VINCENT ENYEAMA QUITS SE; SAYS I HAVE FOUGHT THE GOOD FIGHT

Vincent Enyeama retires from international football. This is not good for Nigeria. Sunday Oliseh who also left the national team unceremoniously in 2002 should have known better how to handle a difficult situation like this.

https://instagram.com/p/8klzn7Tao3/
How do I embed this Instagram stuff like we do Twitter. Someone, pls, do that.
Last edited by anointed on Thu Oct 08, 2015 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Re: VINCENT ENYEAMA [QUITS]: I HAVE FOUGHT THE GOOD FIGHT

Best way to go out and very mature.

Good luck to him and all. I will miss him.

To be honest these guys do Nigeria a massive service for which we hardly appreciate them.

Imagine being walked out by an immature coach when one is bereaved. That must be hard to take under any circumstance.

trae_z
Re: VINCENT ENYEAMA QUITS SE; SAY I HAVE FOUGHT THE GOOD FIG

Post by trae_z »

Guys please confirm that this is 7pm Belgium time thus 6pm Nigerian time?
zoro

Post by zoro »

Good action. Olise and his group will pay for the cries of the motherless.
IGBOS ARE THE IMPORTANT AND USEFUL SLAVES OF NIGERIA. THEY HAVE A CHOICE TO MAKE.

I really pray they are not cocky and feel he is not needed cause of the performance of Carl in one game.
They seem to have a new bride so to hell with the old wife. I pray he feels the big shoes being left behind and also wish him all the best.

Only a moron would think that Carl stacks up to Enyeama.

Ikeme is not fit to clean the rag that washes Enyeama's gloves.

Nigeria has lost a great, because of the stupidity of Oliseh and the NFF.

but Ikeme will do an alright job I feel. He will definitely not be an Enyeama, but he will be just fine.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
trae_z

Post by trae_z »

You guys should stop it with the premature ejaculation. He's served us well but no one is indispensable as if he was injured the game would still go on.

Ikeme is looking sharp. Alampasu is the future. Daniel Akpeyi who did well in the 1 all draw away to South Africa should also be re-invited subsequently.

Not surprised. I did not see a way he could go back with all that has been said by both parties, but especially by Oliseh. Besides, Enyeama has been talking about retirement for a while. He wasn't going to be with Nigeria for ever. Kudos to an able servant, i hope that he gets a testimonial when things have settled down.

Thanks, Vinny. You made that phenomenal save @ the WC in 2002 from a Schole's goal-bound shot to announce your arrival. We will never forget your services. We remember your phenomenal game vs Argentina in 2006. We remember your captaining us to win ANC. We remember you hero PK performance at ANC 2004.

Thanks for serving Naija.

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Thanks, Vinny. You made that phenomenal save @ the WC in 2002 from a Schole's goal-bound shot to announce your arrival. We will never forget your services. We remember your phenomenal game vs Argentina in 2006. We remember your captaining us to win ANC. We remember you hero PK performance at ANC 2004.

:agree: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Re: VINCENT ENYEAMA QUITS SE; SAYS I HAVE FOUGHT THE GOOD FI

Ikeme is injury prone so I suggest that Oliseh start looking for an able backup now.

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Thanks, Vinny. You made that phenomenal save @ the WC in 2002 from a Schole's goal-bound shot to announce your arrival. We will never forget your services. We remember your phenomenal game vs Argentina in 2006. We remember your captaining us to win ANC. We remember you hero PK performance at ANC 2004.

:agree: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Just rewatched the PK vs Tunisia and still had goose bumps.

Many thanks Vincent! My favourite SE player!

When he arrived, many frowned because good goalkeepers are never short. But he proved us wrong and although he waited and waited to join the big league waiting in the fringes in Israel until finally Lille came calling. He then proceeded to become not only key to Lille but also to the SE. Is he retiring too early? Of course because keepers can retain their peak till age 40 and above. Was all the recent drama necessary? Absolutely not. But still...

Thanks, Vince Enyeama for those 13 years. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Thanks Vinny for your contribution, hopefully you will consider returning after Oliseh is fired.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

My worry is not about the wahala that unfolded in camp.
Wahala is normal in training camps; expect it in an environment populated by testesterone-laden guys.

My worry is about the manner of exit of the most-capped player in 9ja history.

Instead of Enyeama's final exit being celebratory, it has become the final curtain of a disgraceful drama.

Sadder still, a former player (who ought to know better) has emerged as the major protagonist in continuing this latest chapter of maladministration.

Our culture of irreverence of our heroes needs to stop.

Let a coach nurse his ego - show me a coach with zero ego, and I'll show you a loser - but a coach's ego must function for the ultimate success of the team.

I sincerely hope Oliseh has heard the last of the incident that happened a few days ago.
Whether he likes it or not, his tenure as SEagles coach may depend on it.
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

Best Super Eagles keeper of all time.
kdk4christ

Post by kdk4christ »

One of Nigeria's best goal keepers Vincent Enyeama, who announced his retirement from the National squad this morning, has left the camp. He is pictured left with Oma Akatugba, a football presenter and analyst who said Mikel Obi, Emenike and a few other players pleaded with Enyeama to stay but he refused.
*JESUS LOVES YOU* More Than You Know

"When we die we leave behind us all that we have, and take with us all that we are."

imehjunior wrote:I really pray they are not cocky and feel he is not needed cause of the performance of Carl in one game.
They seem to have a new bride so to hell with the old wife. I pray he feels the big shoes being left behind and also wish him all the best.
Oliseh has written Chapter One of his own demise with this incident. I don't now the ins and outs and who was wrong or right, but whatever the case, he should have settled the disagreement amicably.
Enyeama is a legend and we do not have legends coming along every day.
Very sad day for Nigeria's football.

I would have preferred Vincent to retire under more pleasant circumstances so we can officially wish him all the best in retirement via a testimonial or something...I dont think this was handled maturely by the FA and coach, and perhaps he has some fault in this too but its disappointing that our heroes are not allowed to retire with glowing ovation

Regardless wishing him all the best...

I was sitting directly behind the goal in the second half of that Argentina match in 2010 as he was deflecting Messi's countless shots..we all had our hearts in our mouths as Messi was bearing down earlier on but with time, we all knew grew to know we had a rock in the great Vincent Enyeama when Messi was coming in for another attack

Enyi wrote:Ikeme is injury prone so I suggest that Oliseh start looking for an able backup now.
If there was an 'able back up' as you put it, we would have all known about him.

The point is, goalkeepers of the very top quality do not come two a kobo. I personally feel very bitter towards Oliseh right now, even though I do not know who's fault this whole fiasco is. And I am sure I speak for many Nigerians.

akamoke wrote:I would have preferred Vincent to retire under more pleasant circumstances so we can officially wish him all the best in retirement via a testimonial or something...I dont think this was handled maturely by the FA and coach, and perhaps he has some fault in this too but its disappointing that our heroes are not allowed to retire with glowing ovation

Regardless wishing him all the best...

I was sitting directly behind the goal in the second half of that Argentina match in 2010 as he was deflecting Messi's countless shots..we all had our hearts in our mouths as Messi was bearing down earlier on but with time, we all knew grew to know we had a rock in the great Vincent Enyeama when Messi was coming in for another attack
Exactly.
I am so sad. He is still performing at his very best levels and its just a damn waste of talent, experience and being one of the few world class players we have had in all our history, it is the perfect example of how we fritter away the few valuable assets we have as a nation.
Pathetic.

This guy is one of the few Nigerian players that I can say I respected even in my most cynical stage. He is one of those that I followed his development from the local league to Israel and then to France. He is a living legend of the Nigerian game. He should not be leaving the scene like this.

We give far more respect to those who haven't achieved one fifth of what this guy has done for Nigeria. I wish you the best of luck in your club career and hope that when Oliseh is sacked, you come back.

I am sure Messi is at this point calling the Argentinian FA to organise a friendly against that team in GWG!!