Victor Osimhen from Lagos Slum to World Stage

Re: Victor Osimhen from Lagos Slum to World Stage

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Cellular wrote:Nice heartwarming story.

See how he coach took him in.

Tomorrow an agent will just swoop in and when he gets slapped the natives will be wondering why is the coach so upset. :taunt:
See how his brother sacrificed for him as well, Some CE will come and tell us he doesnt owe his family anything, Africans are always begging etc etc
kali

Post by kali »

heavyd wrote:
Goldleaf wrote:Such a moving inspirational story. Congratulations to the family of Victor Osimhen and I hope he changes the lives of his family for good. It will be so easy for Emmanuel Amuneke to motivate this kind of soul because all to say is "Remember where you are from and that you still owe the bread seller N200. Life has now given you the opportunity to change your world. Now go out there and take what has been given to you."

Just to think when the likes of a hungry Osimhen shoves aside a European who has been wearing full kit, shin-pads and stud boots from the age of 4 playing on well grassed pitches and scores and scores, the only thing a fellow African can wonder is whether Osimhen's age is for real. Life is just so interesting.
Remember its not just Africans who came from a poverty striken background. Most South Americans also can point to similar tales of poverty and hardship in their early life.

I saw a documentary on Alexis Sanchez and he similarly came from a very poor background as well. His mum worked various jobs to make ends meet including washing fish, selling flowers and cleaning the local school. Sanchez himself used to perform acrobatics in the street at age 6 to earn a few pesos!

So peope like Sanchez, Suarez, even Maradona were all shaped and driven by their background. They have a burning desire to succeed which crucially doesnt diminish even when they have "made it". Hopefully Victor will "make it" and will not lose that hunger and drive that got him there in the first place.
Exactly. At least from the interview it appears he is surrounded by good people like his friend who encouraged him to go for trials and his brother who realizes that he needs to be developed. Amunike gave him a chance to shine and he shouldn't forget his teammates who provided a platform platform. Success has many fathers. Lets hope Victor can become a greater striker than even Drogba.
asabatex

Post by asabatex »

:thumbs:

:bump: :bump: :bump:

Lest we forget.
May his star continue to rise,,,,

I called this years ago...una suppose to begin give me money..the amount of football knowledge, energy and time I have invested on CE first free is no joke..other websites will go crazy for such talents

Thank God for Amuneke. Say what you want about local coaches but hus role in spotting that talent should not be overlooked.

...all or 95% of Nigerian footballers come from the slum, the rest at least got some formal to university education.

mcal wrote:...all or 95% of Nigerian footballers come from the slum, the rest at least got some formal to university education.
I think Ighalo has a similar story.

He always wants to win – friends

Many of his friends testified to the fact that Osimhen is a gentle, reserved and almost an introvert, but some of them following close encounters have found out over the years that the striker usually loses his cool on the football pitch. “He is a fighter when playing football so we are not surprised to see him like that in the Nigerian team,” Orji said.

“Whenever we are playing kick-about football in the community, you could incur his wrath if as a teammate you didn’t play well. He wants to win every game, he can shout at you, abuse you if you stop him from winning.” “He is a tough opponent as well as sometimes a difficult teammate.
He wants you to give as much as he is giving to the team and if you fall short of that, he can pick up quarrel, that is the time you will see him in bad mood,”
This sort of backs up what Ogu was hinting at in his video when he mentioned Osimhen getting into a 'fight' with Leon Balogun in training.
"The boy is hungry", but as he matures he'll be in better control of his temperament.
:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: