Nike finally taking Nigeria serious.

muzines
Nike finally taking Nigeria serious.

Post by muzines »

It seems Nike realizes we have a good chance of going to WC, so they are now taking us seriously. They are promoting the new kit, which is good. Hopefully, it will be easy to find online.

Liberalism is a mental disorder.
Conservative: a liberal who has been mugged by reality.
Re: Nike finally taking Nigeria serious.

about daggone time! We need to renegotiate that contract sef if we manage to reach world cup

:rotf: :rotf: See onu. Abeg mek una cool down until we reach WC. :mrgreen:

muzines

Post by muzines »

Scipio Africanus wrote::rotf: :rotf: See onu. Abeg mek una cool down until we reach WC. :mrgreen:
Which onu? They need to do more of this. Our players need some of that endorsement money.
Liberalism is a mental disorder.
Conservative: a liberal who has been mugged by reality.
solo

Post by solo »

Nigeria football has more issue than this, the money will still go the wrong channel even if contract is renegotiated

But the jersey is just plain green. Why can't they design something that is more attractive and more imaginative?
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Where are the SE training kits?

same kit we wore in Brazil

I wont lie that jersey still looks drab and cheap...seeing it on the players yesterday, i swear i have seen better locally assembled jerseys. On hindsight , the cheap Botafogo design looks better....why cant Nike give us something better

oloye wrote:I wont lie that jersey still looks drab and cheap...seeing it on the players yesterday, i swear i have seen better locally assembled jerseys.
Oloye, the main problem as I have been lamenting for years, is that horrible dark green colour.
You just can't do anything with dark green. I've asked before how many guys here have got green jackets, shirts or pants. Very few I can bet it.

Why we insist on using dark green is beyond me. On top of all that, we are a dark-skinned people.
A lighter green, or a green broken up with white would be much better.
I hate these dark green kits.

Anyway, all four teams in our group have green as their primary national colours. That means we will be in white in all our away matches. It also means all our home matches will be in that dark green. :boo:

oloye wrote:I wont lie that jersey still looks drab and cheap...seeing it on the players yesterday, i swear i have seen better locally assembled jerseys.
Oloye, the main problem as I have been lamenting for years, is that horrible dark green colour.
You just can't do anything with dark green. I've asked before how many guys here have got green jackets, shirts or pants. Very few I can bet it.

Why we insist on using dark green is beyond me. On top of all that, we are a dark-skinned people.
A lighter green, or a green broken up with white would be much better.
I hate these dark green kits.

Anyway, all four teams in our group have green as their primary national colours. That means we will be in white in all our away matches. It also means all our home matches will be in that dark green. :boo:
are the designers saying they cannot spice that jersey up to look better with mixture of white, even if it means several lines of white lines so thin you would hardly see them, but several enough to make the green lighter. Just look at the useless 'tobi' or pant...that thing looks like a training kit.

The notion that we always have to wear green or white is what I don't get. Yes it's the colours on our national flag but it doesn't stop us from using other colors.

Germany don't have white in their flag yet they wear white shirts. Italy and Spain don't have blue in their flag yet they wear blue. Spain when occasionally wears white even though they also don't have white in their flag. England don't have blue in their flag yet they were blue shorts. I think they even wore grey jerseys during Euro 96.

What you don't see of teams going out of their war to wear green of they don't have to. It's not an aesthetically appealing color especially cos of the green grass. It makes for very little contrast. Ireland is the only team I know of. Brazil, Portugal and Wales rarely do even though they all have green in their flag...Brazil actually never does. I remember once they wore green shorts over their traditional yellow shirts but that was a long time ago o think during the Romario era. They just don't wear green even as an alternate...they opt for blue even though green is the more prominent color in their flag.

I'd like to see us try white shirts over green shorts and alternate white/green socks. Or even try completely different colors entirely as an option for a third strip.

lionga

Post by lionga »

theYemster wrote:The notion that we always have to wear green or white is what I don't get. Yes it's the colours on our national flag but it doesn't stop us from using other colors.

Germany don't have white in their flag yet they wear white shirts. Italy and Spain don't have blue in their flag yet they wear blue. Spain when occasionally wears white even though they also don't have white in their flag. England don't have blue in their flag yet they were blue shorts. I think they even wore grey jerseys during Euro 96.

What you don't see of teams going out of their war to wear green of they don't have to. It's not an aesthetically appealing color especially cos of the green grass. It makes for very little contrast. Ireland is the only team I know of. Brazil, Portugal and Wales rarely do even though they all have green in their flag...Brazil actually never does. I remember once they wore green shorts over their traditional yellow shirts but that was a long time ago o think during the Romario era. They just don't wear green even as an alternate...they opt for blue even though green is the more prominent color in their flag.

I'd like to see us try white shirts over green shorts and alternate white/green socks. Or even try completely different colors entirely as an option for a third strip.
Actually Germany has historically done so with their away strip, although that is (perhaps) derived from their FA logo.

Nevertheless, that Naija jersey is embarrassingly banal.

So bland
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Not cool looking at all.

I have always wondered why we can't give to the Aba traders to make it for the SE. I understand it's all about money.

highbury wrote:I have always wondered why we can't give to the Aba traders to make it for the SE. I understand it's all about money.
I'm sure the fans will be the ones complaining that the SE kits are
not foreign made.

I noticed that nike finally provided proper training kits for the players in Paris. :thumbs:

Nigeria played in white against Togo
Polly

Post by Polly »

I don't care in what bleeping colour we play in. I just want a team that can beat people up and cause fear wherever they go.

And experience teaches that we'll be fallen over our beer bottles to buy the jerseys, even if they are blue and black. I want to win, abeg!!

Its a Goal wrote:But the jersey is just plain green. Why can't they design something that is more attractive and more imaginative?
Tell me about it. Zero imagination.

I just don't get what all the it's bland , unimaginative , talk is about. That jersey is ok. It is better than the so called 94 world up pajama jersey, the weired 02 neon and the parachutes of yester-years.

It doesn't have too many additives but sometimes that is a good thing. Yes green is not the favorite color of a lot of people but this jersey right there is a ok. And in no way is it as bad as portrayed on these pages.

That said, Nike can and must still do better.