by smartbrother
good luck to him but he was a horrible coach for Nigeria
Rohr has put him to shame
Hopefully never returns to the SE.
Never.

Re: SUNDAY OLISEH JUPILER LEAGUE WATCH

Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 1:03 pm
by Eclipse
depends on what you call horrible..tactically..he was a very sound coach especially his attention to naija's aversion to set pieces..personality wise...well not too hot...either way..very proud of what he's doing in holland..i'll continue watching his progress with keen interest.Whether we like it or not, he is a trail blazer..not THE trailblazer, but a trailblazer nonetheless to opening the door to african coaches being taken seriously in the west.

Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 1:30 pm
by smartbrother
Eclipse wrote:depends on what you call horrible..tactically..he was a very sound coach especially his attention to naija's aversion to set pieces..personality wise...well not too hot...either way..very proud of what he's doing in holland..i'll continue watching his progress with keen interest.Whether we like it or not, he is a trail blazer..not THE trailblazer, but a trailblazer nonetheless to opening the door to african coaches being taken seriously in the west.
Maybe he was still learning the ropes tactically when he coached us
But Nigeria played such anaemic depressing football under him.
also we had to endure seeing the likes of Paul Onobi and Sylvestus Igboun playing for us ahead of more deserving players
I gave him the benefit of the doubt while he was with us but the fact that a journeyman coach like Rohr is outperforming him says a lot
either Oliseh was horrible and Rohr is average,
or Oliseh was average and Rohr is an amazing coach
Either way I hope he stays away from Nigeria's technical bench forever

Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 3:56 pm
by Eclipse
Smart Brother, you may not like him and I understand your reasons but to come up here and say we played rubbish football under oliseh is utter and complete b.s.It was only two years ago and I personally watched the eagles games incl when we played cameroun in a friendly across the english channel. His first couple of games were ropey but he definitely had the team playing some decent football especially with his attention to set pieces.

My problem with him was his short temper, interaction with the media and treatment of some of the more established players in camp. But as far as football goes, he did the business and was on the right path as far as I was concerned. By the way, the NFA certainly did not help matters.

Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:39 pm
by smartbrother
Eclipse you need to learn how to discuss without childishly attacking or ascribing ulterior motives to other people's opinions.
You are mistaken if you think calling other people's views "utter and complete b.s" somehow gives strength to your opinion.
You say you "personally watched the eagles games incl when we played cameroun across the english channel(whatever that means)". Okay,..... So what?
Guess what? Every diehard SE fan including me also watched every game Nigeria played under Oliseh. You're not special.
Its also very arrogant to assume our diverging views on oliseh must be down to me not liking him.
I could equally suggest your favourable view of Oliseh is driven by a romantic schoolboy crush you have on him.
There's no evidence to support either claim so better to leave such nonsense out of the discussion

Oliseh introduced nothing original in terms of strategy. We played the same conventional tactics and formations under him
There was zero improvement in our style of play under him
We struggled against teams like Swaziland, Tanzania and Congo under him.
The only minor improvement was the reduction in the number of junk players in the squad
Overall he was a useless coach and very emotionally unstable
But that;s just my opinion

Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:40 am
by Waffiman
Oliseh proving people wrong and they do not like it. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 4:17 pm
by anointed

Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 4:42 pm
anointed wrote: :clap: :clap: :clap:
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

This must really hurt several Nigerians, many of whom are on Cybereagles. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 5:13 pm
by Eclipse
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: they come here and say he was a terrible tactician..i repeat my earlier statement..I still call it b.s

Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 5:26 pm
by Shownoja
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: Well done coach. Keep learning, keep developing yourself. We will return to BEG you sooner or later. It's a given.

Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 5:56 pm
by asabatex

Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 6:18 pm
by 1naija
This is great and Congrats. But I hope Oliseh has not started awarding himself awards like JJ did with BBC African player of the year o! :taunt:

Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:15 pm
by anikulapo

:clap: :clap:

Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:03 pm
by imehjunior

:clap: :clap:
Best coach or coach of the month? A bit confused

Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:41 pm
by The YeyeMan
Good for Oliseh. :clap:

The Nigeria job came too early for him.

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:08 am
by jette1
I think most of you are understandably conflicting two issues here about Oliseh; He might as well be doing very well as a coach in Juplier league evident in the results he has gotten and that's all great and dandy. However you would be woefully wanting to extrapolate whatever appraisal you are operating with to his coaching fiasco in Nigeria. There are far too many unrelated intervening variables.
In the final analysis he woefully failed to manage his Team in Nigeria irrespective of his present standing elsewhere. We all know that If successes in any aspect of life elsewhere in the world are directly interchangeable/translatable with Nigeria unique environment then many of you would have since duplicated same in Nigeria. So this has nothing to do with liking oliseh or not liking him.

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:56 am
by maceo4
Big ups to Sunny! Keep making us proud!

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:04 am
by 1naija
jette1 wrote:I think most of you are understandably conflicting two issues here about Oliseh; He might as well be doing very well as a coach in Juplier league evident in the results he has gotten and that's all great and dandy. However you would be woefully wanting to extrapolate whatever appraisal you are operating with to his coaching fiasco in Nigeria. There are far too many unrelated intervening variables.
In the final analysis he woefully failed to manage his Team in Nigeria irrespective of his present standing elsewhere. We all know that If successes in any aspect of life elsewhere in the world are directly interchangeable/translatable with Nigeria unique environment then many of you would have since duplicated same in Nigeria. So this has nothing to do with liking oliseh or not liking him.

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:52 am
by felarey
Welldone Coach Oliseh! So proud of you brother. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:35 am
by Sheikh
smartbrother wrote:Eclipse you need to learn how to discuss without childishly attacking or ascribing ulterior motives to other people's opinions.
You are mistaken if you think calling other people's views "utter and complete b.s" somehow gives strength to your opinion.
You say you "personally watched the eagles games incl when we played cameroun across the english channel(whatever that means)". Okay,..... So what?
Guess what? Every diehard SE fan including me also watched every game Nigeria played under Oliseh. You're not special.
Its also very arrogant to assume our diverging views on oliseh must be down to me not liking him.
I could equally suggest your favourable view of Oliseh is driven by a romantic schoolboy crush you have on him.
There's no evidence to support either claim so better to leave such nonsense out of the discussion

Oliseh introduced nothing original in terms of strategy. We played the same conventional tactics and formations under him
There was zero improvement in our style of play under him
We struggled against teams like Swaziland, Tanzania and Congo under him.
The only minor improvement was the reduction in the number of junk players in the squad
Overall he was a useless coach and very emotionally unstable
But that;s just my opinion
Cannot agree more with Smartbrother on his abilities as a coach. I thought Oliseh was technically a sub-par coach, and his personality was unsuitable. Self obsessed and a bad manager of people. Doing very well in the second division of the Dutch league has no bearing whatsoever on how he can perform at a more competitive level, where he has to pitch his wits against accomplished coaches and teams, and manage players with more experience and stronger abilities.

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:56 am
by Cally
jette1 wrote:I think most of you are understandably conflicting two issues here about Oliseh; He might as well be doing very well as a coach in Juplier league evident in the results he has gotten and that's all great and dandy. However you would be woefully wanting to extrapolate whatever appraisal you are operating with to his coaching fiasco in Nigeria. There are far too many unrelated intervening variables.

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:29 am
by cic old boy
The YeyeMan wrote:Good for Oliseh. :clap:

Nope, Nigeria was not ready for him or most people with professionalism.

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:48 am
by The YeyeMan
The YeyeMan wrote:Good for Oliseh. :clap:

Nope, Nigeria was not ready for him or most people with professionalism.
Whilst that's certainly a fair point, Oliseh showed a lack of man-management ability whilst coaching the SE and that's something he appears to have improved upon.