Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Re: Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

I feel for Phil Jones. I think all the flak from fans is starting to get to him. Easy to forget he has been at the club nearly 8 years. An interviewer asked him about a testimonial. He replied that if that ever happened, he was so unpopular that only his mum and dad would show up!

http://www.sportbible.com/football/funn ... l-20190316

marko wrote:Pogba should wait till the end of the season to see what the board invest in terms of new players, if the board are interested in raking in the money rather than win titles, why should Pogba stay at united?
:shock:
is this a revelation that you have just stumbled upon

OR

you are just guessing?

lemme give you a hint or two: De Gea contract has not been renewed, the Director of Football talk has died down, we have renewed Smalling, Jones, Mata, McTominay (world class players that could win us trophies)
Marko is like that kid who goes to school on Public Holiday and only realizes that the school is closed for the day, after the school gate man informs him that "nobody is inside." :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Van Gaal was interviewed by Simon Stone of BBC, and he had some interesting stuff to say, I chose a few quotes pasted below that i found quite worthwhile.
Link to interview: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co ... l/47704834

The media do not analyse the game," he says. "They analyse the result."

Which brings us to Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

"People think we have only had fake news since Donald Trump became president. In football we have had it for 50 years," says Van Gaal.

"The coach after me [Mourinho] changed to park-the-bus tactics and played on the counter. Now there is another coach who parks the bus and plays on the counter. The main difference between Mourinho and Solskjaer is that Solskjaer is winning.

"I am not there but there does look to be a change and the atmosphere seems to be better. It is also true that Solskjaer has changed Paul Pogba's position and put him into an area where he is much more important.

"But the way Manchester United are playing now is not the way Ferguson played. It is defensive, counter-attacking football. If you like it, you like it. If you think it is more exciting than my boring attacking, OK. But it is not my truth.

"Solskjaer has just lost twice and he has to manage that. It is very important that Manchester United qualifies for the Champions League, as it was when I was manager. But they can also win the Champions League because they play a defensive system and it is very difficult to beat them, which, whether you like it or not, is the result of Mourinho's work."
In the aftermath of Mourinho's exit, United sources stated clearly the appointment of a technical director was on the agenda, in addition to a new manager.

At present, nothing has changed from Van Gaal's time, with Woodward in overall charge and Matt Judge, who has a masters degree in economics and finance and 13 years' experience in investment banking, negotiating fees and contracts. United are adamant their priority is the football side and success on pitch is the objective for everyone at the club. Van Gaal does not agree.

"At the moment there is a structure with a scouting division and above that is someone at Woodward's right hand. The structure is not so bad but the right hand has to be a technical director with a football view, not somebody with a banker's role," Van Gaal says.

"Unfortunately, we are talking about a commercial club, not a football club. I spoke to Ferguson about this and in his last years, he also had problems with it."

benteke wrote:Van Gaal was interviewed by Simon Stone of BBC, and he had some interesting stuff to say, I chose a few quotes pasted below that i found quite worthwhile.
Link to interview: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co ... l/47704834

The media do not analyse the game," he says. "They analyse the result."

Which brings us to Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

"People think we have only had fake news since Donald Trump became president. In football we have had it for 50 years," says Van Gaal.

"The coach after me [Mourinho] changed to park-the-bus tactics and played on the counter. Now there is another coach who parks the bus and plays on the counter. The main difference between Mourinho and Solskjaer is that Solskjaer is winning.

"I am not there but there does look to be a change and the atmosphere seems to be better. It is also true that Solskjaer has changed Paul Pogba's position and put him into an area where he is much more important.

"But the way Manchester United are playing now is not the way Ferguson played. It is defensive, counter-attacking football. If you like it, you like it. If you think it is more exciting than my boring attacking, OK. But it is not my truth.

"Solskjaer has just lost twice and he has to manage that. It is very important that Manchester United qualifies for the Champions League, as it was when I was manager. But they can also win the Champions League because they play a defensive system and it is very difficult to beat them, which, whether you like it or not, is the result of Mourinho's work."
In the aftermath of Mourinho's exit, United sources stated clearly the appointment of a technical director was on the agenda, in addition to a new manager.

At present, nothing has changed from Van Gaal's time, with Woodward in overall charge and Matt Judge, who has a masters degree in economics and finance and 13 years' experience in investment banking, negotiating fees and contracts. United are adamant their priority is the football side and success on pitch is the objective for everyone at the club. Van Gaal does not agree.

"At the moment there is a structure with a scouting division and above that is someone at Woodward's right hand. The structure is not so bad but the right hand has to be a technical director with a football view, not somebody with a banker's role," Van Gaal says.

"Unfortunately, we are talking about a commercial club, not a football club. I spoke to Ferguson about this and in his last years, he also had problems with it."
some element of truth to what Van gaal says!

The part about Ferguson having a problem with the over-commercialisation of the club is really illuminating. Cantona also cited it as a reason why he retired in frustration.

You have to win trophies to build your brand, we need to spend at least 300 million to bring in new players

Rabiot - free
Sancho - doubt Dortmund would let him go for less than 90 million
Sidibe, AWB or Hakimi - 30-50 million
Neves (if Herrera leaves) - 50-60 million
marko wrote:You have to win trophies to build your brand, we need to spend at least 300 million to bring in new players

Another thing that Van Gaal mentioned is that Falcao was like his 4/5 choice striker and he had to accept it and advise for a loan deal.
Another sign of why Van Gaal and Mourinho talk about the structure of United a lot.
I think even Moyes made a mention of this.

And when people mention how much LVG or Mourinho spent, it's good to note that they didn't negotiate the overpriced transfer fees that are used to criticize them.

The technical director point makes more and more sense.

Ole Gunnar confirmed as permanent manager.

There is one thing to appoint Ole Gunnar as the coach, its another thing to back and support him, that we will find out unless we will be back to square one! we need major signings, we need to let go of dead wood, we will need at least 4-5 players to challenge for top honours, we need to priotize which means in this form, Premiership, champions league, FA cup and carabao cup, for the lesser cup games, just use the academy players and let them make mistakes and lose, thats how they learn

marko wrote:You have to win trophies to build your brand, we need to spend at least 300 million to bring in new players

there's some truth to that, but in this social media age, i disagree with you

We are already the top brand in football

The sponsors and brand enhancement seem to be Ed's priorities, over winning trophies

I would be very surprised if he hire a DOF...very

benteke wrote:Another thing that Van Gaal mentioned is that Falcao was like his 4/5 choice striker and he had to accept it and advise for a loan deal.
Another sign of why Van Gaal and Mourinho talk about the structure of United a lot.

And when people mention how much LVG or Mourinho spent, it's good to note that they didn't negotiate the overpriced transfer fees that are used to criticize them.

abeg, say it louder for people like marko

LVG made 2 mistakes in my book: sold off too many players, was too hung up on possession without scoring (lowest Goals Scored in a campaign...49 goals)

Jose made 1 major mistake: did not realize that MUFC is more into branding and commercialization than winning trophies

benteke wrote:Another thing that Van Gaal mentioned is that Falcao was like his 4/5 choice striker and he had to accept it and advise for a loan deal.

LVG made 2 mistakes in my book: sold off too many players, was too hung up on possession without scoring (lowest Goals Scored in a campaign...49 goals)

Jose made 1 major mistake: did not realize that MUFC is more into branding and commercialization than winning trophies
:mrgreen: Please tell us some of Jose's minor mistakes.

Looks like Tuanzebe may go on loan to Villa for a third successive season: https://www.hitc.com/en-gb/2019/03/26/r ... zebe-back/

He was loaned to them for half of last season, and has been there all of this season. He shines every time he plays (admittedly not often due to injury!), but has had so many injuries that he has played only 26 games for them in that time! Good talent, but I hope he is not another injury prone Man Utd defender in the long and distinguished Rio, da Silva Twins, Evans, Jones, Rojo, Shaw, Smalling tradition.

YemiBrazil wrote:

:mrgreen: Please tell us some of Jose's minor mistakes.
there were none

[TBL] Man United (1-0) Watford [Oloye's Boy]

one team i always want us to beat..and beat well well

because of troy deeney
Last edited by tfco on Sat Mar 30, 2019 4:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: [TBL] Man United (0-0) Watford

Watford being extremely wasteful. They have had opportunities and chances but wasted them. I see United winning this game.

Team A...verging more towards A- or even closer to Team B

Martial dive ...

Rashford! Assist by Shaw

As predicted.

hmmm, that looked like a PK

foul on Martial

tfco wrote:hmmm, that looked like a PK

foul on Martial
No way a foul. He went down too easily