ONLY GOD WILL REPAY....ONLY HIM CAN REPAY.

I Was Raped!

The story of a 5-year-old girl
Adeyeye Joseph writes the story of Bola (not real name), a five-year-old girl who was allegedly raped by a 23-year-old trusted family friend. The story is as narrated by Bola and a family source.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The only sound she remembered uttering was an "Ah! Not a scream, not a shout, only a whimper. "I did not scream. I only shouted Ah!" said Bola, a 5-year-old girl who, with her family, alleged that she was raped by 23-year-old Valentine.

Bola recounted all that happened in a clear, almost bored voice, last week. Like any kid her age, she had her sight on other things. Bola was more interested in playing with the pen that was on the table, and later a sheaf of paper, and much later just anything in sight.

"He asked me to lie down. I said why Brother Okechukwu and he said just lie down. I said I am going home, my mother would have come back."

The two, according to the accounts by Bola and a relation of hers, were alone at the time. The room, a converted storeroom was said to be Okechukwu's. Since it was never built to serve as a room, it was separated from the home area. It was also the closest room to the staircase of the massive apartment building.

The Nigeria Police Force Barracks, Falomo, Ikoyi, Lagos, where the tragic drama was said to have played itself out that evening is a community of disparate dwellers. It houses the families of both men (rank and file) and officers of the Nigeria Police Force. Ordinarily, Bola and Okechukwu live in two different worlds. Just like Okechukwu's father, Bola's parents are both policemen. But they are of the rank and file. Bola's father is an Inspector and her mother a Sergeant. Both were only recently promoted. Okechukwu's father is an Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP). In the strict hierarchy governed relationships within the barracks, neither the lower officer, nor his spouse or wards are ordinarily welcome in the home or life of a senior officer.

"Officers' wives treat the other ranks, and their spouses with disdain. They treat them with contempt," a female journalist who reported the police and their activities for several years said.

But Bola was welcome in the home of the Okechukwu's parents, any time. These were godparents to her parents when they got wedded at a Catholic church at the neighbourhood some 19 years ago.

Ordinarily, Bola is a precocious happy-go-lucky vivacious little girl. Her language is bright and cheery. And her voice tinged with hesitant bits of innocence. She is the kind of kid who would steal all the attention at a children's party, the type that would attract the, "Oh! she's so cute" comments that all parents really love to hear.

According to Bola, Okechukwu a feisty second year university student, had called her as she made her way down the stairs of the building after a visit.

She said she rebuffed him, urging: "Brother, let me go, my mother would be back..."

But Okechukwu allegedly was in no mood for the rebuff. Rather, he half dragged and half cajoled Bola into the room.

"Then he puts his toto in my bom-bom," Bola said, pausing for a moment as the the relation with her snatched the pen she was playing with Bola had, and returned to her romps. In her innocence, had called Okechukwu's male organ toto, the appellation by which the female organ is called in Pidgin English.

After the act, she said Okechukwu asked her to leave, but not without warning her:

"He warned me not to tell any body, that if I tell any one I would die. I wanted to tell my Mummy when I got home, but I later changed my mind," Bola said.

Perhaps if she had, Bola would never have had cause to allege that Okechukwu struck again. But Bola never reported.

When she got home that evening, Bola kept her ordeal to herself. Neither the househelp nor her mother was told that anything happened. Few weeks later, the two families would have cause to be at a wedding where Okechukwu played the big brother without anyone knowing anything was amiss.

On January 7 this year, at about 10:00 p.m., Okechukwu allegedly struck again. Bola's mother had gone to her duty post and Bola was at home with the househelp. When Bola asked the househelp to allow her pay the other family a visit, the househelp gave her permission without much ado. But how could a five-year old have such unhindered access to the house of a neighbour even at night?

"I know everybody and everybody knows me. I met the father and the sisters at home and we began watching television," Bola said. "I don't even knock when I go to their house."

After watching TV with the family for a while, Bola departed for home at about the time she felt her mother would be on her way from office. She alleged that Okechukwu was waiting again at the foot of the stairs.

"Bola. Bola. Bola," he was said to have called out.

Bola is an only child. When they got married Bola's mother had problems conceiving. The couple had to wait for 13 years. It was in the fourteenth year of the parents' marriage that Bola was conceived. Tried as they did in the years following Bola's birth, they have not succeeded in their efforts to have more children. Those years were filled with the agony of a long wait and the pain of dashed hopes. Their suffering made them to take a decision not to spare any expense in providing comfort and a good education for Bola. Even though Bola was no longer a toddler, they got an househelp. Bola was registered in a good fee-paying school in the neighbourhood.

As if showing appreciation for her parents' efforts, Bola had also began to show promises of rewarding their effort, time and energy in the future. She was posting good results at school. In the entire estate, she was only allowed to visit Okechukwu's family whose members knew the bitter-sweet story of the couple.

Okechukwu's parents have eight children, Okechukwu being one of three boys and unlike his other siblings she is said to have an unwholesome reputation in the barracks.

"Come in Bola," he allegedly said, waving Bola in the direction of his room.

"Brother I am going home, my mother would be back..."

Bola said Okechukwu, again, lured her into the store turned bedroom.

"I said no, but he placed me on his leg and he..."

She said Okechukwu 'put his toto in my bom-bom" and warned her again. "Did you tell your mummy the last one? If you tell any body you would die o'.

According to the relation, Okechukwu's nickname among his peers in the Barracks is Bandit. Though a second year law student he is said to have a reputation as a tough lad.

But in military and police barracks scattered around Nigeria, his types are never the exception. They are the rule. Bola's mother knew all this, but never for once imagined that her five-year old daughter could ever be in danger in, "the hand of a 23-year old man."

There were signals. But which parent would have picked them?

Bola's mother was said to have returned home once to meet Okechukwu watching TV with her child. The househelp was in the kitchen. On seeing Okechukwu, Bola's mother reportedly flared up.

"Okechukwu what do you want here. What are you doing here?

"Aunty I only come to see Bola," he reportedly said.

"What is your own with my daughter. I don't want you here when I am not around..."

Two other visits, according to the relation, would follow the initial one. And on each occasion, Bola's mother would flare up. Her worry, however, was not her daughter; she thought Okechukwu's eyes were on the family TV. She would later rue her lack of foresight.

The 'second time' left Bola in distress. It was with unsteady steps that she walked home. Her mind was groggy with fear, her legs were kept apart by intermittent excrutiating pain. She was sure she would die if she ever told her mother.

Bola walked into her house holding her tummy. Her mother and the househelp were perturbed.

"Bola...Bola what is it...?"

"Mummy I am dying, I am dying"

Thinking the source of her daughter's discomfort was inside her tummy, Bola's mother bent over her prostrate figure and tried to remove her daughter's shirt.

"No Mummy...My pant...My pant"

When she succeeded in pulling her daughter's pant Bola's mother gave an hideous scream. Her husband joined them and the couple watched remnants of their daughter's innocence splattered over her baby pant.

Inside the pant was a congealed mess of sperm, pus and blood. Were it to be pus alone Bola's mother would not have bothered. Weeks before (few days after Okechukwu raped her daughter for the first time) she had noticed pus in her daughter's private part and had taken her to the hospital. The doctor never established the cause of the pus, he only prescribed drugs. Further examination would later reveal the source. Bola had sustained tears the first time Okechukwu raped her. Over time, the untreated wounds had began to putrefy turning into sores.

In garbled tones Bola told her parents her story. Her father never waited for the story to end. He dashed out and made for Okechukwu's family home. Unknown to him, Okechukwu had sighted him from afar and had taken to his heels. But his parents and siblings were at home. On learning of his son's alleged ill-exploits, the father was distraught. (Okechukwu's conduct also left his parents in despair. When THISDAY made efforts to get the parents' side of the story on phone, the father dropped the phone as soon as he was told the enquiries were about Okechukwu. After that he switched off his phone and subsequent efforts made to get him were abortive.) Nevertheless, he made for his son's room only to discover his absence. Quickly he called some youths (Barrack Boys) and asked them to help locate his son. Meanwhile, Bola's mother had arrived at the home with Bola. She was grief stricken and in tears.

From there, Bola was taken to the Onikan Police Station where a complaint was lodged and a police report obtained. After a long hunt, the search party caught up with Okechukwu at the fringe of the barracks. He was making his way home in a cool undisturbed manner.

"Where are you coming from?

"I went to Waterside to ease myself..."

"Why you no use the toilet wey dey house..."

His father arrested him and took him to Onikan Police Station where he was detained.

From Onikan police station, Bola was rushed to the Police Hospital where a medical doctor examined her.

His findings were damning, "Whitish discharge around the vulva, foul smelling labia widely parted exposing vagina..."

The doctor told the parents that Bola and his assailant had to be tested for the HIV virus. Bola was taken to the hospital for the test. She tested negative. Okechukwu was also taken for the same test. But being asked to do an HIV test got Okechukwu mad.

"I will show you that I am a law student. I will join the police and be your officer, then I would deal with you," he was said to have threatened.

Being a case involving police officers, the Divisional Police Officer (DPO) in charge of the Onikan police Station tried to mediate between the parties, but Okechukwu's truculence did little to help his case. Initially, he had even put up a spirited defence of himself.

"After all I was only trying to teach her how to ride a bicycle that was when she fell," Bola's relation claimed he said in his defence.

"But do we have a bicycle Okechukwu!," one of his older siblings, who had begged him to show some remorse, shot back.

Naturally, Okechukwu's bravado only deepen the hurt and the pain felt by Bola's parents.

"So you did this to my daughter...''

"Who would sleep with your daughter that your diseased daughter? Don't you know that she oozes pus from her private part?" he shouted. It was this straw that broke the camel's back. Bola's parents insisted on justice.

On January 12, the day Okechukwu was to appear before an Igbosere Magistrate Court, he did not show up. Bola's parents were at the court. The police never arraigned Okechukwu. The DPO had reportedly asked for more time since it was a 'police case'.

On Friday, January 16, Okechukwu finally appeared in court. The Magistrate granted him bail with very stringent conditions, and ordered that he be remanded in prison till all the conditions were met. Even though she was too young to know if it was a rite of passage, Bola did feel that life had been altered in a way.

Asked how she felt when Okechukwu finished, she said, "I felt angry..."

Meanwhile, Bola and her parents are trying to live a semblance of a normal life. A life, which oscillates between that of a child and an adult. A life that consists of visits to specialists on ailments that should afflict females of Bola's age.

On one of such visits last week, the doctor referred Bola to a gynecologist! A gynecologist for a five year old

No be Naija dem dey? Why person no beat this Okechukwu angel* well well?

ofilis

Post by ofilis »

This *kindperson* called Okechukwu should be stoned to death.
http://www.thetimesofnigeria.com

The Times of Nigeria.
Breaking the news as it happens!
Schillachi
re

Post by Schillachi »

Only God can repay? Abeg go siddon somewhere. na .45 go repay...
NIGERIAN BADBOY!

45 no fit do am. 45 tooooo easy. Na only God fit deal out ultimate punishment.