4 New Defenders for SE?

Torunarigha, Adarabiyio, Emmanuel Aiwu of Cremonense and Gabriel Osho of Luton are being considered for the next game. If true, it seems the rebuild of our defense has commenced. Will these players make us better or are we just replacing players like for like. Hope it works out.

https://www.owngoalnigeria.com/2023/06/ ... iers-game/
Re: 4 New Defenders for SE?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Jun 29, 2023 5:15 pm Torunarigha, Adarabiyio, Emmanuel Aiwu of Cremonense and Gabriel Osho of Luton are being considered for the next game. If true, it seems the rebuild of our defense has commenced. Will these players make us better or are we just replacing players like for like. Hope it works out.

EMIR,

The rebuild of the defense commenced immediately after Peseiro took over. This is particularly clear in the middle of the defense. However, it has not been successful so far. Maybe, if these guys are truly called up, this game can give the team an opportunity to ease them into the squad.

Tosin, particularly, has the energy and urgency that is needed. In my view, if he comes through and with Bassey recovering his form, the future may look much brighter than it currently does.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
The Observer

Post by The Observer »

Each of the four defenders can slot in at both central defense or as full back. Having such defenders may also facilitate a three-man defense formation.
Every soul shall taste of death. And you shall be paid on the Day of Resurrection only that which you have fairly earned. Whoever is removed from the fire of Hell and is made to enter the Garden, he indeed is successful. The life of this world is nothing but the comfort of illusion – Quran 3: 185

own goal again ..kogi you sure enjoy posting fake news from owngoal sha

It's Owngoal but there's enough reason to believe this is true cause a rebuild in that defence is URGENTLY needed, our starting CB's are just way past it at this point and our lack of depth in the center-back positions are rather worrying. If Pissero stays, he knows he had no choice now than to start fastracking new players into the team ahead of the AFCON

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Jun 29, 2023 5:46 pm own goal again ..kogi you sure enjoy posting fake news from owngoal sha
Bigpoke,

LOL. It crossed my mind when I saw it was from Owngoal but I thought the gist was good enough to discuss regardless of its veracity.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

On this occasion, the news is real. All have passports and want to play for Nigeria and have posted such on their individual handles. Whether they are injury free and playing at the time is a different matter.

nzeogwu wrote: Fri Jun 30, 2023 9:32 pm On this occasion, the news is real. All have passports and want to play for Nigeria and have posted such on their individual handles. Whether they are injury free and playing at the time is a different matter.
:source: :source: :source:

Tobi17 wrote: Thu Jun 29, 2023 6:02 pm It's Owngoal but there's enough reason to believe this is true cause a rebuild in that defence is URGENTLY needed, our starting CB's are just way past it at this point and our lack of depth in the center-back positions are rather worrying. If Pissero stays, he knows he had no choice now than to start fastracking new players into the team ahead of the AFCON

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Jun 29, 2023 5:15 pm Torunarigha, Adarabiyio, Emmanuel Aiwu of Cremonense and Gabriel Osho of Luton are being considered for the next game. If true, it seems the rebuild of our defense has commenced. Will these players make us better or are we just replacing players like for like. Hope it works out.

I am all for rebuilding and trying out new players particularly in our porous and highly unreliable defense but Emanuel Aiwu and Gabriel Osho??? Both players have less than impressive profiles. Aiwu has played all of 13 times for division 2 Cremonese while Osho, although on the books, since 2020, of Luton Town which just gained promotion to the Premier League, he has been loaned out to such clubs as Yeovil Town, a sixth tier English club and Rochdale, a fifth tier English team for as long as he has been on Lutin Town’s books.

Is Peseiro serious? Really?? Whatever happened to Olisa Ndah? If you were serious about rebuilding our defense, I would think you’d start with a known prospect like Ndah❗️

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Sun Jul 02, 2023 7:06 am, edited 2 times in total.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2023 12:16 am

I am all for rebuilding and trying out new players particularly in our porous and highly unreliable defense but Emanuel Aiwu and Gabriel Osho??? Both players have less than impressive profiles. Aiwu has played all of 13 times for division 2 Cremonese while Osho, although on the books, since 3920, of Luton Town which just gained promotion to the Premier League, he has been loaned out to such clubs as Yeovil Town, a with tier English club and Rochdale, a fifth tier English team for as long as he has been on Lutin Town’s books.

Is Peseiro serious? Really?? Whatever happened to Olisa Ndah? If you were serious about rebuilding our defense, I would think you’d start with a known prospect like Ndah❗️

I’ve been asking this question for months.
The Observer

Post by The Observer »

Based on available data, Olisa Ndah has only played one match for his club in 2023 (25 mins). There was a reported injury that prevented his transfer to an Italian club during the January transfer window.

Gabriel Osho was active for Luton in the past season despite being injured twice. He was particularly active during the play off leading to Luton's promotion to the Premiership. He was playing on the right of the three-man defense of Luton.

Emmanuel Aiwu was also active for Cremonese, along with Dessers and Okeke, in the Italian Serie A playing in at least 20 matches. Cremonese was relegated to Serie B for the 2023 - 24 season.
Every soul shall taste of death. And you shall be paid on the Day of Resurrection only that which you have fairly earned. Whoever is removed from the fire of Hell and is made to enter the Garden, he indeed is successful. The life of this world is nothing but the comfort of illusion – Quran 3: 185

The Observer wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2023 6:28 am Based on available data, Olisa Ndah has only played one match for his club in 2023 (25 mins). There was a reported injury that prevented his transfer to an Italian club during the January transfer window.

Gabriel Osho was active for Luton in the past season despite being injured twice. He was particularly active during the play off leading to Luton's promotion to the Premiership. He was playing on the right of the three-man defense of Luton.

Emmanuel Aiwu was also active for Cremonese, along with Dessers and Okeke, in the Italian Serie A playing in at least 20 matches. Cremonese was relegated to Serie B for the 2023 - 24 season.
So where did @TTT get his stats from? Na wa o.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2023 8:26 am
The Observer wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2023 6:28 am Based on available data, Olisa Ndah has only played one match for his club in 2023 (25 mins). There was a reported injury that prevented his transfer to an Italian club during the January transfer window.

TTT is right on Osho.
He has been loaned out to some unprintable teams in the last few years which isn’t a great way to make your case for a SE push.
He’s 24.
Just saying’…

Damunk wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2023 9:16 am

TTT is right on Osho.
He has been loaned out to some unprintable teams in the last few years which isn’t a great way to make your case for a SE push.
He’s 24.
Just saying’…
We're not exactly producing elite defenders so if it's true these lads want to rep the GWG, and are playing active football at their respective clubs...then that's good enough. I'll say our CB depth next to our attack is our strongest position per/depth

Bassey
Igor Ogbu
Benjamin Frederick (potentially)
Ogwuche (potentially)
Olisa Ndah
Tosin Adarabioyo
Jordan Torunarigha
Gab Osho
And maybe Emmanuel Aiwu

Add the full backs:

Zaidu
Ebuehi
Aina
Bright Osayi Samuel
Bruno Onyemaechi

TTT is right on Osho.
He’s 24.
Just saying’…
He is not totally right no Osho. He has played more games for Luton Town than he has played for the smaller clubs he was loaned to in the last 2 years.

And he was totally wrong on Aiwu.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

At least, these four central defenders - Adarabioyo, Torunariga, Aiwu and Osho ALL have a verifiable body of work and pedigree, in comparison to our infamous 'Yum Yum' who some of us are still scratching our heads as to how he ended up being invited to the SE.
Lolly wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2023 11:58 am

TTT is right on Osho.
He’s 24.
Just saying’…
He is not totally right no Osho. He has played more games for Luton Town than he has played for the smaller clubs he was loaned to in the last 2 years.

Adarabioyo is 25 (26 in Sept)
Torunariga is 25 (26 in Aug).
Aiwu is 22 and
Gabriel Osho is 24 (25 in Aug).
Olisa Ndah is 25

And your point is...?

TTT is right on Osho.
He’s 24.
Just saying’…

Otitokoro wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2023 4:33 pm At least, these four central defenders - Adarabioyo, Torunariga, Aiwu and Osho ALL have a verifiable body of work and pedigree, in comparison to our infamous 'Yum Yum' who some of us are still scratching our heads as to how he ended up being invited to the SE.
Lolly wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2023 11:58 am

TTT is right on Osho.
He’s 24.
Just saying’…

Tell dem. Thank you.

Average players

1naija wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2023 5:58 pm Average players
I have only watched Adarabioyo play for his club out of the 4 and he is decent, nothing exceptional. But he would be a good guy to try out and compare to what we already have. He can’t be worse than Ajayi and Omeruo.

We should focus our energy on finding credible players that can make us better, not players that are "no worse than what we have". The hype only gets us deeper in the hole. USA 2026 is around the corner. We need players that will get us qualified, not players that will continue to make us struggle against Ghana B team. These player should be fighting tooth and nail to get invited so they can fight even harder to just make the team. I would rather we spend more energy on Frederick than these average players.

And BTW, Ajayi is better than all these players. I wasn't sold on him at first, but he proven himself to be a bonafied SE defender.
Lolly wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2023 6:07 pm
I have only watched Adarabioyo play for his club out of the 4 and he is decent, nothing exceptional. But he would be a good guy to try out and compare to what we already have. He can’t be worse than Ajayi and Omeruo.

1naija wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2023 7:31 pm We should focus our energy on finding credible players that can make us better, not players that are "no worse than what we have". The hype only gets us deeper in the hole. USA 2026 is around the corner. We need players that will get us qualified, not players that will continue to make us struggle against Ghana B team. These player should be fighting tooth and nail to get invited so they can fight even harder to just make the team. I would rather we spend more energy on Frederick than these average players.

And BTW, Ajayi is better than all these players. I wasn't sold on him at first, but he proven himself to be a bonafied SE defender.
Lolly wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2023 6:07 pm

Onku, Union start your own agency? Ajayi no be am at all.We’re trying to win Afcon and qualify for the WC Abeg. No excess luggage.