Page 1 of 3

Any update on Taiwo Awoniyi?

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 3:17 pm
by bushboy
Is he banging in goals for fun in the Dutch league? It has been a while since I heard news of his exploits. Surely he is starting to show his quality?
Any update on this glorious talent will be appreciated. Thanks!

Re: Any update on Taiwo Awoniyi?

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 3:57 pm
by walesvilla
dont know much about his form- but i follow him on instagram and he is very active with post of his training activities in the snow. i wish he can come good for SE sake

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 4:21 pm
by okidoki
I don't see Ighalo or success setting the world on fire. Dip in form happens to the best of them, doesn't mean they don't have talent.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 4:40 pm
okidoki wrote:I don't see Ighalo or success setting the world on fire. Dip in form happens to the best of them, doesn't mean they don't have talent.
When has Awoniyi ever been so in form since turning pro?

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 4:48 pm
by Gotti
walesvilla wrote:dont know much about his form- but i follow him on instagram and he is very active with post of his training activities in the snow. i wish he can come good for SE sake

I don't what happened to the Taiwo we used to know and cherish, but...
Saw him play about 2 weeks ago, coming in as a late sub in a losing cause - all hustle and nothing else.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 4:49 pm
by Gotti
okidoki wrote:I don't see Ighalo or success setting the world on fire. Dip in form happens to the best of them, doesn't mean they don't have talent.
Despite the Bushboy Jinx :D
I think that Success will eventually come good.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 4:56 pm
by bushboy
Did you not see where I acknowledged him as a "glorious talent?" :roll: :roll:

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 5:39 pm
by kolinzo
You folks are the ones misleading our young talents. Awoniyi and the likes would do well playing in one of the hardest league in the world named MLS. If Tesho Akindele can make it then Kele, Awo, Nwakali, Success etc can make it here. We need to start telling these kids to consider the CONCACAF region. It is a tough region.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 5:41 pm
by ohenhen1
Awoniyi needs good competition to get better. Playing in a backwater league like the MLS won't help his development. Even the NPFL is better than the MLS. Rangers, Ifeanyi Uba, MFM, Rivers United are tapping serious football. The league has improved.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:12 pm
by bully12
I'm astounded the speed U 17 team of 2015 amazing and outstanding players fizzled out.Honestly I thought 4-5 super stars will emerge from that group . It is unfortunate none of the player is a consistent player in one of the elite clubs. I'm disenchanted with their progress.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:23 pm
by mcal
...may be these young Nigerian players, when they turn pro should go to 2 division english league which is better that all this 1st divisions somewhere else in europe. At least at championship they get to rub shoulders with epl clubs at a point...who knows from there.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:28 pm
by bully12
I'm astounded the speed U 17 outstanding players fizzled out.Honestly I thought 4-5 super stars will emerge from that group . It is unfortunate none of the player is a consistent player in one of the elite clubs. I'm disenchanted with their progress.

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 1:46 am
by Igugu
When is Nigeria going to start developing her 1st Division League or NPL to world standard? In my opinion, all football clubs should be give autonomy; and possibly grants/loans to develop to acceptable standard in 5 Years, or otherwise merge with other clubs. Nigeria must set up a standard for them to meet. The clubs must have their own stadia in their own home city. If countries like Columbia, Chile, Peru, Bulgaria and even countries in the Asiatic Region, namely Vietnam, etc; can have leagues that Nigerians flock to, it is about time Nigeria started providing a ground where Nigerian players can ply their football trades and be happy doing so in.

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:34 am
by ohenhen1
Igugu wrote:When is Nigeria going to start developing her 1st Division League or NPL to world standard? In my opinion, all football clubs should be give autonomy; and possibly grants/loans to develop to acceptable standard in 5 Years, or otherwise merge with other clubs. Nigeria must set up a standard for them to meet. The clubs must have their own stadia in their own home city. If countries like Columbia, Chile, Peru, Bulgaria and even countries in the Asiatic Region, namely Vietnam, etc; can have leagues that Nigerians flock to, it is about time Nigeria started providing a ground where Nigerian players can ply their football trades and be happy doing so in.
You are onto something there.

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 3:49 am
by 1naija
Hopefully he is not suffering from the Dele syndrome

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 3:51 am
by DAgrin
bushboy wrote:Is he banging in goals for fun in the Dutch league? It has been a while since I heard news of his exploits. Surely he is starting to show his quality?
The answer is Abraham and Osimhen.

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:07 am
by wale1974
Taiwo Awoniyi: 601 Mins so far this season with 0 goal
https://www.whoscored.com/Players/281049/

Isaac Success: 297 Mins so far this season with 1 goal.
https://www.whoscored.com/Players/145940/

Odion Ighalo: 1297 Mins so far this season with 1 goal.
https://www.whoscored.com/Players/31376/

Personally I think they all need to focus on their career and forget about SE for now.

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:15 am
by DAgrin
wale1974 wrote:Taiwo Awoniyi: 601 Mins so far this season with 0 goal
https://www.whoscored.com/Players/281049/

Isaac Success: 297 Mins so far this season with 1 goal.
https://www.whoscored.com/Players/145940/

Odion Ighalo: 1297 Mins so far this season with 1 goal.
https://www.whoscored.com/Players/31376/

Personally I think they all need to focus on their career and forget about SE for now.
I agree, except from Success.

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 8:50 am
by Gotti
Igugu wrote:When is Nigeria going to start developing her 1st Division League or NPL to world standard? In my opinion, all football clubs should be give autonomy; and possibly grants/loans to develop to acceptable standard in 5 Years, or otherwise merge with other clubs. Nigeria must set up a standard for them to meet. The clubs must have their own stadia in their own home city. If countries like Columbia, Chile, Peru, Bulgaria and even countries in the Asiatic Region, namely Vietnam, etc; can have leagues that Nigerians flock to, it is about time Nigeria started providing a ground where Nigerian players can ply their football trades and be happy doing so in.
You are onto something there.

These are not novel ideas (and clubs do not need to own stadia, which they can lease)...
There are already anywhere from 5-10 NPFL clubs reportedly preparing for NASD OTC listing.

However, so long as the Naira is approximately 500 to a dollar...
Many (if not most) players will rather play in Albania than in Aba!

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 8:59 am
by Gotti
bully12 wrote:I'm astounded the speed U 17 outstanding players fizzled out.Honestly I thought 4-5 super stars will emerge from that group . It is unfortunate none of the player is a consistent player in one of the elite clubs. I'm disenchanted with their progress.
"Fizzled out" when it's not even a year-and-a-half yet? :blink:

As difficult as it is for African youth players to break into Euro clubs, Orji Okoronkwo has already played in the Serie A for Bologna (where Kingsley Michael is reportedly on the books as well), Kele Nwakali is with Arsenal and doing well on loan in Holland, while only injury seems to be hindering Victor Osimhen at Wolfsburg. How many of the other teams at the Chile U17 tournament have done better thus far?

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:59 am
by Prince
bully12 wrote:I'm astounded the speed U 17 outstanding players fizzled out.Honestly I thought 4-5 super stars will emerge from that group . It is unfortunate none of the player is a consistent player in one of the elite clubs. I'm disenchanted with their progress.

As difficult as it is for African youth players to break into Euro clubs, Orji Okoronkwo has already played in the Serie A for Bologna (where Kingsley Michael is reportedly on the books as well), Kele Nwakali is with Arsenal and doing well on loan in Holland, while only injury seems to be hindering Victor Osimhen at Wolfsburg. How many of the other teams at the Chile U17 tournament have done better thus far?
They have done very well so far, but they are still kids, My only problem is that all this kids have done is play football and might have peaked, but there are some of them that can still keep improving.

But if we can get 2 out of the group we have done well

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 11:59 am
by papilo
bushboy wrote:Is he banging in goals for fun in the Dutch league? It has been a while since I heard news of his exploits. Surely he is starting to show his quality?
The guy has not been starting games but has been getting 10 to 15 minutes here and there. Started the first few games as their first choice striker but I guess the lack of goals forced the manager to drop him to the bench. I think he has just one goal this season if I am not mistaken. I saw their game last weekend where he came on before half time due to an injury. He was quiet like most games of his I have seen this season. He tends to hold the ball up pretty well but that's all he does. He needs to start scoring goals fast!

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:16 pm
by bully12

My mistake . I meant 2013 U17 boys. My hopes on those boys were inordinate. I thought Kelechi,Success,Yahaya,Chidebera Nwakali,Idowu, Abubukar, and Alampusa could have made it big time. Now we don't even have one of them playing in second tie leagues let it remain the major league talk less the elite clubs. Kelechi whom most reposed their hopes on is now peripheral player with his team. Jokes apart I'm profoundly chagrined with their developments.