2017 Nigerian Premier League - Plateau United Champions!

Re: 2017 Nigerian Premier League

Enugu II wrote:Fourths counting, another NPFL game postponed today because of rain. Rangers v Rivers United to be continued tomorrow morning.
Why are you monitoring Rangers like a monitoring spirit....i will soon call for an exorcist! :mad: :taunt: :D
Oloye,

I dey monitor dem as they wan set record ooo! Champion one season and .......the next season. Fill in the blank.
I hope you're still monitoring the Rangers as the cream inevitably rises to the top :mrgreen: :!:

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Gotti wrote: Up Rangers.... :clap: :clap: :clap:
Win next game, they're on 55pts. That's touching range of the top 4...
That's astonishing work by Okpala!!
That's the Rangers spirit, right there...
Never say die till the bones are rotten...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
Enugu II wrote:Fourths counting, another NPFL game postponed today because of rain. Rangers v Rivers United to be continued tomorrow morning.
Why are you monitoring Rangers like a monitoring spirit....i will soon call for an exorcist! :mad: :taunt: :D
Oloye,

I dey monitor dem as they wan set record ooo! Champion one season and .......the next season. Fill in the blank.
I hope you're still monitoring the Rangers as the cream inevitably rises to the top :mrgreen: :!:

My 21 nights of vigil has exorcised the monitoring spirit away from Rangers back to Vasco da Gama or whatever they are called . Rangers rising up the ladder like the comet star..Up Rangers..nor be by mouth we are the only unrelegated team in the league. Khaki and leather nor be the same....there are international clubs and their internationale wannabe(that one is for the Aba club trying to rib shoulders with us). Rangers the father of them all....

FATHER TIKO wrote:
Gotti wrote: Up Rangers.... :clap: :clap: :clap:
Win next game, they're on 55pts. That's touching range of the top 4...
That's astonishing work by Okpala!!
That's the Rangers spirit, right there...
Never say die till the bones are rotten...
They dont call him Hafia Quicksilver for nothing.....bobo was the best right back that ever donned the Green jersey. And now he is proving to be a geniuse left untapped becaise of the crooked system that runs our football and hate dissent of any kind especially if it is on the side of the truth. You cannot keep a goos cappuccono from foaming.... :clap: :clap:

Oloye,

My 21 nights of vigil has exorcised the monitoring spirit away from Rangers back to Vasco da Gama or whatever they are called . Rangers rising up the ladder like the comet star..Up Rangers..nor be by mouth we are the only unrelegated team in the league. Khaki and leather nor be the same....there are international clubs and their internationale wannabe(that one is for the Aba club trying to rib shoulders with us). Rangers the father of them all....
Dean Oloye :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Oloye,

Two time African champions!
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Watching Rangers v Enyimba on live TV.
A supposed showpiece NPFL game.

What a snorefest...

Ref was as incompetent as a drunken sailor.

3 stone wall penalties not given (1 for Enyimba; 2 for Rangers)
1 justified PK for Enyimba's opener
Then a phantom PK for Rangers equaliser...

Final score 1-1.

LMC must be more strict with refs.
They're ruining the NPFL brand .
- Bill Shankly
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

The great escape is complete, Rangers remain never relegated.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

ukwala wrote:The great escape is complete, Rangers remain never relegated.
My brother, I thank God o

This Rangers side na rubbish no be small.
Complete overhaul next season, or else wahala dey
- Bill Shankly
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

FATHER TIKO wrote:Watching Rangers v Enyimba on live TV.

What a snorefest...

Final score 1-1.

I concur with you. It's a shame that 15 penalties were awarded this weekend alone. In almost every centre, there was a penalty. Kastina United had 3 at home to beat Remo United, which is already relegated. Only heaven knows how many
penalties will be given next week as the relegation and title battles are still on. With the looks of things, 3Sc does not have its destiny in its hand again. I am still hoping that we will survive "the drop" this year.
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Toxicarrow wrote:

What a snorefest...

Final score 1-1.

I concur with you. It's a shame that 15 penalties were awarded this weekend alone. In almost every centre, there was a penalty. Kastina United had 3 at home to beat Remo United, which is already relegated. Only heaven knows how many
penalties will be given next week as the relegation and title battles are still on. With the looks of things, 3Sc does not have its destiny in its hand again. I am still hoping that we will survive "the drop" this year.

Sunshine had 2 penalties awarded within the first 10 minutes, and scored one.
Kastina had 3 penalties and scored 2 out of it.....
Kano Pillars had 1 and missed it
Enyimba had 1 and scored it
Lobi had 1 and scored
Rivers United had 2 and scored
Wikki Tourists had 1 and scored to beat Plat United
ABS equalized against Abia via penalty and went on to win by 2goals to-1
Rangers equalized against Enyimba via penalty in the 89th minutes and final score 1-1
3Sc beat Akwa united 1 nil (goal scored via penalty)

The question for me is: how many of these penalties were legitimate ones and how many were manufactured?

FATHER TIKO wrote:
My brother, I thank God o

This Rangers side na rubbish no be small.
Complete overhaul next season, or else wahala dey
The boys nearly gave persin heart-attack :D ...........Thank God for Haifa aka Quicksliver Okpala. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Toxicarrow wrote:

What a snorefest...

Final score 1-1.

Lobi had 1 and scored
Rangers equalized against Enyimba via penalty in the 89th minutes and final score 1-1

The question for me is: how many of these penalties were legitimate ones and how many were manufactured?
Our Refs are crooks :(

MFM will be playing in the CAF champions league next year.

Appears to be fishy. Add to the fact that these are games where so much bribery could be involved.
Toxicarrow wrote:

What a snorefest...

Final score 1-1.

Lobi had 1 and scored

Our Refs are crooks :(
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

PS: Any news on Vasco?

Toxicarrow wrote:Sunshine had 2 penalties awarded within the first 10 minutes, and scored one.
Lobi had 1 and scored

Perhaps, it was just a very rough weekend...
After all clubs tend to implore players to play "harder" to avoid relegation. :D

ukwala

Post by ukwala »

:rotf: :rotf: We'll have to ask Enugu II :taunt:
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Enugu II wrote:Appears to be fishy. Add to the fact that these are games where so much bribery could be involved.
Possibly. Any theories as to why it is mostly the home team that seemingly bribes the referee? I mean, the ref should be accesible to both teams!!
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

ukwala wrote:
Enugu II wrote:Appears to be fishy. Add to the fact that these are games where so much bribery could be involved.
Possibly. Any theories as to why it is mostly the home team that seemingly bribes the referee? I mean, the ref should be accesible to both teams!!
Good question.

Maybe the 'bribe-able' ref might be less inclined to risk the wrath of the home fans...

F-cking the away side harbours less risk...
- Bill Shankly
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

FATHER TIKO wrote:
ukwala wrote:
Good question.

Maybe the 'bribe-able' ref might be less inclined to risk the wrath of the home fans...

F-cking the away side harbours less risk...
My thoughts too. Even without being bribed, a ref may be constrained to favour the home team just for his own safety, particularly in those 50/50 situations that could go either way with the crowd baying for a penalty! Better to be safe than to be sorry.

Gotti,

Our players are the ones helping Rangers escape o!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Closer and closer: Job done in Enugu

The blog had been on a sabbatical and not even the 4-0 trashing of Wikki Toruists that leveled us points and goals difference with Akwa United could get us back blogging. But yesterday's turn of events really had us back and up on the blog. We got the draw in Enugu. While Shooting Stars did their own bit in Ibadan, getting the points that kept them ultimately safe.

I didn't see the game. I haven't in a bit - but someone did and Ejim Tony has penned this for us.

The master of set-pieces, Ikechukwu Ibenegbu drew first blood from the spot in the twenty-second minute to put us ahead against the league's defending champions, Rangers at the Cathedral.

Enyimba started the game full of confidence having won their last game comfortably at home away from home in Calabar. You would wouldn't you? If you beat someone 4-0. Add that to the fact that Enugu has been a good away ground for us in recent times. Who would forget that 2-1 in our title wining season two years ago.

One of the players who shone like a thousand lights was Stephen Chukwude. He had scored two goals against Rangers since he joined Enyimba last season from FC Ifeanyiubah. He even sprayed on his hair for this encounter.

The striker was a bone stuck in the necks of Okey Odita and his brothers in the Rangers backline. He had a very fantastic game against his hometown club, and would be a little bit sad that he did not crown it all with a goal. Meanwhile, the game had looked as though it was going to go the Enyimba's way judging by the way Enyimba played in the first half, but the second half gave us another dance step.

Rangers came out and were all over Enyimba. They had some penalty call, which I must acknowledged that one of them was a genuine PK call - Ibenegbu was dispossessed of the ball by a Rangers player just outside the box, and in an effort to recover the ball, he tripped down the Rangers player while the referee turned a blind eye.

It was not until the eighty-seventh minute that the centre referee awarded a laughable penalty to Rangers - A Rangers player pushed down another Rangers player and that was it. And I think that that was a way to balance up for snubbing a PK call against Ibenegbu earlier.

However, Enyimba would reflect on a number of wasted chances, especially in the first half, which they dominated. Chinonso Okonkwo had a clear chance inside the box which he blew wide. Chukwude, Ibenegbu, Akas, Abalogu etc all had their chances either blocked by the defenders, or saved by the Rangers Goalkeeper or went off target.

Actually, it was a good result for both teams as Enyimba moved to 3rd (The final Continental position via the League) and Rangers confirmed their safety in the league for yet another season. Good one for my favourite team, Enyimba and my hometown team, Rangers (Yes, I have soft spot for them).

Quoting a caller on Magic FM Aba last weekend. He said: "Enyimba left Aba with a continental ticket; They must return to Aba with a continental ticket". I concur with, although the one they left Aba with is bigger than the one they are possibly coming back with.
BUT, in local parlance; "Half bread is better than kpof kpof"

ET

Back tomorrow, I promise.

'EnyimbaEnyi
http://www.thatenyimbafan.com/2017/09/0 ... one-enugu/