Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Re: Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Mata signed at a time when Man Utd were reigning champions and in the 2nd round of the Champions League. Di Maria's contract had an "out" clause allowing him to leave if the club failed to qualify for the CL. Bailly was signed from Villareal (not exactly a CL powerhouse)

The players I mentioned really were chased by Man Utd (not just tabloid rumour). These player pursuits were confirmed directly by the sources themselves (the players, LVG, and Moyes). If Griezman becomes available today, do you honestly think he would leave a club where he is a title contender and CL player every year to join a club in transition like Man Utd? Even if he wanted to leave he would go to Barca, Real, Bayern, or PSG before Man Utd.
YemiBrazil wrote:You missed the key word 'typically' and you somehow found a way to forget names like Pogba, Mata, Mikhi, Bailly and Di Maria on your list.
CRon example is irrelevant. Real Madrid was his childhood dream which he made clear from Day 1 and that's why he left a highly successful United at that point.
Again, this is business - if United had truly wanted some of those names it would have happened. There is a difference between media speculations planted by agents and actual transfer enquiry and negotiations. Mourinho identified 4 targets and got them all, it was not an accident.
Last edited by wiseone on Mon Feb 06, 2017 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wiseone wrote:Mata signed at a time when Man Utd were reigning champions and in the 2nd round of the Champions League. Di Maria's contract had an "out" clause allowing him to leave if the club failed to qualify for the CL. Bailly was signed from Villareal (not exactly a CL powerhouse)

The players I mentioned really were chased by Man Utd (not just tabloid rumour). These player pursuits were confirmed directly by the sources themselves (the players, LVG, and Moyes). If Griezman becomes available today, do you honestly think he would leave a club where he is a title contender and CL player every year to join a club in transition like Man Utd? Even if he wanted to leave he would go to Barca, Real, Bayern, or PSG before Man Utd.
YemiBrazil wrote:le.
You missed the key word 'typically' and you somehow found a way to forget names like Pogba, Mata, Mikhi, Bailly and Di Maria on your list.
CRon example is irrelevant. Real Madrid was his childhood dream which he made clear from Day 1 and that's why he left a highly successful United at that point.
Again, this is business - if United had truly wanted some of those names it would have happened. There is a difference between media speculations planted by agents and actual transfer enquiry and negotiations. Mourinho identified 4 targets and got them all, it was not an accident.
It doesn't work like that bros.

benteke wrote:
tfco wrote:next weekend

Pool v Spurs
United v Watford

WE have to win, we have to win.
The top 4 door has been left ajar.
We must sneak in unnoticed.
we have been close at least 3 or 4 times, but we always conspire to draw

this weekend we cannot draw against Watford.

massive game

Man Utd's problem is that their results tend to mirror those of the 5 teams above them. Last week was a golden opportunity to close the gap as 4 of the top 5 (Spurs, Liverpool, Chelsea, and Arsenal) dropped points. Then so did Man Utd.
Man Utd need to pick up points now as they have the hardest run in of all teams. That run in just got harder (ironically because Man Utd reached a cup final). The game away at Man City has been postponed due to a clash with the EFL cup final.
That means:

*2 of Man Utd's final 3 games are Spurs and Arsenal away - in May.
*Man Utd have to play Chelsea in April.
*Man Utd still have to play Arsenal, Man City, and Spurs away.

Playing Spurs, Arsenal, Chelsea, and Man City in quick succession is not a nice way to conclude the season.
tfco wrote:The top 4 door has been left ajar.

massive game
Last edited by wiseone on Mon Feb 06, 2017 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

benteke wrote:

Pool v Spurs
United v Watford

massive game

How do you Mancunians like Mkhitaryan? Is he the overrated twat some told us he was?

thank you Jose

now it's left for the guys to score.

benteke wrote:

Pool v Spurs
United v Watford

massive game

How do you Mancunians like Mkhitaryan? Is he the overrated twat some told us he was?
The real deal and he's still warming up like Pogba and a few others on our roster :D

The last 2 weeks have been good for Man Utd fans:

*Man Utd through to the final of the EFL Cup
*Man Utd through to round 5 of the FA Cup
*Liverpool knocked out of the EFL Cup
*Liverpool knocked out of the FA Cup
*Liverpool losing at home to Southampton, Swansea, and Wolves
*Liverpool losing away to Hull
*Leeds knocked out of the FA Cup by a non-league team

I know that many Man Utd fans taped the games that Liverpool and Leeds lost, and play them back with a glass of red wine in hand so they can enjoy the tears of the Leeds and Liverpool fans (which are as sweet as honey for Man Utd fans).
Last edited by wiseone on Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.

wiseone wrote:The last 2 weeks have been good for Man Utd fans:

*Man Utd through to the semi-finals of the EFL Cup
*Liverpool losing to Hull

I know that many Man Utd fans taped the games that Liverpool and Leeds lost, and play them back with a glass of red wine in hand so they can enjoy the tears of the Leeds and Liverpool fans (which are as sweet as honey for Man Utd fans).
:lol: at Leeds and Liverpool.
*Final of EFL cup.

Wow you no get sympathy for some one down?I mean Leeds are not even in EPL that is enough punishment...Chai you wicked sha

Weekends like the last one are very rare for us, we must enjoy every single moment of this. :thumbs:

Kajifu, Leeds and Liverpool fans have been dancing on Man Utd graves for years. Liverpool fans taunt Man Utd by singing despicable songs glorifying the death of Man Utd players in the Munich plane crash, and Leeds fans desecrated the mourning for the deceased Sir Matt Busby by refusing to honour a minute's silence for him and instead singing "There's only one Don Revie" throughout the memorial. Not to mention Liverpool fans booing Man Utd player Alan Smith after he broke his leg at Anfield in a horrific career threatening injury he never fully recovered from, then attacking the ambulance that was called to take him away from the ground.

Now we get boot on their throats and we are going to save those tapes of them losing to a non-league team (Leeds) or losing 3 games at home in 1 week (Liverpool). May their tears flow as bountifully as a waterfall....
kajifu wrote: Wow you no get sympathy for some one down?I mean Leeds are not even in EPL that is enough punishment...Chai you wicked sha

wiseone wrote:Kajifu, Leeds and Liverpool fans have been dancing on Man Utd graves for years. Liverpool fans taunt Man Utd by singing despicable songs glorifying the death of Man Utd players in the Munich plane crash, and Leeds fans desecrated the mourning for the deceased Sir Matt Busby by refusing to honour a minute's silence for him and instead singing "There's only one Don Revie" throughout the memorial. Not to mention Liverpool fans booing Man Utd player Alan Smith after he broke his leg at Anfield in a horrific career threatening injury he never fully recovered from, then attacking the ambulance that was called to take him away from the ground.

Now we get boot on their throats and we are going to save those tapes of them losing to a non-league team (Leeds) or losing 3 games at home in 1 week (Liverpool). May their tears flow as bountifully as a waterfall....
kajifu wrote: Wow you no get sympathy for some one down?I mean Leeds are not even in EPL that is enough punishment...Chai you wicked sha
I got you now bro did not know how this rivalry is.

Week 1 - 1st
Week 2 - 2nd
Week 3 - 3rd
Week 4 - 4th
Week 5 - 7th
Week 6 - 6th
Week 7 - 6th
Week 8 - 7th
Week 9 - 8th
Week 10 - 8th
Week 11 - 6th
Week 12 - 6th
Week 13 - 6th
Week 14 - 6th
Week 15 - 6th
Week 16 - 6th
Week 17 - 6th
Week 18 - 6th
Week 19 - 6th
Week 20 - 6th
Week 21 - 6th [4 points from 4th; 5 points from 2nd]
Week 22 - 6th [4 points from 4th; 6 points from 2nd]
Week 23 - 6th [4 points from 4th; 5 points from 2nd]
Week 24 - 6th [2 points from 4th; 5 points from 2nd]
Week 25 - 6th [2 points from 4th; 4 points from 2nd].
Last edited by tfco on Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Has any team in EPL history stayed in 6th position for as many consecutive weeks as Man Utd? This must be a record.

tfco wrote:Week 1 - 1st
Week 2 - 2nd
Week 3 - 3rd
Week 4 - 4th
Week 5 - 7th
Week 6 - 6th
Week 7 - 6th
Week 8 - 7th
Week 9 - 8th
Week 10 - 8th
Week 11 - 6th
Week 12 - 6th
Week 13 - 6th
Week 14 - 6th
Week 15 - 6th
Week 16 - 6th
Week 17 - 6th
Week 18 - 6th
Week 19 - 6th
Week 20 - 6th
Week 21 - 6th [4 points from 4th; 5 points from 2nd]
Week 22 - 6th [4 points from 4th; 6 points from 2nd]
Week 23 - 6th [4 points from 4th; 5 points from 2nd]
Week 24 - 6th [2 points from 4th; 5 points from 2nd]
Week 25 - 6th [2 points from 4th; 5 points from 2nd].

You sure? How can Tottenham lose and united win, yet point difference with 2nd remain the same? :rotf:

good catch, i assume City with win on Monday

oops..it will be 4points

Man united are 2 points from the top 4, they can certainly leap frog the rest, we just need to keep on winning

Re: Man Utd about to shell 40 million for Bailly

danfo driver wrote:Guys, any update on Samuel Umtiti @ Barcelona? we were told "Our" Eric will be a benchwarmer and sent on loan, while Samuel Umpity Dumpity will be dominating in Mess Ke Un Club.

Is anyone ever going to update us on Samuel Umpity Dumpity? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Re: Man Utd about to shell 40 million for Bailly

Things have really changed since Ferguson retired. I don't think he would have liked players posting social media videos of themselves messing about in the changing room in a season where they are stuck at 6th.

Who should Man Utd keep and let go this summer? Sky says Wazza, Bastian, Young, and Shaw are on the chopping block. Very surprised Darmian is not there. Average size, strength, defensive ability, pace, and below average passing and crossing. Get rid (and get Aurier).

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/ ... -or-let-go

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Southampton were excellent on the day and perhaps Man Utd did not deserve to win. However, good to have the second trophy of the post-SAF era. If I recall correctly, SAF's serial title winning sequence began with him winning the FA Cup, followed by the League Cup...