Page 123 of 456

Re: Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:37 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
benteke wrote:
marko wrote:
benteke wrote:I have a general question, which is not prompted by this latest swap deal of Alexis Sanchez and continually changing possibly wrong wage figures quoted by some media.

Is it sustainable for a club like United to keep making big money buys and mostly overpaying for players who are not the best, especially when they come with very high wages, i understand that United is raking in the big money as a business, but surely some of the money has to be kept aside for a rainy day, and especially for that astronomical debt, i am not a finance guru, but is there any chance of that debt becoming a very serious problem in future, or are chances higher that it will be paid off.

Don't worry about United. They will keep making BIG money, and they understand that you use money to make more money. If they start looking for cheap bargain players like Arsenal does, it will negatively affect their brand. Teams that are rich and used to spending money typically become used to identifying and buying quality, and will, more often than not, buy wisely. Cheap teams even when they get windfall, will go and overpay for average players, in the name of spending money. Man U may be spending big, and may not always get it right, but it is clear they go for players with a purpose, and usually those who can immediately impact them.
People came here to complain when Man U splashed on De Gea and Bailly.... Even though I am not a Man U fan, one can't help but admire the gangster attitude of signing the likes of Rooney and Fellaini from Everton, Tevez from West Ham, Berbatov from Tottenham, RvP and now Sanchez from Arsenal. Each of those players came and WON something. Now, they also have Mata, Matic and Lukaku from other EPL teams.
Signing sanchez meaning, we open up a new frontier in south america, Chile first united player, see where i am getting at, a whole new fan base, united has to be seen to sign the best players in the world, thats why we are a global brand and as someone said, you use money to make money, hopefully sanchez will have a immediate impact in our frontline, there are still a lot of games to be played, champions league, we need a strong squad, we need to finish in the top 4 this season, TV money has increased in recent years, a good run in the champions league will bring in increased revenues, football is big business these days
I understand what you guys are talking about.
But is there any chance that the football bubble may burst for whatever reason. Or the monies will keep pouring in to a point where the top players are getting 5 million per week or even more.
And what will that translate into? People refusing to play football, or fans refusing to watch?

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:53 pm
by YemiBrazil
wiseone wrote:The Glazer debt is the elephant in the Man Utd room. No one talks about it, but Man Utd may be the most heavily indebted club in the world.

Back in the Martin Edwards and PLC eras, Man Utd's commercial success was not as critical to the club's survival as it is today. The Glazer debt has put the club on a knife edge where it HAS to regularly get into the Champions League and make tons of money otherwise the club's survival will be seriously threatened. The need to keep making tons of money to finance the debt is why Man Utd has started making "Galactico" signings of players who bring commercial star value/appeal with merchandising (e.g. Pogba, Zlatan, Di Maria, Sanchez etc). This is a contrast to the PLC days when Man Utd would buy talented/promising players with potential, then turn them into mega stars (Ronaldo, Rooney, Van Nisteelrooy, Keane, Ince, Ferdinand, Vidic, Schmeichel, De Gea).

To answer your question: this mega spending is sustainable IF the club keeps on winning and doing endorsement deals with makers of car, soft drinks, pizza, watches, and movie studios. However if the club has 3-4 bad seasons, the chickens could come home to roost.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=222503&hilit=glazer&start=46

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=140334&hilit=glazer
Bros these are meaningless ramblings that we've been hearing since 2005 :lol:
Just enjoy your football and leave the financial headache to those who work & sleep with the relevant data and information every blessed day. 3-4 bad seasons won't kill Manchester United as you should have noticed by now.

In fact, the years of difficulties appear to bring in more interest as what we have witnessed showed that United fans find the years of struggles exciting. You don't even know what's going to happen when United plays Ogbunigwe Bombers FC of Lokoja and in the marketing world, the mantra is always to be in the news. It appears true with United as the financial figures and activities have shown.

Agreed there is always a possibility that something drastic happens to United and the entire model self-destructs but the odds are very low. You can decide to focus on the debts and you can also choose to focus on the assets (real & abstract) - it comes with the terrain for huge organizations. How you manage those extremes, and all the technicalities stuffed in between, in times of difficulties is what determines the next phase :D .

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:46 pm
by marko
If man united falls, the creme of club football falls as well, all these big clubs are either bankrolled by middle eastern states or commercial appeal as in united, Madrid bankrolls real madrid, this is a known fact, the PSG, City is oil money, to be quite honest, none of these clubs bar Arsenal are sustainable, football is awash with TV money and it will continue this way, now Arsenal cannot even make champions league but their bank account is still healthy as they are quite prudent with finances, as somepne pointed out, as far united qualify for champions league, it will bring in massive revenues to the club but they have to and this puts extra pressure on the club, say what you want about Mourinho, winning Europa league boosted united income by 40 million pounds plus an extra 22 milliion pounds from adidas and we qualified for champions league which will boost our balances by several millions

Our chances of winning champions league are not so high this season but adding quality signings like Sanchez puts us in a better position.

If united fail to qualify for champions league for 4 seasons like someone pointed out, yes that will be the beginning of the end, however united are more than likely to throw money at the problem

I will expect united to close the gap on city next season

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:22 pm
by YemiBrazil
Tuanzebe joins Aston Villa on loan
http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/42818253
Aston Villa have signed Manchester United's England Under-21 defender Axel Tuanzebe on loan until the end of the season.

The 20-year-old is Villa's first signing of the January transfer window.

Tuanzebe made his debut for United in a 4-0 FA Cup win over Wigan in January 2017, the first of eight appearances for the club so far.

"We need to push for second place, I think we have a good enough squad," he told BBC WM.

"I would like to help the team win promotion and check in with a few goals.

"The lads here are good quality, a good passing side. They like to play it and that's what intrigued me to come here."

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:37 pm
by wiseone
Delighted for Tuanzebe. He deserves better than the treatment he got last year and this year from Jose. He is too good to play reserve football. Hopefully he gets to play beside and learn from, John Terry. If he does well, I would not mind Villa taking him on loan for the whole of next season too (rather than wasting time in the reserves and suffering the ignominy of Lindelof and Darmian getting picked ahead of him).

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:50 pm

Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:14 am
by kajifu
marko wrote:Welcome to united, he will play the classic attacking midfield role, we need consistency, a forward trio of martial, lukaku and alexis will definitely create goal scoring opportunities, with Pogba in midfield, omdoubt makes us stronger
Hmm will you guys now play open football or still park bus?
The real rest how the team line up is against Spurs next week.
I just hope United will not play with fear against city next time.
Goodluck Sanchez and Manu might go far into CL if they happen to not face one of the big boys next round.

Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:34 pm
by wiseone
Blind was excluded entirely from the squad for the Yeovil game (second successive game in which he was left entirely out of the matchday squad). Not a good sign when you cannot even get on the bench for an FA cup game against Yeovil, and Darmian, McTominay, and a 16-17yo make in the squad ahead of you.

He would be a loss to the club. Very cerebral player.

Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 9:38 pm
by platinum
wiseone wrote:Blind was excluded entirely from the squad for the Yeovil game (second successive game in which he was left entirely out of the matchday squad). Not a good sign when you cannot even get on the bench for an FA cup game against Yeovil, and Darmian, McTominay, and a 16-17yo make in the squad ahead of you.

Cerebral? What does that mean? You think he's United quality???

Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:12 pm
by benteke
wiseone wrote:Blind was excluded entirely from the squad for the Yeovil game (second successive game in which he was left entirely out of the matchday squad). Not a good sign when you cannot even get on the bench for an FA cup game against Yeovil, and Darmian, McTominay, and a 16-17yo make in the squad ahead of you.

He means that this one is the type of player that uses anticipation and mind more than physical quality.
He is not the most athletic and is a bit slow like Mata, and the current specimens will destroy him in most instances.

In short he is the kind of player that will not last in a Mourinho team, same for Mata. He would have a better chance if he knew how to pick killer passes from around the 18 area.

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:41 pm
by wiseone
Exactly. Blind cannot sprint fast like Rashford, leap high like Jonesy, or dribble like Martial. Yet his game intelligence exceeds that of the other 3 players. His anticipation, positioning, and distribution are first class. There is a reason Barcelona want to sign him. He is a bit like a left footed Carrick in some respects. Despite being slightly built and only 5ft 9 tall he played an entire season at center back, handled himself very well against physical monsters like Lukaku and Andy Carroll, and easily marshalled Lukaku and constantly dispossessed him with the ease of a grown man pick-pocketing a naive little kid.
benteke wrote:

He means that this one is the type of player that uses anticipation and mind more than physical quality.
He is not the most athletic and is a bit slow like Mata, and the current specimens will destroy him in most instances.

In short he is the kind of player that will not last in a Mourinho team, same for Mata. He would have a better chance if he knew how to pick killer passes from around the 18 area.

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:48 pm
Blind reminds me of that movie -- "Get Out." :lol:

He has so much talent inside his mind, but his body is dead! useless! If football was played with only the mind, Blind would be world footballer of the year 3 years out of 5 years.

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:11 am
by benteke
wiseone wrote:Exactly. Blind cannot sprint fast like Rashford, leap high like Jonesy, or dribble like Martial. Yet his game intelligence exceeds that of the other 3 players. His anticipation, positioning, and distribution are first class. There is a reason Barcelona want to sign him. He is a bit like a left footed Carrick in some respects. Despite being slightly built and only 5ft 9 tall he played an entire season at center back, handled himself very well against physical monsters like Lukaku and Andy Carroll, and easily marshalled Lukaku and constantly dispossessed him with the ease of a grown man pick-pocketing a naive little kid.
Blind was becoming a regular fixture in United's midfield during the LVG days, usually found operating as a kind of defensive midfielder, but one good 3-0 trouncing by Everton at Goodison Park i think is what brought that to a gradual end, those fast Everton boys spent 90mins tearing through midfield and counter attacking at will.
And the other problem is I don't think any manager can really feel like they have a solid defender in Blind nor will most fans of a top team be convinced, he has to prove them wrong every game.
Any opposing team with fast attackers will always target him.
Unfortunately he doesn't seem creative enough to be made an attacking midfielder of likes of Ozil, but even so he would face criticism that Ozil faces.

But indeed there are lots of games were he has excelled against physically superior players, there was a time a Smalling - Blind defense partnership was working well, but the doubts lingered on, and Bailey was bought.
Maybe he can do well in Italy :mrgreen:

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:14 am
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Armed rogues, all of una....to the very last one. Who takes Sanchez and gives someone Mkhi in exchange.
Ole ni gbogbo nyi.

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:35 am
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Armed rogues, all of una....to the very last one. Who takes Sanchez and gives someone Mkhi in exchange.
Ole ni gbogbo nyi.

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:46 am
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Armed rogues, all of una....to the very last one. Who takes Sanchez and gives someone Mkhi in exchange.
Ole ni gbogbo nyi.

Ogbeni, you no see am so?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:00 pm
by YemiBrazil
Ole ni gbogbo nyi.
:lol: Mourinho na good person - if na me be Man United manager on top Sanchez matter I for hijack Aubameyang deal, then top it up by reaching agreement with Ozil to join Utd in June :mrgreen:

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:33 pm
by wiseone
I hear this "he will get roasted by quick players" thing a lot, but I have seen him play against some of the fastest/trickiest wingers (Jesus, Mahrez, Walcott, Zaha etc) in the EPL and never looked out of place. He never has to sprint after them because he always positions himself in the right place.
benteke wrote:
Blind was becoming a regular fixture in United's midfield during the LVG days, usually found operating as a kind of defensive midfielder, but one good 3-0 trouncing by Everton at Goodison Park i think is what brought that to a gradual end, those fast Everton boys spent 90mins tearing through midfield and counter attacking at will.
And the other problem is I don't think any manager can really feel like they have a solid defender in Blind nor will most fans of a top team be convinced, he has to prove them wrong every game.
Any opposing team with fast attackers will always target him.
Unfortunately he doesn't seem creative enough to be made an attacking midfielder of likes of Ozil, but even so he would face criticism that Ozil faces.

But indeed there are lots of games were he has excelled against physically superior players, there was a time a Smalling - Blind defense partnership was working well, but the doubts lingered on, and Bailey was bought.
Maybe he can do well in Italy :mrgreen:

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:49 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
YemiBrazil wrote:
Ole ni gbogbo nyi.
:lol: Mourinho na good person - if na me be Man United manager on top Sanchez matter I for hijack Aubameyang deal, then top it up by reaching agreement with Ozil to join Utd in June :mrgreen:

you lucky say I no fit send you cyber slap plus backhand :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry:

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:08 pm
by wiseone
This will be an interesting summer at Man Utd. At least three senior players are likely to leave the club (Zlatan, Carrick, Fellaini), and two others are out of contract (Young, Blind), and 1-2 others are likely to be sold (Darmian, Wilson). In theory that frees up a lot of space in the squad for youngsters to claim. You'd think that Tuanzebe, Fosu-Mensah, and Pereira could come in and take the places vacated by senior players. What is more likely is that Man Utd will buy a few 40-50 million players to block these youngsters' path to the first team.

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:30 pm
The most reliable Di Marzio has stated that Roma wants Blind.

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 12:05 am
This will hurt some people. After all their agenda about Mou hating Mata. etc etc. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 12:15 am
by benteke
wiseone wrote:The Glazer debt is the elephant in the Man Utd room. No one talks about it, but Man Utd may be the most heavily indebted club in the world.

Back in the Martin Edwards and PLC eras, Man Utd's commercial success was not as critical to the club's survival as it is today. The Glazer debt has put the club on a knife edge where it HAS to regularly get into the Champions League and make tons of money otherwise the club's survival will be seriously threatened. The need to keep making tons of money to finance the debt is why Man Utd has started making "Galactico" signings of players who bring commercial star value/appeal with merchandising (e.g. Pogba, Zlatan, Di Maria, Sanchez etc). This is a contrast to the PLC days when Man Utd would buy talented/promising players with potential, then turn them into mega stars (Ronaldo, Rooney, Van Nisteelrooy, Keane, Ince, Ferdinand, Vidic, Schmeichel, De Gea).

To answer your question: this mega spending is sustainable IF the club keeps on winning and doing endorsement deals with makers of cars, soft drinks, pizza, watches, and movie studios. However if the club has 3-4 bad seasons, the chickens could come home to roost.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=222503&hilit=glazer&start=46

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=140334&hilit=glazer