The untouchables..the 33 the best ever

Ezesportsworld
Re: The untouchables..the 33 the best ever

Post by Ezesportsworld »

hangingfire, you are spot on..Keshi made sure Chidi Nwanu never played 94 nations cup
www.ezesportsworld.net

Chesapeake sports Academy

Ezesportsworld wrote:hangingfire, you are spot on..Keshi made sure Chidi Nwanu never played 94 nations cup
Looking for straws to hang on. Now it is the character and not what transpired on the field. A man plays and captains the national team for over a decade and people are debating if he should be in the team of legends. That is why i love CE :lol:

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

My All-Time XI:
Formation: 3-2-3-2; 3-man backline that can morph into 5-man defence:
Okala
Oduah Chukwu Odiye
Muda Keshi
Odegbami Okocha Ilerika
Kanu Yekini
This team na die:
3 Dead-Ball specialists (Chukwu, Okocha, Yekini)
4 Creative Engines (Kanu, Okocha, Odegbami, Muda)
2 Headmasters (Oduah, Odegbami)
2 Long-Range Shooters (Keshi, Yekini)
3 players who can ping 50m passes for quick transition (Chukwu, Okocha, Keshi)
Pace & Power (Odegbami, Yekini)
2 Supreme Dribblers (Okocha, Ilerika)
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Oloye Yobo captained Nigeria over a decade and did not make the 33 list...read father Tiko line...dead ball specialist Chukwu never mentioned keshi...Keshi was so bad in 94 and he made sure Chidi Nwani, a better player never made the team...
www.ezesportsworld.net

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Ezesportsworld wrote:Oloye Yobo captained Nigeria over a decade and did not make the 33 list...read father Tiko line...dead ball specialist Chukwu never mentioned keshi...Keshi was so bad in 94 and he made sure Chidi Nwani, a better player never made the team...
My good brother, Keshi would always make my All-Time XI.
Even if I select a thousand variations of my All-Time XI, Keshi would make each selection every time.

And Keshi could strike Free-Kicks too; however, not with the same precision as Chukwu or Okocha.

Weigh Keshi's pros & cons, Keshi still was one heck of a player.
- Bill Shankly

FATHER TIKO wrote:My All-Time XI:
Okala
Oduah Chukwu Odiye
Muda Keshi
Odegbami Okocha Ilerika
Kanu Yekini
This team na die:
Father Tiko,

Your list get sas I'm be o! How many matches Oduah play for Nigeria to warrant all time? Then take a position that Tony Igwe played for years and dominated?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

FATHER TIKO wrote:My All-Time XI:
Okala
Oduah Chukwu Odiye
Muda Keshi
Odegbami Okocha Ilerika
Kanu Yekini
This team na die:
Father Tiko,

Your list get sas I'm be o! How many matches Oduah play for Nigeria to warrant all time? Then take a position that Tony Igwe played for years and dominated?
Enugu II, no wahala...replace Oduah with any other capable CB; but no Full-Backs/Wing-Backs...
Anyway, if I wanted FB's, Tony Igwe (World 2) wouldn't be my 1st choice

My formation na back-line of 3 centre backs (can't think of any other CB apart from the 3)

Muda & Keshi as defensive midfield shields (to fall into a 5-man defence when the team is in a defensive mode)

Btw Oduah was one of my favourite defenders (a heck of a header of the ball; his headers be like shots)
His claim to All-Time? Na number of caps dey define All-Time?
- Bill Shankly
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

father Tiko, Check these CBs out..Okey Uche(gentle giant) Godwin Achebe, Chidi Nwanu, West, Sunday Eboigbe.. you can make your choice now..
www.ezesportsworld.net

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Ezesportsworld wrote:father Tiko, Check these CBs out..Okey Uche(gentle giant) Godwin Achebe, Chidi Nwanu, West, Sunday Eboigbe.. you can make your choice now..
My bro, they're all good...add Sunny Izevbgie, Dominic Ezeani (in my book Nigeria's most talented CB; misses my selection due to his very brief stint), Ismaila Mabo, Idowu Otubusin, Jide Dina...

But my choice remains Oduah...
- Bill Shankly
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Ok, make I go back further down the line...Etim Ewa Henshaw, Dan Anyiam, Segun Olumodeji..maybe that will help you,...lol
www.ezesportsworld.net

Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Correction: Izebigie, Mabo, Idowu and Jide Dina were no CBs
www.ezesportsworld.net

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Ezesportsworld wrote:Correction: Izebigie, Mabo, Idowu and Jide Dina were no CBs

You don start o...
What were they? Full-Backs/Wing-Backs?

They were all central defenders.
- Bill Shankly

FATHER TIKO wrote:
Ezesportsworld wrote:Correction: Izebigie, Mabo, Idowu and Jide Dina were no CBs

You don start o...

Father Tiko

Izevbigie was not a defender. He was always a forward.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
hangingfire

Post by hangingfire »

Ezesportsworld wrote:hangingfire, you are spot on..Keshi made sure Chidi Nwanu never played 94 nations cup
Looking for straws to hang on. Now it is the character and not what transpired on the field. A man plays and captains the national team for over a decade and people are debating if he should be in the team of legends. That is why i love CE :lol:
In terms of skill, Chukwu is zillion years ahead of Keshi. Even if Keshi captained the entire world for fifty years, Chukwu is still better than him in every department of football. Again, to compare Odegbami and Finidi is to compare garri with oatmeal. Ten thousand George Finidi + one million Victor Moses cannot match one Segun "Mathematical" Odegbami. Abegi.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

FATHER TIKO wrote:

You don start o...

Father Tiko

Izevbigie was not a defender. He was always a forward.
Ooops. :oops: :oops:
Enugu II, correction taken.
I always thought he was a defender.
- Bill Shankly

Oloye, I am interested to see your own all time best XI?
shynana

Post by shynana »

Odiye vs Nigeria 1977
megapro

Post by megapro »

megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold
megapro

Post by megapro »

Ezesportsworld wrote:Oloye Yobo captained Nigeria over a decade and did not make the 33 list...read father Tiko line...dead ball specialist Chukwu never mentioned keshi...Keshi was so bad in 94 and he made sure Chidi Nwani, a better player never made the team...
?!?
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold
megapro

Post by megapro »

?!?
megapro 2012:
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

Ezesportsworld wrote:How did I arrive at the number 33?..Chairman Chukwu once told me ' the best team ever will have three players who can play each position at anytime' We are talking about the giants of Nigerian football the 33 the best ever. Nigerian football started in the 1930's and mushroomed into the UK tourist team of 1949 the red devils, Green eagles and the Super Eagles. I saw many players and witnessed so many spectacular moments in Nigerian football and can unequivocally tell you that I saw God play and he was wearing the number 10 jersey for Nigeria. Each player listed here must have won any medal for Nigeria, were the best atleast three years consecutively.
GOALKEEPERS
Emma Okala, Peter Rufai, Emma Enyeama..honourably mentioned..Peter Fregene, Inua Rigogo, IKe Shorunmo
Vincent
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

Bigpokey24 wrote:The best eleven is worldclass
:rotf: :rotf: just because Nchekwube JMO is listed.
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

hangingfire wrote:
In terms of skill, Chukwu is zillion years ahead of Keshi. Even if Keshi captained the entire world for fifty years, Chukwu is still better than him in every department of football. Again, to compare Odegbami and Finidi is to compare garri with oatmeal. Ten thousand George Finidi + one million Victor Moses cannot match one Segun "Mathematical" Odegbami. Abegi.
My dear brother hangfire where do you live so that I can send specially delivered blows to your head lol

Seriously though we all love chairman Chukwu but damn the big boss at his peak was a significant and very very significant upgrade to the great CCC.

It's like comparing Atari computers to Macs - my brother na God I take beg you, bros it was and is not close O.

I count it as an extreme previlage and blessing to have watched those men in the GWG of Nigeria.... but I no go lie CCC was like a Lada Car while keshi was like a Porsche - the mans football brain and skill was extremely refined.

I won't list West anywhere close to those two men and we know how good West was.

Man we have produced great footballers in that country Gives you an idea how much relative junk we have now.
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.