Page 5 of 6

Re: The English press now comparing LC and Atleti

Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:57 pm
YUJAM wrote:You guys are desperate. Leicester City suck. As for Sevilla, if you miss pks like that, you will crash out if the tourney. Loss was more due to Sevilla's wastefulness than Leicester's talent.

TFCO< abeg come do "republican" for this guy!v :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:09 pm
by green4life
YUJAM wrote:You guys are desperate. Leicester City suck. As for Sevilla, if you miss pks like that, you will crash out if the tourney. Loss was more due to Sevilla's wastefulness than Leicester's talent.
Uh oh. Looks like ground hog day yr 2012 all over again. The nightmare that keeps on giving. :lol:

Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:18 am
by tfco
LCFC (2-0) Sevilla
Bartha (6-1) PSG
YUJAM wrote: Luck favors the brave. ;-) They left it all on the field

Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:30 am
by tfco
YUJAM wrote:Still doesn't make Leicester like Atleti. Anyway they'll get found out very soon.

Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:17 am
by Purity
Barca, atleico and Madrid in the quater finals.

Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:14 am
by tfco
Purity wrote:Barca, atleico and Madrid in the quater finals.

as usual...you veer off track, bc you have NO FOCKING CLUE what this thread is about.

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:47 pm
by tfco

well well well

Yujam about to own this thread....when LCFC gets found out

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 5:52 pm
by tfco
The English press are at it again...

case closed
Antoine Griezmann said it, Filipe Luís said it and Jan Oblak said it, too: Leicester are similar to Atlético, both for what they have done – and they more than most teams in this competition appreciate that – and for how they play. Strong, physical, well organised. Difficult to overcome defensively, and swift to counter‑attack, direct. As one opposition coach here at the Calderón put it: “Horrible *kindpeople* to play against.”

Diego Simeone, the Atlético manager, suggested there would not be many goals but when it was put to him that Leicester might “renounce” possession (the implication being “just like you”), he responded: “I don’t think they will renounce the ball, I think they choose to play the way that suits them best consisting the qualities of the players. With the explosiveness of Vardy, who I like a lot, they are vertical, intense, precise at times. They strengthen the qualities of their players and that is what took them to their place in Europe.”

It is, he insisted, what he does too; what has taken Atlético to their current place. He welcomed the idea that Atlético may have provided a model for other clubs, like Leicester, to follow. A club who challenged the status quo and opened other paths. “Football is wonderful because no one is right: there’s no absolute truth. Maybe other teams have looked at us and thought that.”

Sitting alongside him Atlético’s captain, Gabi Fernández, cited “the humility and ambition we both play with” and added: “They did something very important last year, winning the league, like we did. We’re proud to face them tomorrow.”

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:07 pm
by truetalk
tfco wrote:The English press are at it again...

case closed
Antoine Griezmann said it, Filipe Luís said it and Jan Oblak said it, too: Leicester are similar to Atlético, both for what they have done – and they more than most teams in this competition appreciate that – and for how they play. Strong, physical, well organised. Difficult to overcome defensively, and swift to counter‑attack, direct. As one opposition coach here at the Calderón put it: “Horrible kind people to play against.”

Diego Simeone, the Atlético manager, suggested there would not be many goals but when it was put to him that Leicester might “renounce” possession (the implication being “just like you”), he responded: “I don’t think they will renounce the ball, I think they choose to play the way that suits them best consisting the qualities of the players. With the explosiveness of Vardy, who I like a lot, they are vertical, intense, precise at times. They strengthen the qualities of their players and that is what took them to their place in Europe.”

It is, he insisted, what he does too; what has taken Atlético to their current place. He welcomed the idea that Atlético may have provided a model for other clubs, like Leicester, to follow. A club who challenged the status quo and opened other paths. “Football is wonderful because no one is right: there’s no absolute truth. Maybe other teams have looked at us and thought that.”

Sitting alongside him Atlético’s captain, Gabi Fernández, cited “the humility and ambition we both play with” and added: “They did something very important last year, winning the league, like we did. We’re proud to face them tomorrow.”
Shorry; E don do! This is punching a man that has hit the canvas.

Yujam is a good guy, but in some ways he is similar to a number of people on this site (especially a few that make their living by making up words, sentences and paragraphs), by sometimes looking at issues from ideological standpoints (or paypoints) & closing the eyes to the facts.

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:08 pm
by YUJAM
The difference was very clear today. Leicester aren't even close to Atletico in any aspect of the game whether it is passing, defending, tactical posture or intelligence in the way they play. Atleti had their way with them and it is actually quite fortunate for Leicester that the game only ended 1 to 0. There is a world of difference between the way the two sides play football
truetalk wrote:
tfco wrote:The English press are at it again...

case closed
Antoine Griezmann said it, Filipe Luís said it and Jan Oblak said it, too: Leicester are similar to Atlético, both for what they have done – and they more than most teams in this competition appreciate that – and for how they play. Strong, physical, well organised. Difficult to overcome defensively, and swift to counter‑attack, direct. As one opposition coach here at the Calderón put it: “Horrible kind people to play against.”

Shorry; E don do! This is punching a man that has hit the canvas.

Yujam is a good guy, but in some ways he is similar to a number of people on this site (especially a few that make their living by making up words, sentences and paragraphs), by sometimes looking at issues from ideological standpoints (or paypoints) & closing the eyes to the facts.

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:57 pm
by tfco
YUJAM wrote:The difference was very clear today. Leicester aren't even close to Atletico in any aspect of the game whether it is passing, defending, tactical posture or intelligence in the way they play. Atleti had their way with them and it is actually quite fortunate for Leicester that the game only ended 1 to 0. There is a world of difference between the way the two sides play football

we will believe you over
1. Antoine Griezmann
2. Felipe Luis
3. Jan Oblak
4. Diego Simeone

after all, who are they

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 12:18 am
by YUJAM
If it makes you feel better then sure.

But some of us don't need to be spoon fed stuff to understand what's happening ;-)
YUJAM wrote:The difference was very clear today. Leicester aren't even close to Atletico in any aspect of the game whether it is passing, defending, tactical posture or intelligence in the way they play. Atleti had their way with them and it is actually quite fortunate for Leicester that the game only ended 1 to 0. There is a world of difference between the way the two sides play football

we will believe you over
1. Antoine Griezmann
2. Felipe Luis
3. Jan Oblak
4. Diego Simeone

after all, who are they

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 12:23 am

we will believe you over
1. Antoine Griezmann
2. Felipe Luis
3. Jan Oblak
4. Diego Simeone

after all, who are they
There is no comparison between Atleti and Leicester, in terms of quality. Even in terms of tactics. Leicester has more of a vertical approach to the game with booting the ball forward for Vardy to run on to, or sometimes, using their wingers to run directly at opponents. Atleti's midfielders actually know how to pass and move with the ball. I think the game today showed that clearly. perhaps, with Atleti being the home team, one can argue that their home crowd gave them more confidence and an advantage, so lets wait for the game at the Kings Power Stadium.

However, I have watched both sides, and their tactics are quite different. And of course, Atleti has significantly better players.

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:05 am
by tfco

we are going to pretend the Atleti players + coach listed below did not confirm what the thread is about.

ok

YUJAM wrote:If it makes you feel better then sure.

But some of us don't need to be spoon fed stuff to understand what's happening ;-)

we will believe you over
1. Antoine Griezmann
2. Felipe Luis
3. Jan Oblak
4. Diego Simeone

after all, who are they

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:39 am
by YUJAM
I hope some of our English oriented CEs now understand there is a gulf in class btwn Atleti and Leicester who have heart but that's where it stops

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:02 am
by bret- hart
The contest was not even close. Where is Queen Futcha u b%^&H. Seville could not beat this garbage team. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:13 am
by tfco
YUJAM wrote:I hope some of our English oriented CEs now understand there is a gulf in class btwn Atleti and Leicester who have heart but that's where it stops

the thread purpose was debunked....even by your Spaniards

you are still arguing.

ok

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:51 am
by YUJAM
YUJAM wrote:I hope some of our English oriented CEs now understand there is a gulf in class btwn Atleti and Leicester who have heart but that's where it stops

you are still arguing.

ok
We aren't sheep. Most of here understand football and don't need Simeone to tell us the obvious. LC does not play football like Atleti does. That was the point of this thread

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:53 am
by Undertaker
How did Leicester City and Atletico Madrid get each other in this round? They are the two weakest team left in the round of 8

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:57 am
by YUJAM
Undertaker wrote:How did Leicester City and Atletico Madrid get each other in this round? They are the two weakest team left in the round of 8

Not sure about that. Leicester definitely but Atleti is among the big boys

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:32 am
by anointed

you are still arguing.

ok
You dey mind Yujam. He is denial personified. His 'gulf' = 2-1 goals aggregate.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:03 am
by theYemster
anointed wrote:

you are still arguing.

ok
...and one of the goals technically shouldn't have been awarded.

But I do agree that Atleti is superior. I think what the English press meant by the comparison was that they're both underdogs that managed to win their domestic leagues despite more heralded opponents...doing so with grit, determination and hard work. I'm not sure they meant they're as good as Atleti mano-a-mano.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:11 pm
by tfco
anointed wrote:

you are still arguing.

ok
...and one of the goals technically shouldn't have been awarded.

But I do agree that Atleti is superior. I think what the English press meant by the comparison was that they're both underdogs that managed to win their domestic leagues despite more heralded opponents...doing so with grit, determination and hard work. I'm not sure they meant they're as good as Atleti mano-a-mano.

why.are.you.trying.to.make.sense?