Re: RAHEEM STERLING

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 1:50 am
by spastic
RS is now the best player in the EPL.

Opari! :D :shyluv: :taunt:

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:01 am
by The YeyeMan
spastic wrote:RS is now the best player in the EPL.

He's not even the best English player in the EPL.

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 9:55 am
by cic old boy
Still the fastest headless chicken in the world.

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:36 pm
by spastic

He is. You'll soon see it. Just don't be the last to notice.

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:39 pm
by kajifu

Which English player is better than him currently?

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:57 pm
by heavyd
cic old boy wrote:Still the fastest headless chicken in the world.
bad belle aint good for you bro... :taunt: :taunt:
Raheem has scored 30 goals in his last 60 appearances for City...
Most clubs would love to have that kind of headless chicken in their team

Posted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:21 pm
by Prince
cic old boy wrote:Still the fastest headless chicken in the world.
CIC until you apologise I wont let this thread die o

Posted: Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:36 am
Cic knows nothing about football

Posted: Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:55 am
by aykwes8
he is still a low IQ footballer

Posted: Mon Apr 15, 2019 11:01 pm
by The YeyeMan

Which English player is better than him currently?
Currently? Nobody.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:26 pm
by Prince
When is CIC going to apologise

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:09 pm
by Nkume
Sterling was robbed! That 3rd goal was legit.

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 1:43 am
by Heliopolis
This guy frustrates me like no other but he's a very good player and he's improved under Pep. Pep demands Sterling to play on the touchline (like he demands of all his wingers), but Sterling is excellent in that role because of his speed and shiftiness. I don't think Pep can improve his decisionmaking but the tactical discipline alone (of making him play extremely wide) has taken his game to new heights. If Sterling can become more clinical he can become a 40 goal player in all competitions (and I really mean that). His goal tally is already impressive but he converts 1 of every 5 or so chances he gets.

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 2:03 am
by pajimoh
Nkume wrote:Sterling was robbed! That 3rd goal was legit.
abeg keep quiet and stop talking like someone ............. rob ko, Mentholatum ni. msssshhheeew :arrow:

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:09 am
by tfco
Heliopolis wrote:This guy frustrates me like no other but he's a very good player and he's improved under Pep. Pep demands Sterling to play on the touchline (like he demands of all his wingers), but Sterling is excellent in that role because of his speed and shiftiness. I don't think Pep can improve his decisionmaking but the tactical discipline alone (of making him play extremely wide) has taken his game to new heights. If Sterling can become more clinical he can become a 40 goal player in all competitions (and I really mean that). His goal tally is already impressive but he converts 1 of every 5 or so chances he gets.
how so, please?
he arrived at City at age..20/21, and has 'improved' since Pep arrived on the scene

who takes credit for Jadon Sancho's 'improvement'?

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:15 am
by kalani JR
Heliopolis wrote:This guy frustrates me like no other but he's a very good player and he's improved under Pep. Pep demands Sterling to play on the touchline (like he demands of all his wingers), but Sterling is excellent in that role because of his speed and shiftiness. I don't think Pep can improve his decisionmaking but the tactical discipline alone (of making him play extremely wide) has taken his game to new heights. If Sterling can become more clinical he can become a 40 goal player in all competitions (and I really mean that). His goal tally is already impressive but he converts 1 of every 5 or so chances he gets.
how so, please?
he arrived at City at age..20/21, and has 'improved' since Pep arrived on the scene

He's arguably the best player in the league now. Better goals + production. Pellegrini's style limited him, Pep frees him.

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:36 am
by tfco
how so, please?

He's arguably the best player in the league now. Better goals + production. Pellegrini's style limited him, Pep frees him.

so nothing to do with Raheem's natural progression as a star footballer.

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:06 am
by kalani JR
how so, please?

Obviously that would come into play in some regard, no one thinks Pep made Raheem but he's found out what works for the guy.

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:08 am
how so, please?

Obviously that would come into play in some regard, no one thinks Pep made Raheem but he's found out what works for the guy.
dude, did you see raheem under Brendan Rodgers? when he played false 9?

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:24 am
by Heliopolis
Too many emotional and brain dead dudes on this forum.

Just because a player is young and has a high transfer value does it mean their career will necessarily have an upward trajectory. For every Raheem Sterling you have other players in a similar circumstance that fails to materially improve.

Watch Sterling pre- and during Guardiola to understand the argument being made here. Guardiola has imposed tactical discipline on Sterling which has made the guy virtually unstoppable. He plays so wide it is difficult for defenders to mark him and the guy is so fast that defenders can't keep up with his late runs. The result is he has gone from scoring 1 goal every 5 games pre-Guardiola to now scoring 1 goal every 2 games.

I know its not a fair comparison but with England, Sterling scores 1 goal every 6 games (prior to his hattrick vs the Czechs last month his ratio was actually 1 goal every 7 games). England score fewer goals than City so we can't expect Sterling to be as prolific but you'd think an improving Sterling would perform better for England but that has not been the case.

I don't doubt Sterling would continue to improve on his own but Guardiola has undoubtedly enhanced his progression through some minor but important changes. The one thing Guardiola cannot control is what decisions Sterling makes and this is the difference between Sterling being a very good player, and one of the top 5-10 players in the game. For now I see him being on the level of guys like Robben, Di Maria, Pedro, etc who were gamechangers in their prime but far too often made bad decisions which resulted in them being upper 2nd tier players. The 1st tier guys (e.g. Messi, Ronaldo, etc) make the right decision the majority of the time.

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:42 am
by tfco
Heliopolis wrote:Too many emotional and brain dead dudes on this forum.

Just because a player is young and has a high transfer value does it mean their career will necessarily have an upward trajectory. For every Raheem Sterling you have other players in a similar circumstance that fails to materially improve.

Watch Sterling pre- and during Guardiola to understand the argument being made here. Guardiola has imposed tactical discipline on Sterling which has made the guy virtually unstoppable. He plays so wide it is difficult for defenders to mark him and the guy is so fast that defenders can't keep up with his late runs. The result is he has gone from scoring 1 goal every 5 games pre-Guardiola to now scoring 1 goal every 2 games.

I know its not a fair comparison but with England, Sterling scores 1 goal every 6 games (prior to his hattrick vs the Czechs last month his ratio was actually 1 goal every 7 games). England score fewer goals than City so we can't expect Sterling to be as prolific but you'd think an improving Sterling would perform better for England but that has not been the case.

I don't doubt Sterling would continue to improve on his own but Guardiola has undoubtedly enhanced his progression through some minor but important changes. The one thing Guardiola cannot control is what decisions Sterling makes and this is the difference between Sterling being a very good player, and one of the top 5-10 players in the game. For now I see him being on the level of guys like Robben, Di Maria, Pedro, etc who were gamechangers in their prime but far too often made bad decisions which resulted in them being upper 2nd tier players. The 1st tier guys (e.g. Messi, Ronaldo, etc) make the right decision the majority of the time.
you've written a lot but said nothing

thank you anyway.

20/21 year old moves for record money, but his transformation to an elite footballer has been because of bald fraud
Is SAF credited for Ronaldo's rise to super stardom...or is it the player's hard work and dedication to his craft?

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:55 am
by Heliopolis

you've written a lot but said nothing

thank you anyway.

20/21 year old moves for record money, but his transformation to an elite footballer has been because of bald fraud
Is SAF credited for Ronaldo's rise to super stardom...or is it the player's hard work and dedication to his craft?
By that logic what is the point of having coaches? I guess players just develop on their own without guidance from coaches, family, friends, etc.

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 6:00 am

You seem very hurt! :lol: :lol: :lol:

I ask you again, did you see Sterling when he played false 9 under Brendan Rodgers?

let me let Brendan remind you-- he promoted Raheem, remember that: