1996 Olympics: Nigeria vs Brazil. Ballers galore

Ballers all over.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Re: 1996 Olympics: Nigeria vs Brazil. Ballers galore

Kanu was only 19 in that game. How didn't we win 98?

kalani JR wrote:Kanu was only 19 in that game. How didn't we win 98?
98 WC or ANC ?
ANC = Banned or boycott or whatever

WC = Overestimating Denmark and I believe infighting. Damn Shame...
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

juventuss wrote:
98 WC or ANC ?

98 for me remains our worst world cup showing relative to the available talent and expectations. Total waste that was a representation for what nigeria was then.
Godfather

Post by Godfather »

Notice how the commentator sound so deflected when Naija score the third and fourth goal. He didn't scream the usual goooooooaaaaaaaaallllll, golaso. The thing sweet me well well. The coaches should be show the current team this tape before any match. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
“Achebe was a writer in whose company the Prison walls fell down.” – Dr. Nelson Mandela.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

That Brazilian team with a couple of additions dominated France 98 2 years later.

Our 1996 olympic team was actually stronger than our 1998 WC team. Amuneke, Amokachi were both injured in 1998. Joseph Dosu was better than any goalkeepr we have in 1998. Kanu was post-surgery and not as sharp as he was in 96.
Last edited by amafolas on Tue Jul 14, 2015 2:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
nko

Post by nko »

'Prince of Monaco' - Victor Ikpeba was great in that game.

amafolas wrote:That Brazilian team with a couple of additions dominated France 98 2 years later.

Our 1996 olympic team was actually stronger than our 1998 WC team. Amuneke, Amokachi were both injured in 1998. Joseph Dosu was better than any goalkeepr we have in 1998.
This game Oliseh was bench warmer that is how loaded this team was.
If this team had gone to France 98 with the hope to win the whole thing.Semi final was the minimum after the way they spank Spain and end up mess everything against Denmark.
Befor this World cup we have players bigger than Zidan

juventuss wrote:
98 WC or ANC ?

98 for me remains our worst world cup showing relative to the available talent and expectations. Total waste that was a representation for what nigeria was then.

Well, the signs of our defensive weakness were already showing here in 96. The discipline wasn't there for the defensive unit. The fist goal vs Brazil is still paining me. How the heck did the defenders and Dosu allow a Brasilian player to be part of the wall? That is like comic book footie...it was already obvious to me the guy was going to vacate his position to create a hole for the shooter!

Babangida sef...glorious opportunity to put Kanu one-on-one and he doesn't bother to look for an open teammate in a great position.

amafolas wrote:That Brazilian team with a couple of additions dominated France 98 2 years later.

Our 1996 olympic team was actually stronger than our 1998 WC team. Amuneke, Amokachi were both injured in 1998. Joseph Dosu was better than any goalkeepr we have in 1998.
If this team had gone to France 98 with the hope to win the whole thing.Semi final was the minimum after the way they spank Spain and end up mess everything against Denmark.

not true.

African Star

Post by African Star »

How the mighty SE has fallen, most of these players were important players for top clubs in the top leagues now it's big news when Emunike signs for some team in some country that I don't even know.

Oliseh has his work cut out for him to restore Nigeria football but I think he is up to the job if given the latitude and time.
“Whoever invented football should be worshiped as a God.” Hugo Sanchez, Mexican soccer player and coach

not true.
WTF lol, Oliseh had a card problems...

African Star wrote:How the mighty SE has fallen, most of these players were important players for top clubs in the top leagues now it's big news when Emunike signs for some team in some country that I don't even know.

Oliseh has his work cut out for him to restore Nigeria football but I think he is up to the job if given the latitude and time.

Another inaccurate statement. Only Ikpeba, Kanu and Amokachi can arguably be said to be to be in top clubs in top leagues with Monaco, Ajax and Everton. Even Oliseh himself has admitted that the players had something to prove because they had either had poor seasons or were looking to establish themselves in new clubs.

fishward

Post by fishward »

Abeg hire Bonfere as an assistant okare
For evil too prosper it only needs men of goodwill to stand by Idile and do nothing!

not true.
I think he was injured or somn cos he played the very next game in the final v Argentina

juventuss wrote:[/video]

Ballers all over.
I just love that Babayaro 'Headless Chicken' walk after his goal. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Unforgettable

Oliseh was suspended for the game. Second yellow in the quarter final against Mexico.
obaGol

Post by obaGol »

African Star wrote:How the mighty SE has fallen, most of these players were important players for top clubs in the top leagues now it's big news when Emunike signs for some team in some country that I don't even know.

Another inaccurate statement. Only Ikpeba, Kanu and Amokachi can arguably be said to be to be in top clubs in top leagues with Monaco, Ajax and Everton. Even Oliseh himself has admitted that the players had something to prove because they had either had poor seasons or were looking to establish themselves in new clubs.
*ahem*
Tijani_Babangida - Ajax: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tijani_Babangida
Celestine_Babayaro - Anderlecht (Chelsea in 97): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celestine_Babayaro
Sunday Oliseh - FC Köln (Ajax in 97) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunday_Oliseh
Jay Jay Okocha - Eintracht Frankfurt https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jay-Jay_Okocha

Our boys would be lucky to get into some of these clubs today

I still insist Dosu was very average in this tournament.
asheq almozmar

Post by asheq almozmar »

https://youtu.be/SgP8oFis9cc

I think Brazil match was the turning point cus after watching Mexico match i think the perfomance wasnt good!

fishward wrote:Abeg hire Bonfere as an assistant okare
KPOM!

:thumbs: :thumbs:

juventuss wrote:
98 WC or ANC ?

I heard a lot of sh!1t went down in 98. From trying to sabotage Bora during friendlies so that Abacha would sack him and re-hire Bonfrere to players over partying before the Denmark game assuming that they were already guaranteed a QF spot vs Brazil. I heard some unflattering things about players including a prominent one banging two chicks possibly at the same time mid tourney.

We wasted the 94 generation cos they could've easily won three ANCs (94, 96, 98 and maybe even 2000), the Olympic gold (which they did win), and at least made the WC QF which would've been a helluva legacy. Their underachivement was all mostly self inflicted.

juventuss wrote:
98 WC or ANC ?

I heard a lot of sh!1t went down in 98. From trying to sabotage Bora during friendlies so that Abacha would sack him and re-hire Bonfrere to players over partying before the Denmark game assuming that they were already guaranteed a QF spot vs Brazil. I heard some unflattering things about players including a prominent one banging two chicks possibly at the same time mid tourney.

We wasted the 94 generation cos they could've easily won three ANCs (94, 96, 98 and maybe even 2000), the Olympic gold (which they did win), and at least made the WC QF which would've been a helluva legacy. Their underachivement was all mostly self inflicted.
This right here is a fallacy that has been pedaled over the years. Considering naija football's propensity to self destruct with regularity, doing anything easily would more likely had been screwing things up than winning 3 ANC's back to back