Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Re: Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

So we have simultaneously become the richest, and most indebted, club in the world: http://edition.cnn.com/2017/06/06/footb ... index.html

wiseone wrote:So we have simultaneously become the richest, and most indebted, club in the world: http://edition.cnn.com/2017/06/06/footb ... index.html
It is my understanding that the debt is kept at a certain level deliberately in order to get some tax breaks elsewhere and what not.
Don't know how it works with interests etc.
They say it's a different kind of capitalism, otherwise they could have strived to pay back the full debt at once if it was really detrimental.

I do not know which kind of tax breaks justify keeping nearly half a billion of debt on the club. The debt increased 25% in the last year alone, and nearly equals this year's record breaking profits of over 500 million. Man Utd debt is more than 200 million greater than Europe's next most indebted club (Benfica).

"While debt levels across the continent have decreased each year for the past five years - something Uefa puts down to its financial fair play regulations - United's has grown by 25 per cent in the past year alone."

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/manch ... 23761.html
benteke wrote:
wiseone wrote:So we have simultaneously become the richest, and most indebted, club in the world: http://edition.cnn.com/2017/06/06/footb ... index.html
It is my understanding that the debt is kept at a certain level deliberately in order to get some tax breaks elsewhere and what not.
They say it's a different kind of capitalism, otherwise they could have strived to pay back the full debt at once if it was really detrimental.

wiseone wrote:I do not know which kind of tax breaks justify keeping nearly half a billion of debt on the club. The debt increased 25% in the last year alone, and nearly equals this year's record breaking profits of over 500 million. Man Utd debt is more than 200 million greater than Europe's next most indebted club (Benfica).

"While debt levels across the continent have decreased each year for the past five years - something Uefa puts down to its financial fair play regulations - United's has grown by 25 per cent in the past year alone."

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/manch ... 23761.html
benteke wrote:
Remember the debt has always been around that level ever since the Glazers did their leveraged buyout.
It was around £500million in 2005, which sounds a lot scarier than 500million in 2017 due to inflation reasons.
The debt actually reached around 700million in 2010

That may be one reason to explain Fergie not spending after Ronaldo was sold.

Manchester United unlikely to offer Zlatan Ibrahimovic a new contract at Old Trafford, according to Sky sources.

benteke wrote:Manchester United unlikely to offer Zlatan Ibrahimovic a new contract at Old Trafford, according to Sky sources.
Football is a biatch..before the injury they were begfing him to extend his stay......

benteke wrote:Manchester United unlikely to offer Zlatan Ibrahimovic a new contract at Old Trafford, according to Sky sources.
Football is a biatch..before the injury they were begfing him to extend his stay......
I have mixed feelings.
Zlatan indeed helped United win the League Cup.
And United's season was trundling along when he was fit and scoring, once he got injured i suspected that finishing in the top 4 was over.
He was unlucky, but i don't think he was ever a long term solution, due to his age.

I hope Conte sends a text message to Ibra. :)

westfulham

Post by westfulham »

It's a shame they finished sixth place with their budget.

Zlatan is not the answer man united needs, we need a long term solution

Zlatan released! :arrow: :scared: Movic is expected to miss the first five months of the season recovering from knee surgery, and with no prospect of him being back to full fitness until January, José Mourinho has apparently agreed with the club's board that paying 300,000 pounds a week to renew the player's contract makes no financial sense :ohmy:

Senator WIRES wrote:Zlatan released! :arrow: :scared: Movic is expected to miss the first five months of the season recovering from knee surgery, and with no prospect of him being back to full fitness until January, José Mourinho has apparently agreed with the club's board that paying 300,000 pounds a week to renew the player's contract makes no financial sense :ohmy:

Apparently he will be allowed to make a full recovery with United, and may get an extension although that's unlikely.

The good news here is that this definitely means a new striker is coming :thumbs:
Don't know if that would be good news for Martial and Rashford though.

benteke wrote:
Senator WIRES wrote:Zlatan released! :arrow: :scared: Movic is expected to miss the first five months of the season recovering from knee surgery, and with no prospect of him being back to full fitness until January, José Mourinho has apparently agreed with the club's board that paying 300,000 pounds a week to renew the player's contract makes no financial sense :ohmy:

Apparently he will be allowed to make a full recovery with United, and may get an extension although that's unlikely.

The good news here is that this definitely means a new striker is coming :thumbs:

Morata @ 73M.

benteke wrote:

Morata @ 73M.

I will only believe this if it comes from danfo driver :taunt: :biggrin:

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Thank you Ibra.

conquered the best league a the grand old age of 33

tfco wrote::clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Thank you Ibra.

conquered the best league a the grand old age of 33

Victor Lindelof announced by United.

benteke wrote:

Morata @ 73M.

I will only believe this if it comes from danfo driver :taunt: :biggrin:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

A very reliable source says you guys have agreed the fee + personal terms for Morata, with his medical scheduled next week. He also claims you guys are trying to also buy Belotti (so, two strikers).

However, Mourinho usually uses Duncan Castles to leak news. And so far, Castles hasnt commented on any United transfers.He didnt even say zilch about Griezmann. its like he has been specifically told not to comment on anything. I wonder why.

benteke wrote:Victor Lindelof announced by United.
For the amount you guys are paying for him, its going to be a bloody steal! Van Dijk is being pursued by many for 60 million pounds, and United has secured this guy for 30 million pounds! Wow! Just like Bailly, I wonder what some clubs are doing rushing to pay overrated sums for players who have "famous names," while players who are actually better are out there.

Lindelof is a modern day CB. My favorite part of his game is that he is so good with the ball at his feet. He has excellent passing ability from the back. You watch him and forget he is a CB, because he passes like a number 10 :clap: :clap:.

Just a clip showing her good he is at his feet:
Last edited by danfo driver on Sun Jun 11, 2017 1:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Oh! Also keep an eye on Fabinho.

Lindelof joining Man Utd = the end of the road for Mike and/or Jonesy. Neither of them is a bad player, but their careers have been held back by their fragile bodies and inability to get through a run of games without breaking down. It has been like this for 6 years with those two.

Sentimentally perhaps, I was hoping Man U would bring Michael Keane back to the club. In a way he is a 'safer' option that Lindelof because Keane already knows the club, league, country, and city. He would have no issues fitting in and going back to the club and city where he grew up. It would be like a reunion for him to play alongside the guys he won youth trophies with like Pogba and Lingard, then rejoin other former team-mates like De Gea, Tony V, Carrick, Wazza, Young etc. No matter how good he is, we have no idea how a foreign player will adjust to moving (with his family?) to a new country where the weather, culture, food, and social life is totally alien to him. At least Keane would not have those issues.

Man U cleared in Pogba transfer deal.

http://kwese.espn.com/football/manchest ... e-juventus

Man United cleared over Pogba transfer; FIFA will investigate Juventus

Manchester United have been cleared of any wrongdoing over Paul Pogba's transfer but disciplinary proceedings have been opened against Juventus, FIFA have confirmed.

World football's governing body announced in May they had asked United and Juventus for clarification on all aspects of Pogba's £89.3 million move to Old Trafford last summer.

It came after reports the Frenchman's agent, Mino Raiola, will earn more £41 million from the world record deal.

ADVERTISEMENT

United insisted at the time they were relaxed about the investigation after supplying all the relevant documents when the transfer was completed in August.

FIFA have now confirmed they will face no further action.

However, disciplinary proceedings have been opened against Juventus. It is understood Raiola's agreement with the Serie A side could have breached third-party ownership rules.

If they are found guilty, the Italian champions, who also reached the Champions League final, could be hit with a punishment; possibilities range from a fine to a transfer ban.

A FIFA spokesman said: "We can confirm that disciplinary proceedings have been opened against Juventus FC. We cannot comment further as proceedings are ongoing. We can confirm that no disciplinary proceedings have been opened against Manchester United."

Pogba scored nine goals in 51 games last season after returning to Old Trafford from Juventus and led United to a Europa League and EFL Cup double. He had moved to Turin in 2012 after making just seven first-team appearances during his first spell at United.

wiseone wrote:Lindelof joining Man Utd = the end of the road for Mike and/or Jonesy. Neither of them is a bad player, but their careers have been held back by their fragile bodies and inability to get through a run of games without breaking down. It has been like this for 6 years with those two.

Sentimentally perhaps, I was hoping Man U would bring Michael Keane back to the club. In a way he is a 'safer' option that Lindelof because Keane already knows the club, league, country, and city. He would have no issues fitting in and going back to the club and city where he grew up. It would be like a reunion for him to play alongside the guys he won youth trophies with like Pogba and Lingard, then rejoin other former team-mates like De Gea, Tony V, Carrick, Wazza, Young etc. No matter how good he is, we have no idea how a foreign player will adjust to moving (with his family?) to a new country where the weather, culture, food, and social life is totally alien to him. At least Keane would not have those issues.
Michael Keane....another english hype! Had a good season at what club again? A kwe kwe club. It is easy to shine in those clubs if you are a keeper or defender.... Football has moved on past these english boys.