Page 1 of 2

Africans react to Michael Olunga's big money move in China!

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:58 pm
by Field Marshall Ogolo
Europe is overrated!
The transfer fee is Kshs 467 million!! . Remember we are not talking Naira here. This is major, folks!
Olunga will shake up the Chinese league! He's barely 22! Yeah, you heard that right. He was born in 1995! After Yekini scored that goal in Dallas!

Kenyan striker Michael Olunga has completed a surprise move to Chinese Super league side Guizhou Hengfeng Zhicheng.

News outlets in Sweden have reported that the Chinese outfit triggered the Sh467 million fee asked by Olunga’s former club, Sweden’s Djurgardens IF.

Olunga, 22, formerly on loan to Gor Mahia from Liberty Academy, scored 12 goals for the Swedish side in his debut season. He had three years left on his contract.

As expected, the striker’s move to the monied Chinese league has been a topic of discussion among Kenyans and the striker was trending on twitter for the better part of yesterday.

Before Olunga’s move, the towering striker had reportedly attracted interest from Russian giants CSKA Moscow and Turkish side Galatasaray SK.

The switch has, therefore, come as a surprise to many Kenyans, some of whom believe that the promising striker’s footballing career has come to an end as the Chinese League is considered a last resort for aging footballers looking to cash in before retirement.

We have sampled some of the reactions from twitter and Facebook:

- See more at: http://nairobiwire.com/2017/01/its-all- ... 7DCTN.dpuf

Re: Africans react to Michael Olunga's big money move in Chi

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:02 pm
by nemi2002
How much is it in real money?

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:27 pm
nemi2002 wrote:How much is it in real money?
$50k

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:53 pm
by pajimoh
$50k
And the buyers got $45k change :twisted:

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:46 pm
by mcal
Sh467 million fee
...i remember shillings is what you hold on the palm of your hands. 467 millions of it will mean, just stuff some in your pant pockets and deal is done :biggrin: :biggrin:

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:14 pm
by tfco
$50k

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:09 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Real Africans have never heard of Olunga Olunga

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:21 pm
by Chimex101
More like " Africans from Kenya " react to Olunga's big move.

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 7:27 pm
by Kabalega
Chimex101 wrote:More like " Africans from Kenya " react to Olunga's big move.
You must be new on CE. :lol: :lol:

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 7:40 pm
by The Eagle
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Real Africans have never heard of Olunga Olunga
Yes we have. Well, tfco has.

He is the one tfco refers to as AN78,460,349

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:45 pm
by tfco
The Eagle wrote:

but there are only 78,460,348 footballers around

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:13 pm
by anointed
The Eagle wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:24 pm
by platinum
You sure say no be olumba olumba be this?

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:31 am
by Eaglezbeak
You sure say no be olumba olumba be this?

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:53 pm
by metalalloy
The Eagle wrote:

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:59 pm
by papilo

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:27 pm
by Field Marshall Ogolo
papilo wrote:
Okay for those based in Nigeria and need to understand the magnitude of this transfer, here are the numbers

467,000,000.00 KES = 1,371,083,980.00 NGN

That's almost 1.5 billion Naira. Billion with a B, folks.
Remember Olunga is just getting started.
If Olunga was born in Naija, he would probably be playing his second stint for the under 17 team. :taunt:
You think we don't know why your teams are so dominant in that competition? :sneaky:

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:42 pm
by Field Marshall Ogolo
Chimex101 wrote:More like " Africans from Kenya " react to Olunga's big move.
Unfortunately, China never worked out. It was too small a theatre for Michael Olunga who has just moved to La Liga.
Well, he scored two goals on his debut. Not since Roger Milla, Yekini & Eto'o has the continent had such a lethal striker!
He's faster and stronger than Neymar!

http://mobile.nation.co.ke/sports/footb ... index.html

VS Messi who rubbished Naija (U-21)
https://www.sde.co.ke/thenairobian/arti ... ptember-23

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 1:02 pm
by nemi2002
They sent him out on loan. Wanyama should be a shillings trillionaire

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:15 pm
by Field Marshall Ogolo
nemi2002 wrote:They sent him out on loan. Wanyama should be a shillings trillionaire
No, the Kenyan currency has not yet gone south the way of Naira.
Personally I cannot accept Naira as payment for anything right now.
I remember when it was stronger than the dollar. Naija has seen better times. :taunt:

Son, 1 Kshs is equivalent to 3.50 Nairas!

Y'all have mismanaged your country's economy with all the wealth mother Africa put at your doorstep, selling the country's jewels for a song.

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:57 pm
by Odas
$50k
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Una no well at all.

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:58 pm
by Odas
Generalissimo Ogolo wrote:
nemi2002 wrote:They sent him out on loan. Wanyama should be a shillings trillionaire
No, the Kenyan currency has not yet gone south the way of Naira.
Personally I cannot accept Naira as payment for anything right now.
I remember when it was stronger than the dollar. Naija has seen better times. :taunt:

Son, 1 Kshs is equivalent to 3.50 Nairas!

Y'all have mismanaged your country's economy with all the wealth mother Africa put at your doorstep, selling the country's jewels for a song.

:agree: :agree: :agree: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:03 pm
by Odas