Azubuike Okechukwu (U23 Captain) Highlights

Re: Azubuike Okechukwu (U23 Captain) Highlights

chief nfachairman wrote:
Damunk wrote:I'd like to see his highlights from Rio.
Tbh, I wasn't watching close enough to notice him. Apart from a few with peculiar physical xteristics (Lanky Sadiq, short Popoola, yellow Ekong, Shehu with his haircut and of course Mikel), those dark green jerseys just made most of them anonymous for my eye.
Yes. Especially Usman. I could hardly notice or figure him out in any game. Maybe our players are too black.
Wow.

chief nfachairman wrote:
Tbh, I wasn't watching close enough to notice him. Apart from a few with peculiar physical xteristics (Lanky Sadiq, short Popoola, yellow Ekong, Shehu with his haircut and of course Mikel), those dark green jerseys just made most of them anonymous for my eye.
Yes. Especially Usman. I could hardly notice or figure him out in any game. Maybe our players are too black.
Smh, and you are what again. Kai internet nah real firewall. .just run your mouth any how. Show us your picture

chief nfachairman wrote:
Chair! Abegi, it's time to upgrade from that B&W RCA TV to any HD model... 8-)

chief nfachairman wrote:
Chair! Abegi, it's time to upgrade from that B&W RCA TV to any HD model... 8-)
Damunk upgrade your eyeglass prescription.

chief nfachairman wrote:
Hmmmm. If I were to guess who made this statement, I'd say an Oyinbo man since some of them have issues distinguishing us. ;-)
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

The boy undeservingly fell off the radar in recent months even though he was promoted to the Turkish Super League with his team and plays regulary.
I think he is one of our best central midfielders.
Rohr should give him a look in and see if he can compete with Agu and Ogu what I'm convinced he can.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

DAgrin wrote:The boy undeservingly fell off the radar in recent months even though he was promoted to the Turkish Super League with his team and plays regulary.
I think he is one of our best central midfielders.
Rohr should give him a look in and see if he can compete with Agu and Ogu what I'm convinced he can.
Apparently he is just recovering from injury.

I found this interesting piece of info:

You guys are forgetting that Ogu is 29, Onazi 24 while Azubuike is only 20. The law of averages dictates that sooner rather than later, Ogu and Onazi will give way to the likes of Azubuike :!:

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:You guys are forgetting that Ogu is 29, Onazi 24 while Azubuike is only 20. The law of averages dictates that sooner rather than later, Ogu and Onazi will give way to the likes of Azubuike :!:

it is frustrating that he hasn't even been given a chance.
In my opinion our olympic midfield of Usman, Azubuike and Mikel was better balanced than any of the midfield combinations played by Rohr thus far.
Azubuike was key to the success of that Rio midfield.

Simply put we need a holding midfielder in midfield. Unless Rohr intends to play the counterattacking strategy against every teams we face
Without one we will never be comfortable keeping possession, never comfortable playing the ball out of defence and unable to sustain pressure on the opposition when we are in search of a goal.

I hope Rohr recognizes this by playing mikel deeper or inviting Azubuike to be part of the team

smartbrother wrote:
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:You guys are forgetting that Ogu is 29, Onazi 24 while Azubuike is only 20. The law of averages dictates that sooner rather than later, Ogu and Onazi will give way to the likes of Azubuike :!:

In my opinion our olympic midfield of Usman, Azubuike and Mikel was better balanced than any of the midfield combinations played by Rohr thus far.

Simply put we need a holding midfielder in midfield. Unless Rohr intends to play the counterattacking strategy against every teams we face
Without one we will never be comfortable keeping possession, never comfortable playing the ball out of defence and unable to sustain pressure on the opposition when we are in search of a goal.

I hope Rohr recognizes this by playing mikel deeper or inviting Azubuike to be part of the team

Wilfred Ndidi is our holding midfielder and one of the best players to ever fill the role. other than Muda Lawal and Sunday Oliseh, can you think of two better holding midfielders Nigeria has ever had?

smartbrother wrote:

I will ask this question again. Is there an ironic name thing on Cybereagles? You have a dumbfook answering smartbrother and a f00lish one answering wiseone. :lol: :lol:

smartbrother wrote:

Wilfred Ndidi is our holding midfielder and one of the best players to ever fill the role. other than Muda Lawal and Sunday Oliseh, can you think of two better holding midfielders Nigeria has ever had?
ndidi is not a great holding midfielder
I can think of two better holding midfielders that are currently active
Mikel and Azuibuike

smartbrother wrote:

Mikel and Azuibuike
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

By the way, what does "holding" midfielder mean? :lol: :lol:

smartbrother wrote:

Mikel and Azuibuike
Azubuike is way down the list:

[1] Wilfred Ndidi
[2] Ogenyi Onazi
[3] Joel Obi
[4] John Ogu
[5] Mikel Agu
[6] Oghene Etebo
[7] Anderson Esiti
[8] Raheem Lawal
[9] Abdul Ajagun
[10] Ibrahim Alhassan

In my opinion, he not even among our top 10 holding midfielders.

smartbrother wrote:

Mikel and Azuibuike

[1] Wilfred Ndidi
[2] Ogenyi Onazi
[3] Joel Obi
[4] John Ogu
[5] Mikel Agu
[6] Oghene Etebo
[7] Anderson Esiti
[8] Raheem Lawal
[9] Abdul Ajagun
[10] Ibrahim Alhassan

you consider etebo and ajagun holding midfielders? lol
ok. i guess this discussion is going nowhere

smartbrother wrote:

Mikel and Azuibuike

[1] Wilfred Ndidi
[2] Ogenyi Onazi
[3] Joel Obi
[4] John Ogu
[5] Mikel Agu
[6] Oghene Etebo
[7] Anderson Esiti
[8] Raheem Lawal
[9] Abdul Ajagun
[10] Ibrahim Alhassan

Did you not see Etebo play that role against Algeria in Uyo?

smartbrother wrote:

Mikel and Azuibuike

[1] Wilfred Ndidi
[2] Ogenyi Onazi
[3] Joel Obi
[4] John Ogu
[5] Mikel Agu
[6] Oghene Etebo
[7] Anderson Esiti
[8] Raheem Lawal
[9] Abdul Ajagun
[10] Ibrahim Alhassan

Did you not see Etebo play that role against Algeria in Uyo?
i do not consider him a holding midfielder
precisely because I saw him attempt to play that role v algeria

chief nfachairman wrote:
Wow.
I no tell una?? :lol: :lol: :lol: Wow! Actually interesting that the SOB made this comment last year!

Chief nfachairman is a sick demented bigot! Lack of home training and any etiquette. Unfortunately, the mods have made it clear that bigotry is important on Cybereagles. In a sane world, this imbecile will be send behind the house and locked up in a cage like the rodent he is.

chief nfachairman wrote:
Wow.
I no tell una?? :lol: :lol: :lol: Wow! Actually interesting that the SOB made this comment last year!

Chief nfachairman is a sick demented bigot! Lack of home training and any etiquette. Unfortunately, the mods have made it clear that bigotry is important on Cybereagles. In a sane world, this imbecile will be send behind the house and locked up in a cage like the rodent he is.

There is absolutely no need for this kind of language. You can tell someone off firmly without resorting to abuse.

I will not buy the argument: "See what he wrote." We have to learn to moderate our language whatever the provocation.

Can you imagine the kind of language I would use if I lashed out every time I was abused or called names here? Restraint is a form of discipline I impose upon myself.

chief nfachairman wrote:
Wow.

There is absolutely no need for this kind of language. You can tell someone off firmly without resorting to abuse.

I will not buy the argument: "See what he wrote." We have to learn to moderate our language whatever the provocation.

Can you imagine the kind of language I would use if I lashed out every time I was abused or called names here? Restraint is a form of discipline I impose upon myself.
Dude! dont talk to me! I am not interested in your comment! You can hop on other threads and see the comments your bigot and untrained friend, Chief nfachairman, uses against me, unprovoked!

Please, let this be the last time you talk to me here. nonsense!
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

smartbrother wrote:

Mikel and Azuibuike

[1] Wilfred Ndidi
[2] Ogenyi Onazi
[3] Joel Obi
[4] John Ogu
[5] Mikel Agu
[6] Oghene Etebo
[7] Anderson Esiti
[8] Raheem Lawal
[9] Abdul Ajagun
[10] Ibrahim Alhassan

First of all Alhassan, Etebo and Ajagun are no natural holding midfielders.
Etebo has his deserved place in the squad as attacking midfielder or right winger.
Ogenyi and Ndidi are definitely ahead of Azubuike in the pecking order.
Joel Obi struggles with injuries a lot.
The rest is definitely not better individually than Azubuike.

Though I believe Rohr likes strong, athletic holding midfielders with a good passing rate.
Esiti was droped because his passing accuracy and his decision making was not good enough.
Azubiuke has a sensational passing rate and quick decision making but might not be physical enough for Rohr's liking as he already has a rather lightweight holding midfielder in Onazi.

It all depends on what Rohr expects from his holding midfielders but Azubuike definitely has overall quality.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

smartbrother wrote:

Mikel and Azuibuike

[1] Wilfred Ndidi
[2] Ogenyi Onazi
[3] Joel Obi
[4] John Ogu
[5] Mikel Agu
[6] Oghene Etebo
[7] Anderson Esiti
[8] Raheem Lawal
[9] Abdul Ajagun
[10] Ibrahim Alhassan

Now i am convinced you rarely watch our players. Al Hassan is not a holding MF he is a supporting striker/AM. That is the role he has played since U17 level in fact he was our highest goalscorer during his U17 days. Ajagun is an Attacking Midfielder, Etebo also is an attacker
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST