Fixing our football

We don't need a foreign coach.

My recommendations on how to fix Nigerian football
1. Rebuild the National stadium in Lagos- select a permanent home for the Eagles.
2. Build a strong local league- all of the clubs will be privately owned. Maybe community ownership or sole ownership. Improve player contracts. No player under 18 can be affiliated with a foreign club in any form and that includes playing for their academy teams. Academies must be linked to a NPFL club. The NPFL club will have the option of buying players from the academies once the player turns 17.
3. Do a better job in training all coaches in Nigeria. Develop a Nigerian pro A coaching course for all coaches in Nigeria. Why should we have to travel to England for coaching refresher courses? We can even invite foreign instructors to the country to help develop our coaching course. We can acquire the match preparation software for the NIS to teach our coaches locally.

4. Schedule friendlies for both the men and women national teams in Nigeria. For example in September the SE, the falcons, the U20 men and women, the U17, men and women should play at least one International friendly. You don't always have to make a huge profit from friendlies.

5. Expand the Channels kids cup, the U13 and U15 program. The NFF should hire mentors for the players. The NFF should own a stake in the players involved in the U13, U15, U17 and U20 level. This will prevent agents from taking advantage of the players. The revenue generated should be used to develop the local league and grass root football.

African Star
Re: Fixing our football

Post by African Star »

ohenhen1 wrote:We don't need a foreign coach.

1. Rebuild the National stadium in Lagos- select a permanent home for the Eagles.
2. Build a strong local league- all of the clubs will be privately owned. Maybe community ownership or sole ownership. Improve player contracts. No player under 18 can be affiliated with a foreign club in any form and that includes playing for their academy teams. Academies must be linked to a NPFL club. The NPFL club will have the option of buying players from the academies once the player turns 17.
3. Do a better job in training all coaches in Nigeria. Develop a Nigerian pro A coaching course for all coaches in Nigeria. Why should we have to travel to England for coaching refresher courses? We can even invite foreign instructors to the country to help develop our coaching course. We can acquire the match preparation software for the NIS to teach our coaches locally.

4. Schedule friendlies for both the men and women national teams in Nigeria. For example in September the SE, the falcons, the U20 men and women, the U17, men and women should play at least one International friendly. You don't always have to make a huge profit from friendlies.

5. Expand the Channels kids cup, the U13 and U15 program. The NFF should hire mentors for the players. The NFF should own a stake in the players involved in the U13, U15, U17 and U20 level. This will prevent agents from taking advantage of the players. The revenue generated should be used to develop the local league and grass root football.
I agree with all your points as I have been advocating this since 1994.

In addition I will add that all companies doing business in Nigeria be sponsors of the NFF.

2. All professional league coaches must have an Nigerian or African A license and must renew their license every 4 years by taking a refresher course.

3. Professional teams must align themselves with European professional teams as feeder teams and these professional teams can invest in the development Of Youth players in Nigeria in a regulated manner with no player leaving Nigeria until age 18.
4. No Nigerian player will be authorized to leave if they have not spent at least 4 years in the youth program.
5. No Nigerian coach will be hired to be a national coach unless he has had 5 years total coaching experience with at least two years coaching in Nigeria in addition to having an A license.
6. The youth system must be revamped and players must be trained to play the different systems the national team will be playing so they will be well versed in the nuances of the system.

7. Individual technical skills development of the players must be a priority until age 16.

8. A First Class residency academy should be developed where at least 200 of the top players in the country should be in permanent camp. 40 each from ages 14, 15, 16, 17and 18 and these teams should be playing in the academy league against the professional league academy teams where newly identified players will be called up to tryout for the academy teams when they impress.

9. For this to be successful however it should be free of politics and agent influence. All agents must be strictly regulated and no player can sign with an agent until age 18.
“Whoever invented football should be worshiped as a God.” Hugo Sanchez, Mexican soccer player and coach

add, the FA chief must be held accountable, and sanctioned if he leaves the shores of the country for some fathom errand in Europe, London specifically.

I doubt that will happen though since those that get greased will look the other way.

African Star wrote:

I agree with all your points as I have been advocating this since 1994.

In addition I will add that all companies doing business in Nigeria be sponsors of the NFF.

2. All professional league coaches must have an Nigerian or African A license and must renew their license every 4 years by taking a refresher course.

3. Professional teams must align themselves with European professional teams as feeder teams and these professional teams can invest in the development Of Youth players in Nigeria in a regulated manner with no player leaving Nigeria until age 18.
4. No Nigerian player will be authorized to leave if they have not spent at least 4 years in the youth program.
5. No Nigerian coach will be hired to be a national coach unless he has had 5 years total coaching experience with at least two years coaching in Nigeria in addition to having an A license.
6. The youth system must be revamped and players must be trained to play the different systems the national team will be playing so they will be well versed in the nuances of the system.

7. Individual technical skills development of the players must be a priority until age 16.

8. A First Class residency academy should be developed where at least 200 of the top players in the country should be in permanent camp. 40 each from ages 14, 15, 16, 17and 18 and these teams should be playing in the academy league against the professional league academy teams where newly identified players will be called up to tryout for the academy teams when they impress.

9. For this to be successful however it should be free of politics and agent influence. All agents must be strictly regulated and no player can sign with an agent until age 18.
You make good points except for item number 3. I don't think our local teams should be feeder teams for the European clubs. That is like a master/slave type relationship.

These points are useless if they remain on the pages of CE with nobody doing nothing about them.

Robotnik wrote:These points are useless if they remain on the pages of CE with nobody doing nothing about them.
...the NFA people and their cronies are here reading and contributing, so it's not useless, they just chose to ignore it, do their own thing to fill their pockets.
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

Stop wasting your time.

Nigeria will not do anything tangible at the level (i.e. world cup) where it matters as long as you remain misguided into thinking you can 'fix' your football in isolation of our bigger societal issues.

You want to fix football?....recognise that it is but a mirror of a society that places short-termism and mediocrity ahead of proper planning and excellence.

Of course we will have occassional successes against equally mediocre countries ala the ANC or AYC etc age group competitions ala U-17 where we coninue to lie to ourselves and flood a significant part of our teams with overaged players and act suprised when they never truly progress to become world class players or give only a couple of years of productive football and dance off into oblivion.

I remain as fervent a Nigerian fan like most here and will root paradoxically for all Nigerian teams on the day but i am under no illusions or act surprised when we lose because we remain relatively poorly prepared compared to the opposition or when we choose and settle for questionable selections for our teams.

If the likes of the NFF and coaching officials can carry on their fraudulent ways without the fear of prosecution, how in the world do you expect reform from a group of people who find a dysfucntional system beneficial.

Anyway goodluck or is it Sai to reform these days.
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.

Good thread...good points.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

So how can this be on tv in Naija for every one to see or news paper.How can this get to NFA website or the chairman?