Etebo

Etebo

This guy reminds me a bit of Oruma. Stocky, strong, lightning quick and good technique striking the ball. The most impressive thing about him though is the way he can take over games...very exciting prospect.
Re: Etebo

He actually reminds me of Samson Siasia.

airwolex wrote:This guy reminds me a bit of Oruma. Stocky, strong, lightning quick and good technique striking the ball. The most impressive thing about him though is the way he can take over games...very exciting prospect.
someone else said Amokachi but i think you re spot on with this comparison
he has Oruma's directness and knack for goals
but he doesn't have Amo's deft flick-ons or vision in/around the 18 yard box
if he can add assists to his artillery he will turn out to be something truly special
another fantastic find by siasia

smartbrother wrote:
airwolex wrote:This guy reminds me a bit of Oruma. Stocky, strong, lightning quick and good technique striking the ball. The most impressive thing about him though is the way he can take over games...very exciting prospect.
if he can add assists to his artillery he will turn out to be something truly special
The same Etebo who made his senior debut two years ago or another one?! :blink:

Image[/

smartbrother wrote:

Image[/

smartbrother wrote:

Image[/
Be careful dem go begin insult you with ignorance and 'feelings' based arguments.
ikemba

Post by ikemba »

smartbrother wrote:

Image[/

smartbrother wrote:

Image[/
dude any dunce like Keshi can cap a player.
the guy probably capped nearly a 1000 different players during his three year reign.
99% of them were capped once or twice never to return again. That isnt player discovery.
When i talk about discovery I mean don't mean mindlessly capping players but integrating them into your project and developing them into genuine assets for Nigeria

smartbrother wrote:

Image[/
out of curiosity why do you keep replying to my posts?

ikemba wrote:
smartbrother wrote:

Image[/
Fact is without Siasia Etebo would not be the player we are all so excited about today
You can say the same for Mikel, Obasi, Nsofor,Taiwo, Apam, Olubayo (RIP), Oduduwa, Ajayi and so many others
Contrast that list of players with those Keshi discovered and tried to integrate such as Mba, Babatunde, Uzoenyi, Uchebo and Gabriel Reuben

smartbrother wrote:

Image[/
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

smartbrother wrote:

Image[/
out of curiosity why do you keep replying to my posts?
:lol: to put a "smart bomb" under your arse!!, not too smart!! eeh!!! :rotf: :rotf:

smartbrother wrote:

Image[/
the guy probably capped nearly a 1000 different players during his three year reign.
99% of them were capped once or twice never to return again. That isnt player discovery.
When i talk about discovery I mean don't mean mindlessly capping players but integrating them into your project and developing them into genuine assets for Nigeria
A new definition of discovery. Only on SE :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
seloweizer

Post by seloweizer »

smartbrother wrote:

Image[/
Choi!
Look who is Here Again!

In all fairness....Smartbrother has a point.

Keshi probably capped 2000 players in his tenure. I wouldn't exactly use Keshi caps, as a yardstick for anything.

bobo had no clear direction.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:In all fairness....Smartbrother has a point.

Keshi probably capped 2000 players in his tenure. I wouldn't exactly use Keshi caps, as a yardstick for anything.

Combining CHAN SE and full SE will give any coach the over 100 capped players(you guys exaggeration is fully noted).

In terms of direction, it was just an ANC GOLD medal for direction. I guess he took the wrong one. My bad. :sneaky:

smartbrother wrote:

Image[/
Seriously, it doesn't appear these players have gone on to greater things...consistently, that is, cos the question could be asked that, Where are they now? Let's just hope Etebo is a different specie.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Tbite wrote:In all fairness....Smartbrother has a point.

Ironic from the dude that posted the pic two years ago...
Thankfully, we did not have to suffer through another dissertation on it.

kawawa wrote:
smartbrother wrote:

Image[/

The bob is useless. :boo:

aruako1 wrote:
kawawa wrote:
smartbrother wrote:

Image[/

aruako1 wrote:
kawawa wrote:
smartbrother wrote:

Image[/
Na naija man be that for you,instead of simply admitting he is wrong...he wohld get a bigger spade to dig deeper. Common sense says that 2 years ago he probably was still raw but Keshi saw the potentials.but probably not ready,aplty so and a possibility why he went under the radar..Being capped for u23 is not rocket science,may be that is his level for now. Makes me wonder just in case i am on another planet...what does it mean to discover a talent...is this a Mungo Park discovering river niger scenario? Naija man struggles to admit he is simply wrong. :D

The thing is that many here do not exactly agree on what the word "discovering a player" means. Does it mean the first coach to invite a player to NT or the first coach to debut a player at NT level. Which one is it? For instance, can we state that Siasia discover Awoniyi? If not, did Siasia discover Mikel Obi? Did Keshi discover Onazi? Did Keshi discover Emenike or was it Siasia that discovered him?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics