The English press now comparing LC and Atleti

Re: The English press now comparing LC and Atleti

Bigpokey24 wrote:They both play the same way, but madrid is a much better team
Very insightful input! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

This comparison is an insult to Atleti and La Liga fans. But we shouldn't be surprised. If you can't beat them, I guess you join them

I haven't seen any articles could you please share?
rasak74

Post by rasak74 »

Gudo wrote:
YUJAM wrote:Unbelievable! :lol:

But that's typical. Not to take anything away from LC but they haven't proved anything other than win a title in a rather mediocre league this season
Yujam I think it's a valid comparison. Both teams of limited means punching above their weight.

Why even bother to explain :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Internet gangster
Uses the internet as a front for acting like a tough guy gang member, usually because they are hoping to gain the respect that they lack in their real life. Don't be fooled........This person is a sham. This person is not actually an attack dog, they are a timid house cat.
Troll
One who deliberately starts an argument in a manner which attacks others on a forum without in any way listening to the arguments proposed by his or her peers.
Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

analyzer wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Yujam and vincent doing their best to distance their beloved la liga team from LC.

Abeg Vincent, how many times have you watched LC outside of games vs top opposition.. :taunt: :taunt:

Athleti is a glorified LC with significantly better players.. Foundation of their football - tight defense and counter attack is similar IMO.
How they decide to execute can be put up for debate.
I have watched a lot of Leicester matches this season, probably about 15 times. Leicester plays more or less the same. What we are saying is that Atletico play in a different way against mid-table and smaller La Liga teams than they play against Barca, Real Madrid, Bayern (which is what most people see). In fact, at the beginning of this season, they were playing possession football before reverting to type.

Their styles of defending and attacking are different. The transitions from defense to attack are different. The positional play/ passing and movement are different.
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009

Atleti is the third biggest team in Spain, and were third on the favorites list to win the title. They weren't highly favored but they were darkhorses. LCFC was favored to get relegated.

Vincent. wrote:

Yujam and vincent doing their best to distance their beloved la liga team from LC.

Abeg Vincent, how many times have you watched LC outside of games vs top opposition.. :taunt: :taunt:

Athleti is a glorified LC with significantly better players.. Foundation of their football - tight defense and counter attack is similar IMO.
I have watched a lot of Leicester matches this season, probably about 15 times. Leicester plays more or less the same. What we are saying is that Atletico play in a different way against mid-table and smaller La Liga teams than they play against Barca, Real Madrid, Bayern (which is what most people see). In fact, at the beginning of this season, they were playing possession football before reverting to type.

Their styles of defending and attacking are different. The transitions from defense to attack are different. The positional play/ passing and movement are different.

Even the way they counterattack is widely different, from both the starting point, the number of players used, the type of delivery, etc...So is the defensive organization, and especially, Atleti play within tight spaces, because their defensive organization is built around squeezing space...

But then again, why bother with bother with these people...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

It is quite laughable that this comparison is being made especially when one considers it is being made by folks who claim not to watch La Liga ;-)

Vincent. wrote:

Even the way they counterattack is widely different, from both the starting point, the number of players used, the type of delivery, etc...So is the defensive organization, and especially, Atleti play within tight spaces, because their defensive organization is built around squeezing space...

Vincent. wrote:

You guys are now clutching straws.

Next you will be telling us that even the way Atletico takes its throw ins is much different, even the way the Atletico keeper punches the ball is widely different :laugh:

It just occurred to me that Atleti have regularly had a high turnover of strikers. From Torres, Aguerro, Falcao to Costa yet they are still competitive.

Atletico will win the CL.

Both stand accused of resuscitating the 4-4-2, voluntarily conceding possession, defending ardently and countering to devastating effect. To suggest there is absolutely no synonymity between the two, in layterms, as is always the intention of tabloids, is to cry difference for the sake of it. Are they one and the same? No, but without doubt there is congruence between their desired styles. The same could be said of many other sides. What Leicester have achieved far exceeds Simeone's wondrous accomplishments at the Calderon. Quite simply, it will never be repeated! Never.

In addendum, there is something quite old school Italian about both sides. But alas, this is not so much about similarities as it is about, which is better, The Premiership or La Liga.

In 2013, Porto coach Paulo Fonseca called Atlético “an Italian team playing in the Spanish championship”. Simeone rejected this at the time, but later said that “in terms of courage and ideas, a lot about my Atleti comes from Italy”.

theYemster wrote:It just occurred to me that Atleti have regularly had a high turnover of strikers. From Torres, Aguerro, Falcao to Costa yet they are still competitive.
Beloved lost Vieira shortly after the Battle of the Somme, they've been in Transition ever since. Red, green, yellow, blue, orange, pie chart, bar graph, Guaranteed Equity Bond.

Coach wrote:In addendum, there is something quite old school Italian about both sides. But alas, this is not so much about similarities as it is about, which is better, The Premiership or La Liga.

In 2013, Porto coach Paulo Fonseca called Atlético “an Italian team playing in the Spanish championship”. Simeone rejected this at the time, but later said that “in terms of courage and ideas, a lot about my Atleti comes from Italy”.
:thumbs: keep going Coach, we getting somewhere, not forgetting this Leicester is coached by an Italian. Just saying.

^Simeone doesn't know what he's talking about. There's nothing Mama mia about his Atletico side and the same can be said of Claud Rayner's Leicestershire. If comparison is at all to be drawn, it could be argued, both paid studious attention to Stephen Keshi's schooling of Spain at the Confederations Cup.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Atletico excelling in a time where both Barca and Real Madrid are thriving both domestically and in Europe.

Far play to Leicester on winning the PL but facts are PL has regressed significantly over last 5 years.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

Tunisian Gooner wrote:Atletico excelling in a time where both Barca and Real Madrid are thriving both domestically and in Europe.

Far play to Leicester on winning the PL but facts are PL has regressed significantly over last 5 years.
The traditional top 4/top teams in EPL are the one that have regressed over the last 5yrs.
The midtable crew is moving forward.

@Tunis, if the Premiership has regressed, that regression has started at its tip and reached all the way to its very bottom. Regardless, there was no justifiable reason for Leicester's achievement.
Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

Vincent. wrote:

Champions League final: I hope people can now see the difference between the styles of Atletico and Leicester :rotf:
They can play the passing game when necessary
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009

Vincent. wrote:

Champions League final: I hope people can now see the difference between the styles of Atletico and Leicester :rotf:
I hope they are paying you and Yujam handsomely for this free promo. CR CIC! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

airwolex wrote:
Vincent. wrote:

I hope they are paying you and Yujam handsomely for this free promo. CR CIC! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
What promo? More like you guys should stop arguing about things you know very little about :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Tactical

Post by Tactical »

Vincent. wrote:

If I were you, I wouldn't be beating the air after a match with Real Madrid. I'd rather have looked at the success of tiki taka prowess of Atletoco against Barcelona and Bayern. Any team can dominate Real in the midfield. After all they were beaten 2-0 by Wolfsburg.