EPL Teams - Specialists in European failures

For all the money and hype, nada. Scathing article.

But this should be no surprise. The teams left are from the best footballing nations in Europe

http://www.goal.com/en/news/1717/editor ... ID=HP_BN_1
Skylolo
Re: EPL Teams - Specialists in European failures

Post by Skylolo »

Some soul searching to do for the EPL....technically and tactically we are being left behind.

I can only speak for my own club Arsenal, I think our rebuilding is almost done and we will be better when we come back to the competition next year. But the truth is regardless of what we do it is hard to see us being anywhere close to the big 3 in Europe these days...Barca, Bayern and Real.
To God be the glory

:clap: :clap:

what.a.crap.article.

cut and paste nonsense, the writer is all over the map.

Skylolo wrote:Some soul searching to do for the EPL....technically and tactically we are being left behind.

I can only speak for my own club Arsenal, I think our rebuilding is almost done and we will be better when we come back to the competition next year. But the truth is regardless of what we do it is hard to see us being anywhere close to the big 3 in Europe these days...Barca, Bayern and Real.
Another delusional rant from an assanal spamming bot. I expect a new assanal season thread soon

Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

I knew YUJAM would deliver an uppercut to the EPL :rotf: :rotf:
This is the second time in three years that all EPL teams are exiting at the first hurdle. The good thing about this is that we can enjoy the Champions League calmly without the EPL hyperbole
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009

In knockout competition, there is nothing more influential than the thinking man in the technical area. Clad in a 4-4-2 with far from household names, Atletico clobbered their way to a final. Give that same Atletico side to any other manager last season, do they achieve the same? Were Klopp's Dortmund as Big 3 as Mourinho's Madrid? In a knockout competition, the team that gets knocked out is more often than not the fool who fell for the feint and missed the overhand left. Boom!

5 years on the spin, Wenger has used Operation Same Old, Same Old to overthrow the so called aristocracy, remember the gaping midfield in the mauled by Messi at the Camp Nou. Remember the gaping midfield vs Anderlecht. Remember the gaping midfield in the first-leg vs Kondogbia? Manager's win knockout matches. Manager's lose knockout matches. 5 years, 5 different teams, same outcome.
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Skylolo wrote:Some soul searching to do for the EPL....technically and tactically we are being left behind.

Another delusional rant from an assanal spamming bot. I expect a new assanal season thread soon
No point wasting my time on a good for nothing troll...
To God be the glory
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Coach wrote:In knockout competition, there is nothing more influential than the thinking man in the technical area. Clad in a 4-4-2 with far from household names, Atletico clobbered their way to a final. Give that same Atletico side to any other manager last season, do they achieve the same? Were Klopp's Dortmund as Big 3 as Mourinho's Madrid? In a knockout competition, the team that gets knocked out is more often than not the fool who fell for the feint and missed the overhand left. Boom!

5 years on the spin, Wenger has used Operation Same Old, Same Old to overthrow the so called aristocracy, remember the gaping midfield in the mauled by Messi at the Camp Nou. Remember the gaping midfield vs Anderlecht. Remember the gaping midfield in the first-leg vs Kondogbia? Manager's win knockout matches. Manager's lose knockout matches. 5 years, 5 different teams, same outcome.
Enough already Coach, we have been the underdogs in the final in 2006 well before Klopp and Simoene even donned their coats as Managers beating Real at the Bernabeu in the process.... :roll: Been there done that...

Good clubs can do it once, how many of them repeated the success?
To God be the glory

Vincent. wrote:I knew YUJAM would deliver an uppercut to the EPL :rotf: :rotf:
This is the second time in three years that all EPL teams are exiting at the first hurdle. The good thing about this is that we can enjoy the Champions League calmly without the EPL hyperbole
YUJAM was waiting for this eagerely.

he got his wish
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

What do you think are the biggest mistakes made by EPL teams, when assembling their teams?
I mean, these guys spend money like drunken sailors.
Are they buying the wrong players? Chelsea spent a fortune on Fabregas, Diego Costa, Eden Hazard, the Colombian guy, ... etc.
Man City has been spending and spending and spending.
Arsenal spent millions on Ozil, Sanchez, Ospina, ....
Let's not even talk about Liverpool: They got all this money from Suarez deal, then spent it on Balotelli, Lalana, ...etc and couldn't even pass the first round.

The wrong coaches? Mourinho is an experienced fox in Europe. So is Wenger.
Are their tactics wrong? Do coaches become stupid, once they sign to coach in England?
Is this a failure of the culture of football in England? I have no clue. What do you all think is the root cause of these pathetic results?
femibyte

Post by femibyte »

Yujam, remember this - every dog has its day. You're acting like someone with no knowledge of statistics, and having gone to engineering school with you, I know that's not the case. You base your generalization on a sample size of 2 years. C'mon Yus, you're better than that. :tic:

In any case for me, its Liverpool and the EPL for life... :thumbs:
You'll Never Walk Alone... - Liverpool FC
http://www.femibyte.com

bepanda wrote:What do you think are the biggest mistakes made by EPL teams, when assembling their teams?
Are they buying the wrong players? Chelsea spent a fortune on Fabregas, Diego Costa, Eden Hazard, the Colombian guy, ... etc.
Let's not even talk about Liverpool: They got all this money from Suarez deal, then spent it on Balotelli, Lalana, ...etc and couldn't even pass the first round.

Are their tactics wrong? Do coaches become stupid, once they sign to coach in England?
Is this a failure of the culture of football in England? I have no clue. What do you all think is the root cause of these pathetic results?

its not easy to put a finger on what exactly is the cause, it might be a combination of the factors you mentioned.

it might be that some of these teams are in a transition towards being better and we might see them improve dramatically in the coming years.

Just see this article about how City has spent over £320million since 2011 and yet still uses the same 1st 11 from 2011. - http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footba ... -327m.html

bepanda wrote:What do you think are the biggest mistakes made by EPL teams, when assembling their teams?

Something is definitely wrong with Chelsea this season. I expected better but we keep getting served crap. One game the team plays awesome. Then the next they appear so boring and soulless. I hope Mourinho could organize the team a lil better and let them loose. Crawling back into that defensive stupor all the time is getting old. If he needs to buy different types of players to get the team playing a lot better, he should.

And Cuadrodo (Cuadcrap) looked like an impulse buy. Brings nothing to the table.

2008 to 2013 was a good span for EPL teams but lately the quality of football seems to have dropped a notch.

For all the money that's coming into the league, I think the teams have to do better. The problem seems to be that folks think that quick cash can build top class sides immediately when clearly stats show this is not the case. Take the case of Pellers at Man City for example, folks are already calling for his head but it takes a while for a coach like him to really get going. LVG at Man Utd is getting the same treatment. PSG after some big Arab money are just starting to do well in Europe. So I think English pundits and press need to stop putting unnecessary pressure on teams/coaches and allow teams in that league to develop solid systems through continuity
femibyte wrote:Yujam, remember this - every dog has its day. You're acting like someone with no knowledge of statistics, and having gone to engineering school with you, I know that's not the case. You base your generalization on a sample size of 2 years. C'mon Yus, you're better than that. :tic:

In any case for me, its Liverpool and the EPL for life... :thumbs:
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

The only thing wrong with the EPL, is primarily the extra winter month, which we all enjoy when other leagues are shut down. Anyone that follows Chelsea for example, knows that they had lost steam after the wretched winter marathon games they had.
I was praying that we would scrap best PSG, unfortunately we couldn't.
Why many here still equate the Epl, with British players is something i'll never understand. The top teams have less than 15-20% English makeup, with mostly renowned European coaches.
The lack of winter breaks is the biggest issue. This also affects even National teams, with most of their internationals coming from the Epl.
The FA has to finally ask themselves, do they keep focused on just the money, or make their teams more competitive.
It becomes disturbing when an Epl coach would pick his bench warmers for an Europa game, to focus his full attention on his team and their Epl games. They do this because financially it makes more sense for them.
So the second thing is that they have become a victim of their success.
There are other factors, but these two points are the main ones. You can call them names all you want, but Epl will keep powering as it's just more international in nature than any of the other leagues.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

Stop using we for arsenal. You are not not one of us. And carry your inferiority complex and go.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

amafolas wrote:

Stop using we for arsenal. You are not not one of us. And carry your inferiority complex and go.
You should try and think for once instead of making trivial comments that do not add anything to the useful discussion here that will interest any stakeholder in English top flight football especially the top clubs....based on past form do you think it matters to me what a complete nonentity like you thinks? :laugh:

Were you not the one saying last summer when we were trying to sign Alexis that we should not buy players from Barca and Real because according to you they are all "overrated"...I actually agree I am not one of you, I am not a "we" with blind sheep! :oops:
To God be the glory

okidoki wrote:The only thing wrong with the EPL, is primarily the extra winter month, which we all enjoy when other leagues are shut down. Anyone that follows Chelsea for example, knows that they had lost steam after the wretched winter marathon games they had.
Why many here still equate the Epl, with British players is something i'll never understand. The top teams have less than 15-20% English makeup, with mostly renowned European coaches.
The lack of winter breaks is the biggest issue. This also affects even National teams, with most of their internationals coming from the Epl.
The FA has to finally ask themselves, do they keep focused on just the money, or make their teams more competitive.
It becomes disturbing when an Epl coach would pick his bench warmers for an Europa game, to focus his full attention on his team and their Epl games. They do this because financially it makes more sense for them.
There are other factors, but these two points are the main ones. You can call them names all you want, but Epl will keep powering as it's just more international in nature than any of the other leagues.
Good points but ..... aren't the likes of Chelsea are supposed to be deep enough to withstand the rigors of the winter month?
Besides, it's not like EPL teams have just started playing in the winter month. They had a Xmas schedule and still did well in UEFA.

Edit: Finally read the article ..... :) the EPL teams maybe onto something here. Could it be that the EPL teams hit a critical point of diminishing returns if they go past the CL 1/4s or semis?

It just might be that what it takes to win the CL, is just not worth the pain. If so, then the Arsene Wenger outfoxed everyone! The rest are just waking up to the formula.

Events on the green grass paint a different picture of doom for the EPL.
Last edited by Kabalega on Thu Mar 19, 2015 6:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

Skylolo wrote:
amafolas wrote:

You should try and think for once instead of making trivial comments that do not add anything to the useful discussion here that will interest any stakeholder in English top flight football especially the top clubs....based on past form do you think it matters to me what a complete nonentity like you thinks? :laugh:

Were you not the one saying last summer when we were trying to sign Alexis that we should not buy players from Barca and Real because according to you they are all "overrated"...I actually agree I am not one of you, I am not a "we" with blind sheep! :oops:

But I am still a gunner and you are not. You are a Juventus (or is it PSG fan) who also fancies Arsenal every now and then. Little wonder you have so little emotion invested in Arsenal and can shrug off every managerial incompetence withut care. You are not one of us. I am so glad i am wrong about Alexis. Overpriced okpolo eyes and that yeye Argentine Manure bought are in their ways proving I am not altogether wrong.

About the EPL, these things go in cycles. EPL will be back. Arsenal should be stronger next season. ManCity needs to hit F5 button on their squad. Their current team has run its course and have lost their hunger. Mourinho and Chelsea will get this summer to reload and get a team more attuned to the way he wants to play. EPL will be fine. The money advantage they have is huge but it is a 2-edged sword. Big EPL teams are no longer dependent on champions league income like they were in the early 2000s. Playing in the EPL is now more lucrative than playing in the champs league. I won't be shocked if recent trends subliminally reflect that shift. Playing in the champs league is now mainly about player recruitment and not income generation for the top clubs.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

Cyclical. We will be back here in 2 years time laughing at this thread.

okidoki wrote:The only thing wrong with the EPL, is primarily the extra winter month, which we all enjoy when other leagues are shut down. Anyone that follows Chelsea for example, knows that they had lost steam after the wretched winter marathon games they had.
i dont get the lack of winter break excuse, is it something that started recently or has it always been there when other EPL teams were winning CL ?

plus, these teams name an EPL squad and also a CL squad, and they have enough players to rotate but choose not to.
I remember Ferguson used to rotate the squad a lot to keep them fresh throughout.

Cristao II wrote:Cyclical. We will be back here in 2 years time laughing at this thread.
i agree with this too :thumb:

Yujam, you are not making sense, but the top 4 epl teams in this year's champs league are 95% made up of foreign players . This issue is fatigue. They need to come up with a winter break. How many German teame are left?