The Arsenal FC-Related News & Developments for 2016/2017

Re: The Arsenal FC-Related News & Developments for 2016/2017

Arsenal are close to completing the signing of Borussia Monchengladbach captain Granit Xhaka.

The clubs have reached an agreement on a deal reported to be worth £30m for the Switzerland central midfielder.

Xhaka, 23, has flown to London to finalise personal terms and have a medical, scheduled for this weekend.

His arrival will strengthen a midfield depleted by the departures of Mikel Arteta, Tomas Rosicky and - possibly - Mathieu Flamini.

Xhaka will become Arsenal's first acquisition in what is expected to be a busy transfer window at the Emirates Stadium.
http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/36347078 ..

Oba wrote:Chief, the point is that it's the final position that matters. 71 points would only have been enough to finish 6th in 2014. Last season, 71 would have been enough to win the league.
which league? Last season, we got 75 points and did NOT win, unless I am missing something. Last season, I could have sworn Chelsea won with 87 points.

Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

Ebyboy wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:Is Wenger still the manager?
One of the main discussion points going forward.

I pray that we end up higher on the league table this season.

higher in points? Can someone please list our points tally for the previous seasons? Did we actually do better this year when we can second, or worse than last year?
With our disappointment put into context, coming 2nd in this league is not something to be sniffed at.
Well..... 1st is higher than 2nd.......

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Oba wrote:Chief, the point is that it's the final position that matters. 71 points would only have been enough to finish 6th in 2014. Last season, 71 would have been enough to win the league.
which league? Last season, we got 75 points and did NOT win, unless I am missing something. Last season, I could have sworn Chelsea won with 87 points.
Why ley the truth get in the way? Arsenal fans are just a special breed :rotf:

Ebyboy wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:Is Wenger still the manager?
One of the main discussion points going forward.

I pray that we end up higher on the league table this season.

higher in points? Can someone please list our points tally for the previous seasons? Did we actually do better this year when we can second, or worse than last year?
With our disappointment put into context, coming 2nd in this league is not something to be sniffed at.
Are you serious?

:shock: :shock: :oops: :oops:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: kai! I don laugh tire. In a season Leicester came from behind to Win the league, and Arsenal fan is trying to convince the natives that second position should not be sniffed at kai oooooooo :rotf: :rotf:

Waffiman wrote:Arsenal's position every year:

2014 = 4th
2015 = 3rd
2016 = 2nd
2017 = ......

Hmmmm...... You all know what I mean. 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

2014 = 4th
2015 = 3rd
2016 = 2nd
2017 = ......

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
public class AfcLoop {

public static void main(String[] args) {

String Arsene = "ArsenalFC";

for(int i=4;i>=1;i--){
if(i==1){
System.out.println("No Way not possible under Arsene!");
}
else
System.out.println(i+ " place UCL qualification!! well done "+Arsene);

}

}
}
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

Gooner1 wrote:

2014 = 4th
2015 = 3rd
2016 = 2nd
2017 = ......

public class AfcLoop {

public static void main(String[] args) {

String Arsene = "ArsenalFC";

for(int i=4;i>=1;i--){
if(i==1){
System.out.println("No Way not possible under Arsene!");
}
else
System.out.println(i+ " place UCL qualification!! well done "+Arsene);

}

}
}

1 Manchester City 38 +65 86
2 Liverpool 38 +51 84
3 Chelsea 38 +44 82
4 Arsenal 38 +27 79
5 Everton 38 +22 72
6 Tottenham Hotspur 38 +4 69
7 Manchester United 38 +21 64
8 Southampton 38 +8 56
9 Stoke City 38 -7 50
10 Newcastle United 38 -16 49
11 Crystal Palace 38 -15 45
12 Swansea City 38 0 42
13 West Ham United 38 -11 40
14 Sunderland 38 -19 38
15 Aston Villa 38 -22 38
16 Hull City 38 -15 37
17 West Bromwich Albion 38 -16 36
18 Norwich City 38 -34 33
19 Fulham 38 -45 32
20 Cardiff City 38 -42 30

Premier League Table
Place Team G W D L F A GD Pts
1 Chelsea 38 26 9 3 73 32 41 87
2 Manchester City 38 24 7 7 83 38 45 79
3 Arsenal 38 22 9 7 71 36 35 75
4 Manchester United 38 20 10 8 62 37 25 70
5 Tottenham Hotspur 38 19 7 12 58 53 5 64
6 Liverpool 38 18 8 12 52 48 4 62
7 Southampton 38 18 6 14 54 33 21 60
8 Swansea City 38 16 8 14 46 49 -3 56
9 Stoke City 38 15 9 14 48 45 3 54
10 Crystal Palace 38 13 9 16 47 51 -4 48
11 Everton 38 12 11 15 48 50 -2 47
12 West Ham United 38 12 11 15 44 47 -3 47
13 West Bromwich Albion 38 11 11 16 38 51 -13 44
14 Leicester City 38 11 8 19 46 55 -9 41
15 Newcastle United 38 10 9 19 40 63 -23 39
16 Sunderland 38 7 17 14 31 53 -22 38
17 Aston Villa 38 10 8 20 31 57 -26 38
18 Hull City 38 8 11 19 33 51 -18 35
19 Burnley 38 7 12 19 28 53 -25 33
20 Queens Park Rangers 38 8 6 24 42 73 -31 30
Sky Sports

1 Leicester City 38 +32 81
2 Arsenal 38 +29 71
3 Tottenham Hotspur 38 +34 70
4 Manchester City 38 +30 66
5 Southampton 38 +18 63
6 Manchester United 37 +12 63
7 West Ham United 38 +14 62
8 Liverpool 38 +13 60
9 Stoke City 38 -14 51
10 Chelsea 38 +6 50
11 Everton 38 +4 47
12 Swansea City 38 -10 47
13 Watford 38 -10 45
14 West Bromwich Albion 38 -14 43
15 Crystal Palace 38 -12 42
16 Bournemouth 37 -20 42
17 Sunderland 38 -14 39
18 Newcastle United 38 -21 37
19 Norwich City 38 -28 34
20 Aston Villa 38 -49 17

http://www.statto.com/football/stats/en ... ier-league
79, 75 and 71. Not only diminishing returns but importantly failed to break the minimum 80pt barrier needed to win the league. Leicster city had 81pts this season to put things in perspective for Arsenal fans. How do you plot to win the league with a 70pt haul? :scared:
Oba

Post by Oba »

Last season being the recently completed 2015/16 season. Any team that finished level on points with Arsenal but with a superior goals difference would have won, hence 71 points was enough.

Oba wrote:
Last season being the recently completed 2015/16 season. Any team that finished level on points with Arsenal but with a superior goals difference would have won, hence 71 points was enough.
Ok :?: :?:

Oba wrote:

Oh, he is saying Tottenham would have been crowned champions had they managed to draw Newcastle. Leicester doesn't count :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:
or maybe Oba just needs medical attention....

ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

Oba wrote:

Oh, he is saying Tottenham would have been crowned champions had they managed to draw Newcastle. Leicester doesn't count :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:

Has Arsenal signed Morata yet? Worst mistake ever was letting that kid go to Juve :curse: Madrid will probably buy him back and charge 50 mill. Those dudes know how to extract maximum bucks for their players. Should have signed him then even with the buy back clause :curse:

Could have won two league titles with him in the lineup :curse:

anikulapo wrote:Has Arsenal signed Morata yet? Worst mistake ever was letting that kid go to Juve :curse: Madrid will probably buy him back and charge 50 mill. Those dudes know how to extract maximum bucks for their players. Should have signed him then even with the buy back clause :curse:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: i always say that it is more important to watch football than it is to read fora

Morata would have won Arsenal what? ? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: My goodness. The same Morata at juve? Or another morata? These are his numbers:

2015-16 - 7 league goals
2014-15 - 8 league goals
2013-14 - 8 league goals

This guy has mever scored more than 8 and he is going to win 2 titles 4 a team :rotf: :blush: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Xhaka Zulu arrives. Perhaps one of the scholars amongst the masses could detail how this signing, albeit Granite, solidifies the midfield? Does the departures of Arteta and Rosicky merit such an ostentatious outlay?

Oba wrote:

Guess that's the way Wenger also was thinking. :tic:

anikulapo wrote:Has Arsenal signed Morata yet? Worst mistake ever was letting that kid go to Juve :curse: Madrid will probably buy him back and charge 50 mill. Those dudes know how to extract maximum bucks for their players. Should have signed him then even with the buy back clause :curse:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: i always say that it is more important to watch football than it is to read fora

Morata would have won Arsenal what? ? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: My goodness. The same Morata at juve? Or another morata? These are his numbers:

2015-16 - 7 league goals
2014-15 - 8 league goals
2013-14 - 8 league goals

This guy has mever scored more than 8 and he is going to win 2 titles 4 a team :rotf: :blush: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Shhhhhh take a deep breath and hang on the side of your bus and keep shouting "Race Course/CMS"

Try and watch the games and take your advice and stop looking at numbers :idea:

I guess based by Girouds scoring tallies he should be worth more than three times Alvaro right? Gosh you belong on a tree :mrgreen:

2015-16 - 7 league goals
2014-15 - 8 league goals
2013-14 - 8 league goals

Shhhhhh take a deep breath and hang on the side of your bus and keep shouting "Race Course/CMS"

Try and watch the games and take your advice and stop looking at numbers :idea:

I guess based by Girouds scoring tallies he should be worth more than three times Alvaro right? Gosh you belong on a tree :mrgreen:
This na why in dem days for Naija, we slap Danfo Drivers. Dem nor sabi nathin. :oops: :oops: :oops:
ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

Just imagine this team Next season

Cech
Bellerin-Koscielny-Manalos-Monreal
Xhaka-Coquelin
Mkhitaryan-Özil-Sanchez
Auba :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

ojafranpa wrote:Just imagine this team Next season

Cech
Bellerin-Koscielny-Manalos-Monreal
Xhaka-Coquelin
Mkhitaryan-Özil-Sanchez
Auba :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
I'll have Elneny next to Xhaka.

If Mkhitaryan is a target, then we lose 2 senior MF players. If you lose Ramsey, I got no issue but I want to keep Santi.

Manolas.... Hmmm....... Is he better than what we have and is he really going to improve us? I have my doubts.

Dortmund will not sell Auba.