ROHR: Why Ebuehi won't come for Algeria......

EBUEHI NO-EAGLES SAGA: ROHR REVEALS FULL DETAILS
http://africanfootball.com/news/661952/ ... ll-details
by Staff Reporter
Sunday Nov 06, 2016. 17:04

Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr has revealed Tyronne Ebuehi will honour another invitation after he first rejected a chance to play against Algeria so as to focus at his Dutch club.

Rohr specially opened up that the 20-year-old ADO Den Haag defender as well as his parents had accepted he should honour the call-up for the Algeria match, but the player’s agent blocked the move.

“He’s a very good, young player, a right back. His agent did not want him to come yet because he is still very young, he has only played four, five games for the first team of Den Haag,” Rohr narrated.

“His agent believes that it’s too early for him to play for Nigeria, that he should first stablise at his club.

“But the player wants to come and next time, he will come.

“He said yes he will play for Nigeria at first, but then the agent came into the picture and made some observations.

I also spoke to his parents and they also wanted him to come too.”
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: ROHR: Why Ebuehi won't come for Algeria......

Makes sense.

amafolas

Post by amafolas »

The agent is probably trying to convince the kid that financially it makes more sense to play for some other country other than Nigeria. The young man should follow his heart. Of course I am biased.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

amafolas wrote:The agent is probably trying to convince the kid that financially it makes more sense to play for some other country other than Nigeria. The young man should follow his heart. Of course I am biased.

If he truly has only played five games for the senior team, and just broke into the first team, his agent is doing a great job and being the rational one here.

amafolas wrote:The agent is probably trying to convince the kid that financially it makes more sense to play for some other country other than Nigeria. The young man should follow his heart. Of course I am biased.

If he truly has only played five games for the senior team, and just broke into the first team, his agent is doing a great job and being the rational one here.
+1

Also by the next game he'd have had 1 season under his belt. Makes more sense to me.

Curious to know what the basis for the call up to a crucial WC game was in the first place
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

akamoke wrote:Curious to know what the basis for the call up to a crucial WC game was in the first place
.... because our current natural / professional full backs do not inspire any confidence!!
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

Agent can advise but should never be a decision maker in a players career. Never!

Ugbowo wrote:Agent can advise but should never be a decision maker in a players career. Never!

wetin Yaya's agent take do you? :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:

Playing for ur national team only enhances ur chances......he will be full international after 5 games? He must be something

The only reason the agent stopped him is becos he is yet to win a contract and he is avoiding any undue injuries or he wants him to play for a European team.

Agent is simply protecting his asset..
jb

Post by jb »

akamoke wrote:Curious to know what the basis for the call up to a crucial WC game was in the first place
Considering that he has not been tested at that level and will need time to blend. He is all Biology now, but Chemistry is very important in soccer.

Enyi wrote:Playing for ur national team only enhances ur chances......he will be full international after 5 games? He must be something

The only reason the agent stopped him is becos he is yet to win a contract and he is avoiding any undue injuries or he wants him to play for a European team.
Kpom!!
papilo

Post by papilo »

Kpom!! End of story. He will come good later. He should focus on his club career first. He just became a regular this season.
yes o

Enyi wrote:Playing for ur national team only enhances ur chances......he will be full international after 5 games? He must be something

Is that right? Why don't you go and ask Mikel what the repercussions of representing Nigeria at the Olympics has done to his career at the moment.

Apples and Oranges. Olympics was not a FIFA window.

bushboy wrote:

Apples and Oranges. Olympics was not a FIFA window.
The statement was what impact playing for your national team has on your career. Simple.

metalalloy wrote:Makes sense.
I doubt it his agent would block a call up from Holland,his agent is most likely holding out for something more profitable!

You are probably right. However, a call up from Holland where he plys his trade and which presumably would raise his profile (along with the profile of his club for having a Dutch national team player on their ranks) immensely, would be in the best interest of his client. You can not say the same for Nigeria.

Thats right!