Cameroon this and that BUT biggest next game v South Africa

Though most of us are preoccupied with August game v Cameroon ..... the reality for Nigeria is that its next biggest game is v South Africa in the 2019 CAN qualifiers.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Cameroon this and that BUT biggest next game v South Afr

God Forbid a hattrick of absences o!

I believe 2 teams can qualify from some groups as 3 best runners up qualify. If we cant qualify with SA, Seychelles and Libya in our group, then lets concentrate on Ludo or 'nchom' abi na 'ayo'

Enugu II wrote:Though most of us are preoccupied with August game v Cameroon ..... the reality for Nigeria is that its next biggest game is v South Africa in the 2019 CAN qualifiers.
Uncle, this sounds like an alarmist announcement. How can any SE game against SE be the biggest game for Nigeria? Is there a new South Africa?

Interesting to note that we are still the 3rd highest ranked side for the 2019 AFCON qualifiers.

The 2013 win and the qualification for the 2nd round of the 2014 WC is propping us up. Thanks to Keshi.

Although, we will drop massively if we don't qualify for the next AFCON or World Cup, since we've missed the last 2 AFCONs and we'll literally have nothing to hold us in the 4 year ranking window.

I am confident we will qualify for, and do well in both tournaments though

Seeding[edit]
For seeding, the teams were ranked using CAF's own system which were calculated based on the team's performance in the three most recent editions the Africa Cup of Nations final tournaments, the three most recent editions the Africa Cup of Nations qualifying campaigns, and the 2014 FIFA World Cup final tournament and qualifying campaign.[3]
The teams ranked 1–45 (Pots 1–4) directly entered the group stage, while the teams ranked 46–51 (Pot 5) entered the preliminary round.
Pot Rank Team Tournaments and weighting factor Total
2017 AFCON Q 2015 AFCON 2015 AFCON Q 2013 AFCON 2013 AFCON Q 2012 AFCON 2014 WC 2014 WC Q
× 2 × 3 × 1 × 2 × 0.5 × 1 × 2 × 1
Pot 1 1 Ivory Coast 8 24 3 6 1.5 6 8 7 63.5
2 Ghana 8 18 4 8 1.5 4 6 7 56.5
3 Nigeria 6 2 16 1.5 12 7 44.5
4 Algeria 8 9 4 2 1.5 12 7 43.5
5 Tunisia 8 9 4 4 1.5 3 5 34.5
6 Mali 8 6 3 8 1.5 4 3 33.5
7 Burkina Faso 8 3 3 12 1.5 1 5 33.5
8 DR Congo 8 12 2 4 1.5 2 29.5
9 Cameroon (H) 8 3 4 1 6 7 29
10 Zambia 4 3 3 4 1.5 8 3 26.5
11 Cape Verde 6 6 4 6 1.5 3 26.5
12 Senegal 8 6 3 1 1 5 24
Pot 2 13 Gabon 6 6 4 1 3 2 22
14 Guinea 4 9 3 1 2 3 22
15 Congo 6 9 3 0.5 3 21.5
16 Equatorial Guinea 4 12 1 3 1 21
17 South Africa 4 3 4 6 3 20
18 Morocco 8 4 1.5 2 3 18.5
19 Egypt 8 2 0.5 5 15.5
20 Ethiopia 6 1 2 1.5 5 15.5
21 Togo 6 1 6 1.5 1 15.5
22 Angola 4 2 2 1.5 2 2 13.5
23 Uganda 6 2 1 3 12
24 Mozambique 6 2 1 2 11
Pot 3 25 Zimbabwe 8 1 1 10
26 Libya 4 1 2 3 10
27 Botswana 4 1 1 1 2 9
28 Niger 2 1 2 1.5 1 1 8.5
29 Benin 6 0.5 2 8.5
30 Guinea-Bissau 8 0.5 8.5
31 Malawi 2 2 1 3 8
32 Sudan 2 1 1 3 1 8
33 Sierra Leone 4 1 1 2 8
34 Central African Republic 6 1 1 8
35 Tanzania 4 0.5 2 6.5
36 Burundi 6 0.5 6.5
Pot 4 37 Mauritania 6 6
38 Swaziland 6 6
39 Liberia 4 1 1 6
40 Namibia 4 0.5 1 5.5
41 Rwanda 4 0.5 1 5.5
42 Lesotho 2 1 2 5
43 Kenya 2 0.5 2 4.5
44 Seychelles 4 0.5 4.5
45 Gambia 2 0.5 1 3.5
Pot 5 46 Madagascar 2 0.5 2.5
47 São Tomé and Príncipe 2 0.5 2.5
48 South Sudan 2 2
49 Comoros 2 2
50 Djibouti 2 2
51 Mauritius 2 2
No Pot 52 Chad[nb 1] 0.5 0.5
53 Eritrea[nb 2] 0
54 Somalia[nb 2] 0
Notes

Enugu II wrote:Though most of us are preoccupied with August game v Cameroon ..... the reality for Nigeria is that its next biggest game is v South Africa in the 2019 CAN qualifiers.
Uncle, this sounds like an alarmist announcement. How can any SE game against SE be the biggest game for Nigeria? Is there a new South Africa?
Uncle, SA bounced Nigeria from the 2015 AFCON.

Though they did not beat us, we could not beat an already qualified Bafana in Uyo. We were actually down 0-2 before Sone Aluko spared us from the indignity of a 1st competitive loss to SA.

They might be our concubines, but they are somehow (thanks to a Breda ref) leading a WC group that contains Senegal and Burkina Faso

That was under Oilseh or Siasia who we all agree were incompetent senior team coaches.

1naija wrote:That was under Oilseh or Siasia who we all agree were incompetent senior team coaches.

No sir, that was under Steven Keshi. But I agree about the incompetent part.

1naija wrote:That was under Oilseh or Siasia who we all agree were incompetent senior team coaches.
No sir, that was under Steven Keshi. But I agree about the incompetent part.
So "incompetent" he won the ANC and got to the WC round of 16... :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

truetalk wrote:

Though they did not beat us, we could not beat an already qualified Bafana in Uyo. We were actually down 0-2 before Sone Aluko spared us from the indignity of a 1st competitive loss to SA.

They might be our concubines, but they are somehow (thanks to a Breda ref) leading a WC group that contains Senegal and Burkina Faso
The Cameroon game is WAY more important...
If we cannot be 1 of 2 qualifiers in our ANC group, we should stay home.

Gotti,

The next competitive game (if you still have a chance) is the MOST important game. Hopefully, the coach understands that. Cameroon game should receive full focus after we beat South Africa. Not before. In essence, we should not be going around believing that South Africa is a walk-over and that we should only prepare for Cameroon.
true talk wrote:

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
ikemba_nacho

Post by ikemba_nacho »

Enugu II wrote:Gotti,

The next competitive game (if you still have a chance) is the MOST important game. Hopefully, the coach understands that. Cameroon game should receive full focus after we beat South Africa. Not before. In essence, we should not be going around believing that South Africa is a walk-over and that we should only prepare for Cameroon.
true talk wrote:

To be honest, I dont think most sensible people would assume this was a walk in the park, however most people are focused on the World Cup Qualifiers this was the same for me.

If we have truly have two games prior to the South Africa game, knowing Rhor, I dont think we would be under done.

truetalk wrote:

true

Date?
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

anointed wrote:
Date?
Ok...June 5-13.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe