HERE YOU GO: How Eagles lined up in Closed Door Session....

REVEALED: How Super Eagles Lined Up In 3-4-3 Formation During Close Door Session
http://owngoalnigeria.com/2016/11/11/re ... r-session/

The Super Eagles of Nigeria held their first tactical session at the Nest of Champions ahead of their World Cup 2018 qualifiers against Algeria.

Coach Gernot Rohr held the session behind close doors but Owngoalnigeria.com eagle eyed correspondent watched the training from a section of the stadium unnoticed.

Rohr tried the players in two different formations during the session, starting with a 3-4-3 formation before switching formations again during the session.

Here is how the probables were lined up against the possibles in a 3-4-3 formation as witnessed by our correspondent.

Daniel Akpeyi (GK)

William Troost Ekong ( DF)

Leon Balogun (DF)

Kenneth Omeruo (DF)

Victor Moses (RWB)

Ahmed Musa ( LWB)

Mikel Obi ( MF)

Eddy Onazi (MF)

Oghenekaro Etebo (MF)

Alex Iwobi (FW)

Kelechi Iheanacho (FW)

Keys:

GK: Goalkepper
DF: Defender
RWB: Right Wing Back
LWB: Left Wing Back
MF: Midfielder
FW: Forward
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: HERE YOU GO: How Eagles lined up in Closed Door Session.

It's the big one! :scared: :scared: :scared:

Comment deleted so Aaminar & the rest of the Algerians don't go & spill the beans

Holy! That is a hell of a formation
Moses on right, Musa on left. Nice

It makes sense on paper:
- Moses' form, Musa's role at LC (while left mid, he's had to defend a lot)
- our weakness at full back
- Algeria's width and pace up front

But in practice, it's a damn hard formation to master.

Note: Believe it or not, we have recent form with this as we effectively played it in the first half against Bosnia in the world cup, with Osaze and Juwon effectively playing wing-backs. Osaze's discipline was key to it. So Moses and Musa will have to work their socks off.
andyk1012

Post by andyk1012 »

Cheii on paper this looks deadly
The last thing an enemy would want to see is a couple of million pissed
off old farts with attitudes and automatic weapons who know that their
best years are already behind them.

After trying out a 3-4-3 formation, coach Gernot Rohr tried the players in a 4-3-2-1 formation and Owngoalnigeria.com correspondent who witnessed the session, revealed how the probables were lined up.

Daniel Akpeyi (GK)

Wilfred Ndidi (DF)

Kenneth Omeruo (LB)

Leon Balogun (CB)

William Troost Ekong (CB)

Mikel Obi (MF)

Eddy Onazi (DM)

Oghenekaro Etebo (MF)

Alex Iwobi (FW)

Victor Moses (FW)

Kelechi Iheanacho (FW) Keys:
naija 2 da bone

Post by naija 2 da bone »

Looks like Chelsea formation under Conte

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:After trying out a 3-4-3 formation, coach Gernot Rohr tried the players in a 4-3-2-1 formation and Owngoalnigeria.com correspondent who witnessed the session, revealed how the probables were lined up.

Daniel Akpeyi (GK)

Wilfred Ndidi (DF)

Kenneth Omeruo (LB)

Leon Balogun (CB)

William Troost Ekong (CB)

Mikel Obi (MF)

Eddy Onazi (DM)

Oghenekaro Etebo (MF)

Alex Iwobi (FW)

Victor Moses (FW)

Kelechi Iheanacho (FW) Keys:
Thanks. This is the line up that Colin Udoh spoke about. Colin also tweeted that the coaches are happy with the goalkeepers.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

It's gonna be 80 degrees uyo at 5pm tomorrow , I don't know if Musa and Moses can play wb effectively for 90mins in such condition after getting used to the cold weather in the BPL. That's a lot of running folks. Haba, dem tiff sontin?
papilo

Post by papilo »

I am no inner cacus but my prediction, based on what I am hearing from camp is:

............................Akpeyi..........................

Omeruo........ Balogun.........Ekong..........Echiejile

......................Onazi ............Mikel.....................

............................... Etebo..............................

V. Moses.................................................Iwobi

........................... Iheanacho............................
Last edited by papilo on Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
yes o
Zelex

Post by Zelex »

Hmmm...personally don't feel comfortable with a new formation being played (if it ends up that way) for the first time in a crucial qualify against a quality side.
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:It's gonna be 80 degrees uyo at 5pm tomorrow , I don't know if Musa and Moses can play wb effectively for 90mins in such condition after getting used to the cold weather in the BPL. That's a lot of running folks. Haba, dem tiff sontin?

To me, Omeruo at the RB or LB is not inspiring but I guess the coach knows best and watches them in training.

Experience wins Akpeyi Eagles No.1 shirt after fierce goalkeeping battle
http://mtnfootball.com/news/663198/Expe ... ing-battle
by Staff Reporter
Friday Nov 11, 2016. 15:00

The experience of South Africa-based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi has won him a starting place in tomorrow’s World Cup qualifier against Algeria, but youngster Dele Alampasu pushed him all the way.

With first-choice Carl Ikeme ruled out of the match due to injury, speculations have raged on over the goalkeeper to be between the sticks against the Desert Foxes.

Portugal-based Alampasu has shone in training, but he will not be considered for the No.1 spot because he has yet to make his full international debut after appearances for the country’s U17 and U20s.

FC IfeanyiUbah star Ikechukwu Ezenwa lost out because the Nigeria league has been on break for the past six weeks, officials informed.

“Akpeyi will be in goal against Algeria,” a team official disclosed.

“His experience won him his place.

“Otherwise, Alampasu has really impressed in training, but the coaches do not want to take a gamble on an uncapped player in such an important game like the match against Algeria tomorrow.

“The choice of the goalkeeper to start was not easy as various scenarios were looked at before it was finally decided to go with Akpeyi.”

Akpeyi also deputised for Ikeme in March in a 2017 AFCON qualifier against Egypt in Alexandria.
papilo

Post by papilo »

Experience wins Akpeyi Eagles No.1 shirt after fierce goalkeeping battle
http://mtnfootball.com/news/663198/Expe ... ing-battle
by Staff Reporter
Friday Nov 11, 2016. 15:00

The experience of South Africa-based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi has won him a starting place in tomorrow’s World Cup qualifier against Algeria, but youngster Dele Alampasu pushed him all the way.

With first-choice Carl Ikeme ruled out of the match due to injury, speculations have raged on over the goalkeeper to be between the sticks against the Desert Foxes.

Portugal-based Alampasu has shone in training, but he will not be considered for the No.1 spot because he has yet to make his full international debut after appearances for the country’s U17 and U20s.

FC IfeanyiUbah star Ikechukwu Ezenwa lost out because the Nigeria league has been on break for the past six weeks, officials informed.

“Akpeyi will be in goal against Algeria,” a team official disclosed.

“His experience won him his place.

“Otherwise, Alampasu has really impressed in training, but the coaches do not want to take a gamble on an uncapped player in such an important game like the match against Algeria tomorrow.

“The choice of the goalkeeper to start was not easy as various scenarios were looked at before it was finally decided to go with Akpeyi.”

Akpeyi also deputised for Ikeme in March in a 2017 AFCON qualifier against Egypt in Alexandria.
Reasonable choice. Scary but reasonable.
yes o

papilo,

Scary but the better choice. The truth is that it is scary to play any of the three goalkeepers now in camp but one must play. Alampasu is good but the occasion is a BIG BIG ONE and how are we sure he can handle it? Atleast we know that Akpeyi can as he was out there in unfriendly environment in Cairo against Egypt. Lets just hope that most of the pressure is on Algeria.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:It's gonna be 80 degrees uyo at 5pm tomorrow , I don't know if Musa and Moses can play wb effectively for 90mins in such condition after getting used to the cold weather in the BPL. That's a lot of running folks. Haba, dem tiff sontin?

To me, Omeruo at the RB or LB is not inspiring but I guess the coach knows best and watches them in training.
Why not play onazi at RB and Ndidi as DM? Perhaps ogu can ply lwb. No?
Last edited by EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA on Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

If this is true, well done for leaking the game plan and formation to Algeria.

wiseone wrote:If this is true, well done for leaking the game plan and formation to Algeria.

Let's them follow owngoalnigeria articles. That's what we want. :thumbs:
papilo

Post by papilo »

Enugu II wrote:papilo,

Scary but the better choice. The truth is that it is scary to play any of the three goalkeepers now in camp but one must play. Alampasu is good but the occasion is a BIG BIG ONE and how are we sure he can handle it? Atleast we know that Akpeyi can as he was out there in unfriendly environment in Cairo against Egypt. Lets just hope that most of the pressure is on Algeria.
:agree: 100%
yes o

...closed door!? Thanks for letting the north African know this :shock:

mcal wrote:...closed door!? Thanks for letting the north African know this :shock:
The irony. Something happened behind closed door but you go announce it for internet. What is the point of the door? :rotf: :rotf:

REVEALED: How Super Eagles Lined Up In 3-4-3 Formation During Close Door Session
http://owngoalnigeria.com/2016/11/11/re ... r-session/

The Super Eagles of Nigeria held their first tactical session at the Nest of Champions ahead of their World Cup 2018 qualifiers against Algeria.

Coach Gernot Rohr held the session behind close doors but Owngoalnigeria.com eagle eyed correspondent watched the training from a section of the stadium unnoticed.

Rohr tried the players in two different formations during the session, starting with a 3-4-3 formation before switching formations again during the session.

Here is how the probables were lined up against the possibles in a 3-4-3 formation as witnessed by our correspondent.

Daniel Akpeyi (GK)

William Troost Ekong ( DF)

Leon Balogun (DF)

Kenneth Omeruo (DF)

Victor Moses (RWB)

Ahmed Musa ( LWB)

Mikel Obi ( MF)

Eddy Onazi (MF)

Oghenekaro Etebo (MF)

Alex Iwobi (FW)

Kelechi Iheanacho (FW)

Keys:

GK: Goalkepper
DF: Defender
RWB: Right Wing Back
LWB: Left Wing Back
MF: Midfielder
FW: Forward

Semantics but it looks more like a 3-5-2