FIFA approves 48 team World Cup for 2026 (updated)

folem
Re: 48 team world cup with 16 groups of 3 teams- AFP

Post by folem »

folem wrote:
wazobia wrote:The problem with this plan is that by the last match, the two teams playing may collude if there is a mutually beneficial result (e.g Austria vs Germany 1982). This will be known in advance of the game. There is no way to prevent this

THIS!
There will be no draws in group stage matches. Ties after 90 minutes will go straight to PK shootouts.

That does not eliminate the problem as IRRC, Goal difference will still count even with PK shootouts deciding the ultimate winners. You can have a scenario where everyone in the group ends up with the same amount of points but GD determines which teams progress to the next round, if it is those two teams playing on that last game day, there is every incentive for them to collude to advance together.
It does in a 3 match days group scenario. Win or burst especially with H2H & bonus points.

IRRC? abi na IICC shooting stars. :blushing:
:lol: :lol: IIRC means "If I recall correctly": What "bonus points" are you referring to above? H2H is no tie breaker if all games end in draws and are decided by penalty kicks.

check out the scenario below:

Lets assume we get the following results in a group with Cameroun, Brazil and Portugal. :
Game 1: Cameroun draws with Brazil 0-0 (Cameroun wins on penalties)
Game 2: Portugal draws with Cameroun 0-0 (Portugal wins on penalties)
Game 3: Brazil draws with Portugal 1-1 (Brazil wins on penalties)

By the end of Game 2, Cameroun has played all of its games. On gameday 3, Brazil and Portugal know that a 1-1 tie along with a Brazil victory in the resultant PK guarantees that both of them qualify at Cameroun's expense as the table will be as follows:
p W D L GF GA GD PTS
Brazil 2 1 0 1 1 1 0 3
Portugal 2 1 0 1 1 1 0 3
Cameroun 2 1 0 1 0 0 0 3

This is a realistic possibility as it is similar to how the group E ended in USA 94 where all teams ended with the same amount of points and goal difference
You wrote IRRC and not IIRC. :mrgreen:

The GD in the PK shootout wins will count.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

folem wrote:
wazobia wrote:The problem with this plan is that by the last match, the two teams playing may collude if there is a mutually beneficial result (e.g Austria vs Germany 1982). This will be known in advance of the game. There is no way to prevent this

THIS!
There will be no draws in group stage matches. Ties after 90 minutes will go straight to PK shootouts.

That does not eliminate the problem as IRRC, Goal difference will still count even with PK shootouts deciding the ultimate winners. You can have a scenario where everyone in the group ends up with the same amount of points but GD determines which teams progress to the next round, if it is those two teams playing on that last game day, there is every incentive for them to collude to advance together.
It does in a 3 match days group scenario. Win or burst especially with H2H & bonus points.

IRRC? abi na IICC shooting stars. :blushing:
:lol: :lol: IIRC means "If I recall correctly": What "bonus points" are you referring to above? H2H is no tie breaker if all games end in draws and are decided by penalty kicks.

Lets assume we get the following results in a group with Cameroun, Brazil and Portugal. :

By the end of Game 2, Cameroun has played all of its games. On gameday 3, Brazil and Portugal know that a 1-1 tie along with a Brazil victory in the resultant PK guarantees that both of them qualify at Cameroun's expense as the table will be as follows:
p W D L GF GA GD PTS
Brazil 2 1 0 1 1 1 0 3
Portugal 2 1 0 1 1 1 0 3
Cameroun 2 1 0 1 0 0 0 3

This is a realistic possibility as it is similar to how the group E ended in USA 94 where all teams ended with the same amount of points and goal difference
There are no draws, it's winner take all, 3 points for winner of PK and nothing for the loser, if tied 1-1 after 90 minutes victor of the PK wins the game 2-1 and adds that to their GD.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
Re: FIFA approves 48 team World Cup for 2026 (updated)

Rubbish. A flawed solution for a problem that doesn't exist.

Anyway, my interest in football will have waned significantly by 2026.

@folem :lol: i no even see dat one.
Tunisian Gooner wrote:
There are no draws, it's winner take all, 3 points for winner of PK and nothing for the loser, if tied 1-1 after 90 minutes victor of the PK wins the game 2-1 and adds that to their GD.
Thanks. Is that confirmed anywhere? last i read, the rules have not been determined yet.
And Infantino said specific competition rules — such as a potential introduction of penalty shootouts to break ties in the group stage — would be determined in the years before the tournament.
https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/10/spor ... .html?_r=0

The YeyeMan wrote:Rubbish. A flawed solution for a problem that doesn't exist.

story! you go watch am

kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

Tunisian Gooner wrote:

p W D L GF GA GD PTS
Brazil 2 1 0 1 1 1 0 3
Portugal 2 1 0 1 1 1 0 3
Cameroun 2 1 0 1 0 0 0 3

Does it make a difference to the described scenario? Results would be

Game 1: Cameroon 1 - 0 Brazil
Game 2: Portugal 1 - 0 Cameroon
Game 3: Brazil 2 - 1 Portugal

final table:

1. Brazil 2:2 3
2. Portugal 2:2 3
3. Cameroon 1:1 3
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"
Re: FIFA approves 48 team World Cup for 2026

KB wrote:Bad move.
The quality will go down with the likes of Kenya, Djibouti and Uganda :P qualifying for the WC!
Not necessarily. The first round will be a carnival, after that the real tournament will start. Tournament gets to the business end in the 3rd round then everybody settles down proper...

The World Cup certainly will be exciting for all the reasons that it has always been – the hope that David may triumph over Goliath as was the case in 1990 when Cameroon triumphed over Argentina, or in 1966 when the Koreans upstaged Italy. Those are some of the lores of the World Cup and that will not be hurt by this expansion. Instead, there could be more of those.

Moreover, assume that Africa gets nine representatives instead of the current five. How exactly would that represent dilution of quality when in fact there are possibly 12 African teams that produce approximately same quality of play? Think about this – South Africa, Nigeria, Ivory Coast, Ghana, and Algeria who have all played in World Cups and have each achieved victories, at the World Cup, over Western countries that were deemed World Cup quality. Would adding Egypt, Cameroon, Senegal, and Tunisia represent dilution? I think not.
Click on the link below for a detailed view of the new structure:

http://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2017/01/e ... p-and.html
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Increase to 48 but why have 3 in a group? E no make sense mehn...

the world doesn't revolve around you.

Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

Robbynice wrote:Increase to 48 but why have 3 in a group? E no make sense mehn...
i beg make dem leave am at 4 teams a group, no matter what they do...to me, it just seems like something lacks/is taken away!!!!!!!!!!

the world doesn't revolve around you.
Yours does.

The problem exists...it's called greed.

Same stunt they pulled in the champions league. Diluted it with non champions.

This is a bad idea. I don't like it.

It will cheapen the qualification process. If you can't make the field of 32, you don't deserve to go to the World cup.

SylverEagles wrote:
folem wrote:Image

Unofficial distribution of WC spots.
Hmm interesting, almost matches my proposal:

Host = 1
Europe = 10
Africa = 9
Asia = 8
Oceania = 2
South America = 6
Concacaf = 8
Performance Slots = 4 (these slots will be given to the top 2 Confederations - 2 each - in terms of performance in the last World Cup)

Eliminate this 0.5 place nonsense! Obviously the only issue with my proposal is Europe losing its current slots, well that can be placated with the Performance slots with the caveat that it is not permanent.

Anyways, just my tuppence!

Africa and Asia were scammed by UEFA. How did they get an additional 3 teams?

Every country in Europe basically will be at the World cup.

folem

Post by folem »

ohenhen1 wrote:This is a bad idea. I don't like it.

It will cheapen the qualification process. If you can't make the field of 32, you don't deserve to go to the World cup.
Why 32? Is it a magic #? Why not 13, 16 or 24? :mrgreen:

You remind me of Naija labour unionists protesting at every fuel price increment that the government should revert back to the last price again and again. :bump:

folem wrote:

You remind me of Naija labour unionists protesting at every fuel price increment that the government should revert back to the last price again and again. :bump:
What is next?

Participation ribbons.

But they did the same thing to the Euros, and it weakened the competition.

Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

folem wrote:

What is next?

Participation ribbons.

But they did the same thing to the Euros, and it weakened the competition.

i personally liked the euro idea..WC needs to b left b, fine as it is...
wazobia

Post by wazobia »

Looks like it will be
Europe 13 places increased to 16 places
Africa 5 places increased to 9 places
Asia 4.5 places increased to 8.5 places
South America 4.5 places increased to 6 places
CONCACAF 3.5 places increased to 6.5 places
Oceania 0.5 places increased to 1
Host 1 remains 1

Another issue will be how to handle host places if there are joint hosts, will there be one major host who will take that host assigned spot and the minor hosts, whose spots will be removed from the host continents allotted slots?
WOWO = ONO (oh no!) = OBO

WOWO 'We only want Oyinbo'

ONO 'Oyinbo na Oyinbo'

OBO 'Oyinbo be Oyinbo'

Europe have the most to gain.

They don't have to compete against each other in the group stages.

Molue Conductor wrote:Europe have the most to gain.

LOL. It reduces the probability of European countries getting to the second round from close to 50% to about 33%!!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
muzines

Post by muzines »

Concacaf has the most to gain in this scenario. I think almost all the Concacaf countries will qualify for the WC. They need to take one spot from them and increase Africa to 10.
Liberalism is a mental disorder.
Conservative: a liberal who has been mugged by reality.
folem

Post by folem »

Molue Conductor wrote:Europe have the most to gain.

LOL. It reduces the probability of European countries getting to the second round from close to 50% to about 33%!!
You must be joking. :mrgreen: