Mali 3 vs Kenya 1

La Reussi

Post by La Reussi »

Kanoute don hang again o!

La Reussi
In all things and every situation, give thanks to God.
KoC

Post by KoC »

Kanoute again! Brilliant solo goal. 3-1 Mali
. . . all about the players. Total posts: 725 and counting. . .

Blogzilla
KickOff Nigeria

I love Arsenal. Such entertainment!! The kind of soccer we want for the kind of results we hate!!!
---Polly waxes lyrical after Burnley nyansh the ARSE
Sampo

Post by Sampo »

juventuss,

There you have it, Kanoute just broke the chain of 2-1 scoreline. Mali now leads 3-1.
S a m p o
Fly, Eagles! Fly!!!
old_obsession

Post by old_obsession »

Final Four (Deja vu):

Mali
Nigeria
cameroon
Senegal

i had a vision guys. kanoute top scorer with 5 goals
Last edited by old_obsession on Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
KoC

Post by KoC »

Latched onto a scrambled pass, held off his marker and squeezed the ball past the keeper to bottom left hand corner.
. . . all about the players. Total posts: 725 and counting. . .

Blogzilla
KickOff Nigeria

I love Arsenal. Such entertainment!! The kind of soccer we want for the kind of results we hate!!!
---Polly waxes lyrical after Burnley nyansh the ARSE

thank God, i was tired of the 2-1 score line. Hopefully Naija can top that with 4-1
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

La Reussi

Post by La Reussi »

Kenya has five minutes to get anything from this match.

LA Reussi
odi

Post by odi »

old_obsession wrote:Final Four (Deja vu):

Mali
Nigeria
cameroon
Senegal

i had a vision guys.
Stuff ya vision!!

You haven't even seen Nigeria or Senegal play yet!
The SUPER EAGLES shall rise again!
Akamoke

Post by Akamoke »

Odi, no mind am :|
Sampo

Post by Sampo »

juventuss wrote:thank God, i was tired of the 2-1 score line. Hopefully Naija can top that with 4-1
You sef.. you keep shifting the goal post :mrgreen:

Anyway man no mind your predictions, the higher numbers for Naija the better. 8) :P
S a m p o
Fly, Eagles! Fly!!!
Sampo

Post by Sampo »

90 minutes played.. 4 minutes of injury time added.
S a m p o
Fly, Eagles! Fly!!!
Oba

Post by Oba »

juventuss wrote:thank God, i was tired of the 2-1 score line. Hopefully Naija can top that with 4-1
Now, why do you think every single team must concede a goal? Nigeria did not concede any goal at the last ANC till the semi-finals. Why should that change now? Abeg, Nigeria wins 4 - 0. The first outstanding victory in the tournament (if Senegal don't give a blood bath today).
old_obsession

Post by old_obsession »

Visions are not based on the evidence of what is seen but the substance of what has been revealed.....or something like that. :|

Final Four (Deja vu):

Mali
Nigeria
cameroon
Senegal

i had a vision guys. kanoute top scorer with 5 goals
shaq

Post by shaq »

Will Mali still go past the first round? :)
Sampo

Post by Sampo »

FT: 3-1
S a m p o
Fly, Eagles! Fly!!!
La Reussi

Post by La Reussi »

Keeper saves at Kanoute's feet on 92minute.

La Reussi

Those Kenyas should stick to marathon races...they're just not cut out for footy. Somethings you can't force.

YUJAM wrote:I watched 35 mins of the game b4 leaving for work.

The goal for Mali resulted from a mix-up in the Kenyan defense allowing Sissokho of Valencia to steal the ball and score.

Overall, Mali have dominated with Kanoute trying to take on Kenyan defense all alone quite frequently. However, the Kenyan attackers have stretched the Malian defense on several occasions.

Mali looks to be a bit overrated. They are not very good collectively and too often play as individuals rather than a team.
You know, the same thing has been said about the Super Eagles more than a few times, and that hasnt stopped us from posting strong ANC performances.

I wouldnt judge any team yet based on just the first game...

seem like kanoute is doing quite well-kenya are poor opposition-got to be said though

Oba

Post by Oba »

Well, congrats to the French boy. He is the top goal scorer of the ANC. But do you guys think any of our strikers can emerge top goal scorer? I see Nigeria playing the typical Brazil role: Field and all attack squad, where anybody and everybody scores including defenders like Yobo and Babayaro. Unless we massacre all the teams, We are likely to spread goals amongst players. But then, so long as we play our game, we would prolly have 5,6 players with 3 or 4 goals in the tournament. If our Enyeama doesn't become Apere master as some of us fear, Naija is winning this cup. Our games would be all about who outscores who, unless Chukwu shows us that he is the defender handling an all-attack squad.
Sampo

Post by Sampo »

shaq wrote:Will Mali still go past the first round? :)
Remains to be seen. You can put your money on them at your own risk. :)

They somewhat raised their games a bit, but are _very_ porous at the back. They need to thank Siddibe, their goalie, partly for today's result. Keita, Coulibaly and, who else, Kanoute made a whole lot of difference going forward. Were Kenya any of the North or other West African teams facing that defence, your guess is as good as mine...
S a m p o
Fly, Eagles! Fly!!!

Sampo wrote:80' Kanoute makes it 3-1 for Mali
Kanoute!!!! :D

King Kanoute has proved to represent the arrow head of Mali. He has proved his goal scoring pedigree and if Mali improves on this performance, as they are most likely to do, you will have to count them as serious contenders. Having said that, I'm not sure about their defence holding out against an Aghahowa or Diouf. The defence struggled against 37 year old Mike Okoth and 17 year old Oljech who were not overly technically proficient.