Paul Pogba, a Muslim!!

With a Christian first name, Paul, I never thought Pogba was a Muslim until I read the link below

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/ ... a-10521701
Re: Paul Pogba, a Muslim!!

Ok

Dammy wrote:With a Christian first name, Paul, I never thought Pogba was a Muslim until I read the link below

What's the exclamation mark about, bro? :???:

yea, the name paul isn't Muslim..Paul in ACTS of the apostles sef was a christian... but bobo nah from Guinea, so lots of Muslins are from Guinea

Dammy wrote:With a Christian first name, Paul, I never thought Pogba was a Muslim until I read the link below

I wonder o !
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

Bigpokey24 wrote:yea, the name paul isn't Muslim..Paul in ACTS of the apostles sef was a christian... but bobo nah from Guinea, so lots of Muslins are from Guinea

The name Paul has a meaning and version in most languages and religions.
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?

Has Hank Anukulapo been informed?

Franck Ribery is a Muslim also....first name "Franck". First name Malcolm was also a Muslim :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Exposure of religious prejudice, that's all!!!

...names in the medieval mid east are interchangeable. With both religion in that small space. Paul use to be Saul. Paul in Spanish is Paulo, Abraham, Ibrahim, Barrack, Barak, and so on and o forth.

mcal wrote:...names in the medieval mid east are interchangeable. With both religion in that small space. Paul use to be Saul. Paul in Spanish is Paulo, Abraham, Ibrahim, Barrack, Barak, and so on and o forth.
Correct ,I doubt it many asking would have thought of this but the Bible was set in Israel (Middle East) names like Paul,Daniel,James and John are not indigenous to that area and are indeed Latin in origin but modified to their English version,you can see it how you want to but nothing is what you think it is so if you are going nitpick on names do some research!

^But what about John (colloquially known as Jim to his mates), Timothy and James. Surely there must've been a Dean or Colin knocking about.

CE likes to form too much. Who wouldn't be surprised that someone with Paul as first name is muslim? Prejudice or not, it's surprising. Or do you know another Paul that's muslim?
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
bk-one

Post by bk-one »

Coach wrote:Has Hank Anukulapo been informed?

Özil/Xhaka/Mahrez treatment coming soon :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

anointed wrote:CE likes to form too much. Who wouldn't be surprised that someone with Paul as first name is muslim? Prejudice or not, it's surprising. Or do you know another Paul that's muslim?

But the name is more Latin/Roman first.
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?

anointed wrote:CE likes to form too much. Who wouldn't be surprised that someone with Paul as first name is muslim? Prejudice or not, it's surprising. Or do you know another Paul that's muslim?

Yes. I know one. he's from Congo (Brazzaville). :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky: And I know several Suleimans that are Christians...

Guv007 wrote:

But the name is more Latin/Roman first.
Point is how many Muslims give such names to their kids at birth? Even in Yoruba language, Muslims don't give names with Oluwa (Lord) as a prefix or suffix. Olorun (God) is very common.

Paul's twin elder brothers are Florentin & Matthias. I'm guessing their father, Fassou Antoine, was Catholic but wasn't exactly religious but got married to devoutly muslim wife, Yeo. I doubt if she was his first wife too. He came to France at 30 and 22 & 25 years later, Yeo gave birth to Florentin/Matthias and Paul respectively. That's considering that Antoine died at 79 and Paul who's 3 years younger than the twins was born in 1993, when Antoine was 55 years.

The boys were said to have been introduced to Islam by their mother while living with her in Paris...possibly they weren't living with their father though he was the one that taught then football basics.

https://www.quora.com/Is-Paul-Pogba-Muslim
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Yes. I know one. he's from Congo (Brazzaville). :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky: And I know several Suleimans that are Christians...
Suleiman is an Arabic name. It means Solomon. It's a very popular name amongst christian Hausas like Hassan (Jacob), Dauda (Dauda), Ibrahim (Abraham), Yisa (Jesus) etc. Is there Paul in the Quran? It will explain while a Muslim is not likely to give Paul to his child at birth or a Christian who Christen their kids Mohammed are not common since there's no such individual in the Bible. An adult muslim Paul or christian Mohammed I believe must be converts.

There is nothing in the Quran that says we should give our kids Muslim names only. My dad's name is Charles. I named my eldest son after him. I have Muslim friends who are named Peter, Paul and George In our subregion extended families can have both Christian and Muslim members. So it is just natural that names cross religions too.

BTW I wonder what religion Pascal Feindouno is? He was one heck of a baller.

Bro, i was surprised that a Muslim can have the name of the greatest Christian Apostle.

YUJAM wrote:There is nothing in the Quran that says we should give our kids Muslim names only. My dad's name is Charles. I named my eldest son after him. I have Muslim friends who are named Peter, Paul and George In our subregion extended families can have both Christian and Muslim members. So it is just natural that names cross religions too.

No one says it's in the Quran. It's just what we do in practice.

Charles is just an English name. BTW, it would be something if your grandfather, a Muslim and other muslim fathers without christian wives, gave names like Charles, Peter etc to their kids.

anointed wrote:
YUJAM wrote:There is nothing in the Quran that says we should give our kids Muslim names only. My dad's name is Charles. I named my eldest son after him. I have Muslim friends who are named Peter, Paul and George In our subregion extended families can have both Christian and Muslim members. So it is just natural that names cross religions too.

No one says it's in the Quran. It's just what we do in practice.

Charles is just an English name. BTW, it would be something if your grandfather, a Muslim and other muslim fathers without christian wives, gave names like Charles, Peter etc to their kids.
That was exactly the case with my family even though I think there were some Christians who converted to Islam hundreds of years ago. BTW all my kids have Christian names. Times have changed bro. Many things aren't exactly what they seem to be

anointed wrote:

Suleiman is an Arabic name. It means Solomon. It's a very popular name amongst christian Hausas like Hassan (Jacob), Dauda (Dauda), Ibrahim (Abraham), Yisa (Jesus) etc. Is there Paul in the Quran? It will explain while a Muslim is not likely to give Paul to his child at birth or a Christian who Christen their kids Mohammed are not common since there's no such individual in the Bible. An adult muslim Paul or christian Mohammed I believe must be converts.
Ok...next time I born pikin, I go name am Anointed...as middle name. Oya, go stand in front of Mosque and block am from entering :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: