agree: :agree:

marko logic: let's look at the academy...we can get someone from the U15s

Money does not always solve the problem! Liverpool conceed 3 goals With the millions spenat on defence, the won because the have world class strikers

Yes we so need additional resources in central defence and right side, agreed

marko wrote:Money does not always solve the problem! Liverpool conceed 3 goals With the millions spenat on defence, the won because the have world class strikers

well then OGS should look to the U23 for the central defender we desperately need...so said Ed Woodward.

There's a reason Liverpool has conceded 13 goals to date.

It goes back to 12 months ago....hmm, wonder what that was.
Lovren, Matip, Klavan, Moreno, TAA???

hmm, i don't remember. please remind me abeg. I'm sure it was the free transfer from Soton in Jan 2018

marko wrote:Money does not always solve the problem! Liverpool conceed 3 goals With the millions spenat on defence, the won because the have world class strikers

well then OGS should look to the U23 for the central defender we desperately need...so said Ed Woodward.

hmm, i don't remember. please remind me abeg. I'm sure it was the free transfer from Soton in Jan 2018
we need some back up, not just spending on anyone! if we have to wait for the likes of Koulibaly, then its worth the wait, maybe our targets, their clubs are not willing to let go! meanwhile, OGS has to continue getting 150% from the players till the end of the season, I do hope we can get in a player that can do a decent job, if only Fred was up for it, that would have solved some issues in central defence

marko wrote:

we need some back up, not just spending on anyone! if we have to wait for the likes of Koulibaly, then its worth the wait, maybe our targets, their clubs are not willing to let go! meanwhile, OGS has to continue getting 150% from the players till the end of the season, I do hope we can get in a player that can do a decent job, if only Fred was up for it, that would have solved some issues in central defence
Fred? Central Defence?

i don't think Fred was bought with that in mind

Let me break it down to you in simple English, you don't seem to understand what i have written so far

MANCHESTER UNITED NEEDS A CENTRAL DEFENDER. ASAP

What if clubs are not willing to sell? My bad about Fred, was meaning to say central midfield, not really turned out how we expected of him, what if we get a CB and they dont play well at the start? Then what?
If Napoli are not willing to sell Koulibaly, then what to do?

marko wrote:What if clubs are not willing to sell? My bad about Fred, was meaning to say central midfield, not really turned out how we expected of him, what if we get a CB and they dont play well at the start? Then what?
If Napoli are not willing to sell Koulibaly, then what to do?
what if VVD doesn't turn out well for Pool; they will leak goals

what if...duh, how do you find out if someone will work.

what do we have a coach for?

anyway all this is talks...i am sure OGS has seen the need for a CD

i trust Ed to do the needful

Yes we need a CB! The subs today were a bit strange, thought Mata? Slow as a tortoise, the game needed sanchez to put pressure on their defence, well it was 3 points

marko wrote:Yes we need a CB! The subs today were a bit strange, thought Mata? Slow as a tortoise, the game needed sanchez to put pressure on their defence, well it was 3 points
TBH i wanted sanchez and perhaps a replacement for phil jones.

lowkey, phil jones has had a few good games, but he's always the whipping boy when he does ONE mistake
unpopular opinion but The Big Fella would have been good for the final 10-15 mins

I think another player has just thrown himself into the DM mixer. Ruben Neves has been doing an excellent Xabi Alonso impersonation for Wolves during the past 1-2 years. He is not the quickest or biggest but that lad know hows to pick a pass from deep midfield. Man Utd have been sorely lacking a regista since Carrick and Scholes retired. Worth bidding for him and Rabiot (has he or has not signed for Barcelona already?!).

wiseone wrote:With 2 transfer windows coming in the next 6 months, which areas of squad need strengthening? I think the key areas are FB, CD, CM, and a winger.

FB: Sidibe (plus Shaw, Dalot, and TFM to come back from loan - the FB positions should be good for the foreseeable future).

CD: De Ligt (stop going for injury prone or about to hit 30 defenders like Boateng and Toby). Get a youngin.

CM: Ideally this is a position that Man Utd should never even have been trying to recruit for. The losses to Liverpool and Man City demonstrated that the team are lacking a technically adept CM who is comfortable holding the ball when being manically pressed deep in his own half by the opposition (AKA they have not replaced Carrick or Scholes). Man Utd absorb a lot of pressure because when they are pressed, they do not have anyone comfortable enough on the ball to turn away and play passes in tight areas under pressure to move the team 25-40 yards up the pitch. They had such a player in Daley Blind but then sold him back to Ajax in another one of the boneheaded transfer decisions of recent times. Blind or Pereira could do that job but they might need another midfielder (Savic or Rabiot?).

Winger: is it true that Dembele is unsettled at Barca? If so - get him. If not, then go for Sancho at Dortmund (who we know are a selling club and let their stars leave if the price is right).

Out: Tony V, Rojo (too wild and reckless - makes Bailly look steady), Lindelof (still not convinced by him), Wilson. Send Dalot out on loan to get experience, and bring TFM and Tuanzebe back from loan.
marko wrote:Rashford is coming good, with good coaching, sky the limit