Page 1 of 2

How do you rate Gerd Müller?

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:49 am
by kofi86
Out of curiousity where would you place Gerd Müller? All-time great, or great player for his time etc.

Re: How do you rate Gerd Müller?

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:11 pm
by balo
Never saw him play in a real game. But from the video excerpts I have seen of him jumping like a frog after his tap-ins, he probably won't make a first 50 all time.

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:14 pm
kofi86 wrote:Out of curiousity where would you place Gerd Müller? All-time great, or great player for his time etc.
same place you placed Alex Nyarko

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:27 pm
by joao
Muller fits into his time and team and is always well positioned.
Though not always involved in the build-up, but knows how to tuck the ball in.
Great talent that fits into the system of his time.

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:29 pm
by Waffiman
joao wrote:Muller fits into his time and team and is always well positioned.
Still to me, one of the greatest strikers. His record speaks for itself. Born to score goals.

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:34 pm
by joao
Still to me, one of the greatest strikers. His record speaks for itself. Born to score goals.
Just like Inzaghi of Milan/Italy.

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:36 pm
by Waffiman
joao wrote:
Far better than Inzaghi. :D :D :D :D

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:46 pm
by joao
joao wrote:
Maybe with goals scored, but they do exact same thing. Invisible most of the game, and gbam! scores.
Both know how to position themselves, and rarely miss a chance. Very opportunistic.

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:58 pm
by Waffiman
joao wrote:
joao wrote:
Maybe with goals scored, but they do exact same thing. Invisible most of the game, and gbam! scores.
Both know how to position themselves, and rarely miss a chance. Very opportunistic.
Rarely missing a chance was Gerd Muller. Inzaghi missed a few. You are spot on about them being invisible, then they hurt you and you wonder how come, this guy cannot even play. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:01 pm
by platinum
joao wrote:
joao wrote:

The original miroslav klose :rotf:

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:37 pm
by bamenda boy
balo wrote:Never saw him play in a real game. But from the video excerpts I have seen of him jumping like a frog after his tap-ins, he probably won't make a first 50 all time.
So you did not watch the world cup huh?

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:03 pm
by balo
bamenda boy wrote:
balo wrote:Never saw him play in a real game. But from the video excerpts I have seen of him jumping like a frog after his tap-ins, he probably won't make a first 50 all time.

Not the World cup of his time.

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:48 pm
by tfco
bamenda boy wrote:

[not] Thomas Muller

AFCON 2017
E go sweet o

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:51 pm
by Vincent.
kofi86 wrote:Out of curiousity where would you place Gerd Müller? All-time great, or great player for his time etc.
I know nothing about him apart from anecdotes

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:05 pm
by platinum
bamenda boy wrote:

[not] Thomas Muller

AFCON 2017
E go sweet o
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 9:31 am
by kofi86
joao wrote:
joao wrote:

The original miroslav klose :rotf:

But Miroslav Klose was one of the most unselfish top strikers I have seen.
During his 3 Bundesliga seasons with Werder Bremen he scored 53 goals and assisted 39.

Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 9:32 am
by kofi86
The reason I opened this thread is because of Cristiano Ronaldo. Lots of people argue that he scores so many goals and is one of the best players ever, yet Gerd Müller, who is hardly mentioned in such discussions, had an even better scoring record than Ronaldo.

Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 4:29 pm
by balo
kofi86 wrote:The reason I opened this thread is because of Cristiano Ronaldo. Lots of people argue that he scores so many goals and is one of the best players ever, yet Gerd Müller, who is hardly mentioned in such discussions, had an even better scoring record than Ronaldo.

When was the last time Mueller played? If he was active today and as good as he was, we would be spending time discussing him.

Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:16 pm
bamenda boy wrote:

[not] Thomas Muller

AFCON 2017
E go sweet o
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: i bet you bamidele was thinking of the Bayern Muller..kai

Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:17 pm
kofi86 wrote:The reason I opened this thread is because of Cristiano Ronaldo. Lots of people argue that he scores so many goals and is one of the best players ever, yet Gerd Müller, who is hardly mentioned in such discussions, had an even better scoring record than Ronaldo.
you need help if you are comparing muller to Cron..my goodness

Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:18 pm

Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:21 pm

Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:25 pm
more for kofi who claims Muller is on par with CRon..nah real wah for some of una for this forum